We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but service needs improving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liu Fu Chinese Bistro

Liu Fu Chinese Bistro
Ranked #45 of 88 Restaurants in Johns Creek
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food but service needs improving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Tried Liu Fu based on recommendation of a friend. There were four of us so we ordered soup, three entrees to share and fried rice. The Hot and Sour soup was the best I've had. Then we were served one entree at a time with about 5 minutes between each one and the fried rice was last. We ate each as they were getting cold. When I mentioned to the waiter he clearly didn't understand. The food was excellent and the portions were very good. However the idea was to share all entrees at the same time. Interesting that some prior reviews mentioned this as well. Hopefully they will work this out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    12
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I wasn't impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

First off, I did not like the fact that I can't get a single order of won-ton soup. I personally think it is one of the most popular and they only have the big orders. I had the Kung Poa triple (beef,chicken,shrimp) for my lunch. I can't put my finger on it exactly but something was off in the flavor and the vegetables where not cooked all the way.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amandad792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
2 reviews
“group dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

we made reservations for pty of 8,so were seated at a large table with lazy susan.service was excellent,food very good,and price reasonable. i would return there soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trish35292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband, my son and I went to lunch just now at Liu Fu in Johns Creek, GA. It's a nice place, very pleasant on the inside.

We started off with pot stickers which were nicely browned, and very large and meat-filled. Delicious. Then we each had a bowl of hot and sour soup, which they make with a black peppery broth. It's a nice change of pace from the standard hot & sour that most restaurants make.

My husband got the Szechwan Hot Boiled Fish, which is their signature dish. It was very spicy and delicious! It came with an egg roll and rice on the side. My son got the Kung Pao Beef, which he said was kind of chewy. The egg roll was large, crunchy and hot. The Kung Pao flavor was very nice, the beef just needed to be a little more tender. I got the Five Spices Chicken, which was small crunchy nuggets of chicken, deep fried, and put with an assortment of slivered veggies. It also came with an egg roll and rice on the side. I must say that it was a bit on the salty side. There really wasn't any sauce, so the salt must have been in the spice that was on the chicken. Otherwise, it was tasty and pleasantly spicy. We like spicy in our family.

My main complaint was that my husband got his fish, then about 10 minutes later, my son got his dish. 10 minutes or more after that, I got my egg roll, but still hadn't been served. My husband was about done with his lunch and we had to ask both the waiter as well as another employee (owner?) where my lunch was. As I started my lunch, my son was boxing up his leftovers and the waiter actually asked if I needed a box too. LOL! I had JUST got my lunch!

If we go back again, and this was our second visit, I'd order the boiled fish dish, and not the five spices chicken, and I'd make sure that I was not in a hurry.

Sorry, no photos, I forgot my phone. :/

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Busy Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great decor, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a group birthday lunch there recently. The decor of the restaurant is lovely and the seating was comfortable and convenient with a lazy susan on the table for family style sharing. However, most of the dishes we ordered were bland and dull. Staples like Mongolian Beef, Sesame Chicken, Sweet & Sour Chicken were very unexceptional. Their "signature" green beans were greasy and so-so. Salt & Pepper Pork was dry. And a spicy fish dish was way too spicy, especially in contrast to the blandness of the rest of the items. There were a lot of Chinese patrons there, and they had an extensive menu in Chinese. Two of our group were Chinese, ordered for all of us in Chinese and thought their dishes (from the Chinese section of the menu) were OK. But the "American" dishes for the rest of us were just average at best. Too bad, I'm still looking for a really good Chinese restaurant in the 'burbs...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StargirlGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liu Fu Chinese Bistro also viewed

Johns Creek, GA
Johns Creek, GA
 
Johns Creek, GA
Johns Creek, GA
 

Been to Liu Fu Chinese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing