We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Dal Cuore - CLOSED

Dal Cuore
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a Travelzoo coupon for half price for $71 of food. Staff was excellent... helpful and friendly and "spot on" with recommendations. Appetizer of artichokes was amazing as well as grilled lettuce salad with goat cheese. White viniagrette was so creamy and delicious. Fresh bread with garlic oil and lots of fresh parmesan was awesome. The dessert of chocolate cake was delicious..Now, the disappointment: Entree of seafood risotto for $25.95 was far overpriced. The chef cut the scallop in thin pieces so that I probably had only 1 in the dish. There were about 4 large shrimp. At the end of the meal, they added 20% gratuity. We had never had this done before with only 2 people at the table. Because it had been such a nice evening, we didn't challenge it. I don't know if this is their custom or if it was due to us having a coupon, but not a nice practice. I would return for the appetizer and salad, as we were almost full at that point, anyway.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda Thompson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Your Gluten Free Florence”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Once you go gluten free, you'll find yourself dreaming of fettucine, angel hair, ravioli and divine rolls. That's how we found Dal Cuore in the first place - a hidden enclave of fresh Italian fare with superb service. It started with the GF rolls, simply the best GF bread I've eaten in 6 months - perfect texture and served warm - they even gave me a couple to take home. My GF pasta dish was so yummy and perfectly al dente that I asked what kind of pasta they used, which is when they sent me next door to the Wine shop to stock up. After tasting 15 different flavors of balsamic (what a treat), I stocked up on vinegar and pasta to cook at home. What was equally memorable about Dal Cuore was the service - again, one of the best servers we've met in the past 6 months. He made everything sound so appetizing, I feared that the chef couldn't deliver. Our Italian friend assured me that he had. We all agreed: one of the two best Italian restaurants outside the Perimeter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Real Deal”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

For special occasions we like to go here. Authentic and original. You won't be sorry. The pasta dishes are great. Love the eggplant dish. The fresh baked bread loaf with dipping sauce is great too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank July7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
769 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Love it or hate….”
Reviewed November 30, 2012


We went twice. The first time was mid-week on our way home from a trip. We had a salad, a pizza, and a bottle of wine. They were not busy so our service was good and the food was excellent.

We went back on a Friday evening with two other couples. The pastas got good reviews, the appetizers were OK, except for calamari which was pretty salty. They remade it, but it was no better the second time.

Nice wine list with reasonable markups.

Our service was poor that night but it was evident that regulars got a lot more attention. We have friends who go at least twice a month; we will probably not go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank phat_dawg_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Was really looking forward to trying this restaurant based on the reviews. WRONG! Here's how the night progressed:
Arrived on time for reservation and was immediately seated. 4 top table but I had to sit next to the wall to avoid being bumped every time a waiter went by.
Immediately informed that there were no Caesar salads tonight. OUT OF ROMAINE! Come on, 7:30 on a Saturday night and no Romaine in an Italian restaurant. There's a Kroger 1/4 mile away. Where's the manager?
Wines are marginally overpriced. Our $40 bottle of chardonnay retails for $13-$15. I completely understand a 100% markup but this is really pushing it.
After an hour and 15 minutes our entrees arrived. My wife's veal piccata is inedible. It's barely warm, dry and tough sitting on a dry plate. Where's the white wine, butter, capers noted on the menu? My seafood risotto wasn't bad until I hit the "seasoning pocket". There was a tablespoonful sized glob of risotto that must have had all the seasoning for the dish dumped in one spot but someone forgot to mix it.
This place has some major issues. The chef should be fired for putting out food like this. The manager should be fired for all the issues mentioned above. The owner must but absent or in denial.
Our waiter did the best he could but the problems were clearly the kitchen's fault. He offered my wife another entree but she passed. She didn't want to chance another 75 minute wait. Happy Birthday honey. I hope you liked the bread.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dal Cuore also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing