We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful Security and Atitude”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canet-en-Roussillon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Club Mar Estang
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Thanks for nothing. On a charity road trip down to Gibraltar we telephoned ahead and booked 3 caravans and 3 pitches for tents. The first car arrived and was kept waiting with no keys etc by security for 1 1/2 hrs before they would even allow them in! Once they got in, the bar shut 5 mins later. The next arrivals were not even expected and there was no caravans for us so three cars had to drive around the town looking for hotels that were all full. Eventually finding a hotel in St Cyprien (miles away) and paying the earth. The three tents were directed to an area that was virtually impossible to drive tent pegs in! The atitude of the security guards was dreadful and not only unhelpful but also rude and because they didnt at first know I speak frence was full of swearing and derogatory comments. A number of years ago I worked on this site as security and know very well how to deal with people and how to resolve customer concerns etc. unfortunatly, they certainly didnt!!
When we came to check out the next morning the atitude of the reception staff was more of the same even though they said they were aware of "concerns and issues" with their security!
As this was a charity event we were obviously trying to keep costs to a minimum and their atitude and behaviour regarding the caravans cost us quite a lot of money we neednt have spent on hotels.
Thanks for nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShaunCheshiretaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 883 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

just returned from mar estang with keycamp we have holidayed with keycamp before had a great time. this time the reps from the start were off hand we payed for two cars upon arrival we greeted dy the rp who stated you cant park 2 cars by pitch when infact there was barely room for one this didnt cause too much of a problem as we managed to get them by van. if you find yourselves in mobile c1 as we were it is right opposite the basketball and football pitch which should close at 9pm it doesnt always so kids are on there making a noise until about 10.30 which is a pest when you have young grandchildren with you. alsothe noise from the bar. people in the supermarket are quite rude and food at takeaway not good .if men go in the swimming pool they have to wear speedos as no shorts allowed not a nice sight to see with some of the men.as for keycamp accomadation good but could have been a bit cleaner. wouldnt go mar estang again ,will holiday with keycamp again though

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have just returned from 5 days at Mar Estang with 4 of us including two teenagers (15&13). Keycamp caravan spotless but smaller than expected - we booked an 8 berth for the four of us. Luckily the weather was fantastic so we spent very little time inside the caravan. Air con was essential as temp was in the high 30's (last week of August).Some caravans were near the road which could result in noise-we were placed on the main route to the beach so it was busy but not an issue as fun to sit and people watch and gate to beach closed about 8pm so this meant we had dinner time in peace !
The site was spotless although the early morning bin emptying and sweeping up did wake me it meant I had an early morning cuppa on the deck in the sunshine before the teenagers woke up -bliss !!!!
Site was very busy with lots of groups of teenagers due to a youth holiday scheme that was also located on the site,however we did not find that this impacted on our sleep/enjoyment as security at the site ensured that everything was quiet at a reasonable hour and all of the teenagers seemed to be friendly enough. Big mix of clients,mainly French and Dutch. The bar areas were packed so we were unable to get in but to be honest the positioning of them was dire as no views etc so we caught the landtrain into town which was lovely with a real holiday atmosphere. The only slight downside is that it would have been nice to have a bar area with views over the stunning lagoon or for the beach bar to be open a bit later to sit for a relaxing glass of wine at the end of the day-luckily we just sat on the deck and enjoyed the wine but this wasn't as much fun for the teenagers although they sat near the main bar and got the free wifi signal !!
The main reason we went was for the weather and the beach - both were faultless, a short walk under the underpass to a fantastic beach. Free kayaks (put your name down early) and a lovely beach bar, sunbeds a bit pricey and limited shade but we simply popped to the nearby shopping centre and bought a deckchair and parasol for £20 euros.
The pool was very busy. Husband and son used the gym - It was well supervised and unattended children (even at 15) were not allowed,proper footwear was required.

Security checked people entering the campsite via the underpass and I felt that the short walk was secure enough to enable the children to pop back to the caravan when they wanted food/drinks.
Keycamp reception and staff lovely - they had an office full of books and games to borrow along with beachballs,buckets and spades etc.
Lots of things to do nearby but to be honest it was too hot to travel far from the beach. We did go canyoning at Argeles Adventure and whilst it wasn't cheap (approx £30 each) it was the highlight of my teenagers holiday and a brilliant well organised experience-not for the fainthearted though. The vineyard next door was worth a visit-very interesting and lovely views
All in all we had a brilliant holiday and if I was looking for a beach holiday then I would book again -to score more points then a nice quiet bar area with a view would have been a bonus

Room Tip: Keycamp seemed to have quite god positioning although some were very close to the main road - i woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hertswaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

04.06.12 Woke up surrounded by dense fumes. During the night the extractor fan motor above cooker hob short-circuited, melted through plastic blades and a plastic washing up bowl I put on hob as sink was blocked. We vacated the mobile home and went to reception. Lucky to be alive. First holiday with my children, I am a single mother. Woke up so frightened.

Informed the staff at the reception of what had happened, manager (Laurent Raspaud) kept repeating it was not his fault. Response was argumentative, rude, arrogant, aggressive, very unhelpful and a bully. He said the the extractor fans should not even be connected! I was offered a new mobile home. I moved my belongings myself, it took so long for someone to come and help.

No-one apologised or offered to take us to the Doctor. I have asthma, I and my children's health was affected.

Mr Raspaud avoided me, the reception staff were no more help. On the last day I was given a voucher for a free breakfast, the manager eventually met me and offered me 25% off my next holiday there, still arguing!

Very upsetting, disappointing holiday. Awful customer service. Laurent Raspaud is the rudest man.

Room Tip: Check your chalet thoroughly and be aware that switches that are supposedly not in use are on the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having had a great experince at Bella Italia (Lake Garda) last year we decided to do something similar in a part of France I always wanted to visit and we took a late booking via Keycamp. Very good accomodation, better than Suncamp overall. On arrival we bought the necessary first day provisions from the campsite shop, unpacked, creamed up and walked the 5 minute stroll to the beach. Fantastic, plus the site has its own beach bar with sunbeds and parasols available at 14 euros. Sea- kayaks are available free of charge, but get your name on the list first thing! The pool area is OK, crowded while we were there, but we expected that. Waterslides were great, especially the big one which is very, very fast. My 14 year old loved that! Campsite restaurant serves very good food, plus there is a day long bakery open and fruit and veg outlet, both of which supply great goods at a very good price. Mini-market is expensive though. Snack bar runs until late and is good.

On the downside, and in line with other comments, there is a lot of painted breezeblock, and there is no view from bar or restaurant, hence we only went to each once. Neither make you want to visit. Attempts at entertainment range from tacky to downright comical. Pool rules are harsh, no footwear at all including flip-flops, men must wear proper swimming trunks, not shorts and absolutely no pool side drinks or food. That spoilt it for us a bit as last year we enjoyed a late afternoon cold drink while the kids had their last swim of the day.

Billed as a noisy resort, it caters mainly for teenagers and young adults with a disco 3 nights a week until 3am. You really would have a great time here if you were young.

Not really a patch on Bella Italia but a great beach, good all-rounf facilities and very convenient. Tourist road train runs from right outside to canet town up to midnight.

Room Tip: Opt for decking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BagsyBrentwood_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went with my son and his fiance and our two grandchildren aged 9 and 12years. We were welcomed by our Thomson Al Fresco Rep "Ricki" who was very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay,which contributed hugely to a very enjoyable family holiday.
Our accommodation was of a very high standard including the "much needed" air conditioning.
The location of the Park was ideal for the beach and the regular running of the tractor train into Canet Plage eradicated the need for a car.
The Parc itself catered for all ages,tots,teenagers and adults in facilities,activities and entertainment.
One did not have to go off site to buy anything as there was a boulangerie,greengrocers,supermarket and an excellent take-away and restaurant.
Definitely the best" holiday park" holiday we have experienced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Club Mar Estang, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments - I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday on Mar Estang and your Al Fresco Holiday experience. We hope to see you again this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A great location on the coast, although you do have to cross a road to get to the beach. However, this is more than compensated for by the size of the beach - absolutely huge. There is also the Estang nearby (a lagoon) and cycling paths to several villages.

The site itself can accommodate anything from tents to large RV's (up to 36' comfortably). The pitches are open rather than hedged areas, but it works quite well. The staff were friendly and helpful.

There are several good sized pools and a water slide and plenty of activities to keep children of most ages happy. So long as you are some distance from the pool and 'spectacles' it's not too noisy. They run a 'happy hour' between 6 and 7pm which get's quite lively and gives you an idea of the general ambiance of the site. There is also one of the best little shopping areas we have seen with a boulangerie, fruit and veg, gift shop and roast chicken on sale.

The town is a short walk away with shops/restaurants etc.

Internet connection is only available in the bar, it's free, but it's a pain not to have wi-fi throughout the site. Security seems to be good and the electricity is 10amp so you can use your hairdryer!

All in all a good site offering lots for the family if that's what you are looking for. If not there is the amazing beach on the doorstep. A bit 'Butlins' but good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
3  Thank heelsandhydraulics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canet-en-Roussillon
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aquarius
Hotel Aquarius
#13 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
102 reviews
9.8 mi away
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
#4 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
909 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel le Canetois
Hotel le Canetois
#1 of 2 in Canet-Plage
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Flamants Roses
Grand Hotel des Flamants Roses
#3 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Regina Hotel
Le Regina Hotel
#2 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Canet-Plage
Best Western Hotel Canet-Plage
#12 of 21 in Canet-en-Roussillon
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Club Mar Estang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Club Mar Estang

Address: route de Saint Cyprien, 66140, Canet-en-Roussillon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Canet-en-Roussillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Canet-en-Roussillon
Price Range: $37 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Club Mar Estang 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the beach and the nature reserve, our camping benefits from all the attractions of the sunniest region in the south of France...the Roussillon. Thanks to direct access from our campsite you can profit from the most beautiful stretch of fine sand on the coast: the beach of Canet en Roussillon. Camping Mar estang in Canet en Roussillon is open every year from April to September. With a welcome capacity of 600 emplacements, the campsite offers camping emplacements or rental units. At Camping Mar estang, everything is organized to make your life easy and to make your holiday unforgettable. You will find everything you need in the heart of camping Mar estang: shops, leisure- and sports facilities, services and not to forget our wide range of all-inn activities on your campsite. Water lovers can enjoy our water park with 3 pools, from which one is covered and heated, 3 slides with a great view on the Canet en Roussillon beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Club Mar Estang Hotel Canet-En-Roussillon
Camping Club Mar Estang France/Canet-En-Roussillon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing