We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, well-kept hotel”
Review of Hotel Imperator

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Imperator
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Beziers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights on the last week-end in May, and stumbled on a medieval festival right on the lovely, tree-lined square (Les Allees Paul Riquet) where the hotel is located. What an ambience!

In the evening, local producers from the surrounding areas sold their artisan wares: wine-makers, cheese-makers, cured meats, olive oils, honey etc. 5 Euros bought a wine-glass and 2 chips that could be exchanged for a full glass of wine (red, white, rose). Then we went around buying little plates of snacks while watching medieval balladeers, jesters, fire-eaters playing in the square.

Ooops....this is a hotel review. Whenever we come to Beziers to visit my sister-in-law, we stay here (after having tried other places); I love the location...so close to the beautiful, well-kept Jardin de Poetes which is perfect for a morning stroll. The owners are very friendly, the parking garage is secure and not too difficult to maneuver, and the renovated rooms are always clean, comfortable, spacious. The one thing that could be improved is the coffee they serve at breakfast....a hotel as lovingly-maintained as this has to serve better (read REALl) coffee rather than the powdery ones from the multi-purpose machine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pokingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 194 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed one night at the Hotel Imperator which is extremely well situated in the centre of Beziers (on les Allees). The location is good, smack in the centre of town. We parked the car in their parking at the rear of the hotel - €15 for the night. The bonus is that it is covered parking, and we could leave the car there until we left at lunch' time the following day. In summer heat, the car stayed nice and cool, and all our wine in the boot was secure!

We didn't have breakfast as we prefer to eat in local cafes of which there are many. The staff at reception were very pleasant and welcoming. The room was clean, the bed comfortable - all recently renovated/replaced, I think. To call the hotel Art Deco (which I have read in some reviews) is a bit misleading as the only Art Deco is a stab in that direction with the room decor. We had a pleasant view of the Cathedral bell tower in the setting sun from our room at the rear.

The WiFi connection included in the price was good. The room has dual air conditioning/heating. We had a shower, no bath, powerful and quite a decent sized cubicle.
All in all, practical and realistically priced.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a quiet room at the rear, on the top floor, not near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank DDDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Very Very Nice clean comfort you can rest spacious rooms with Bath shower and wc OTHER tv and Windows balcone ac and Wi-Fi NOT that much noise from outsider traffic carpet and in center of coty not to far from train station

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank Nelson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend in mid July for one night. The hotel was a delight, from the deco to the lovely staff. I particularly liked the owners jack Russell. The hotel was well situated for a number of nice bars and restaurants.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank tucker1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at Imperator for five nights. You can't really miss the building with it's three story classical facade on Allee Paul-Riquet, a wide boulevard with a central pedestrian strip lined with large plane trees. The lobby/lounge is furnished with large soft sofas and comfy chairs. There is a bar serving coffee and drinks all day on demand, and probably all night as far as I know, but I was never up that late. The lounge leads through the light and airy breakfast area and if you wished onto the courtyard, where you can take your coffee etc under the tree amongst the potted flowering plants. Our room on the first floor was a reasonably large 12' by 16' overlooking the Allee, a large firm King sized bed, comfortable chairs and a large desk, side tables etc, tastefully decorated, probably this year. The separate toilet was a plus in my view. The bathroom looked as if it had been recently refurbished. There was no separate shower just a hand held attachment from the thermostat control on the bath taps, but the pressure was good and the water hot. Being over the main street was a concern but having closed the outside double glazing, the original french windows, the lovely wooden shutters, and pulled the curtains; we awoke on our first morning to find that we had been completely unaware that a flower market had been up and running right under our balcony for a couple of hours. Quite a good spread at breakfast, the usual range of meats, cheeses, fruit juice, preserves, yoghourts, several types of bread unlimited coffee and teas and an apparently unending supply of hot croissants from the back kitchen. There is a toaster on the breakfast bar, Madame must have spotted my slicing up baguettes long wise to get them in the toaster slot as the next morning a supply of 'English' sliced bread appeared. Nice one. The proprietors and staff were really helpful and friendly and very hard working. This is a 3 star establishment but it must be at the top of it's rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dronkvaett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe F, Gérant at Hotel Imperator, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear,

Many many thank's for your excellent comment.

Hope we will welcome you an other time in Impérator !


Chantal, Philippe and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Loved the look of this place from the outside so thought we would enquire as to whether they had a room as we hadn't reserved. Whilst waiting at reception to ask, hubby got caught short and used their toilets. All hell broke loose then. I was approached and interogated as to whether I was a resident. I tried to explain but I don't speak french and that was obvious, it still didn't stop the lady at reception being quite intimidating. Eventually, some guy understood what I was trying to say and she was all smiles then. Asked about room rates and then went and had lunch around the corner before they stopped serving. Albeit that you can't have everyone and his brother using your facilities, decided that the attitude of the receptionist felt threatening and although we had every intention of staying there initially, ultimately decided that for 83 euros, their attitude was awful, and we ended up in a lovely castle chateau instead. Poor attitude guys !!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank piya101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe F, Directeur général at Hotel Imperator, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

Dear Mister,
I am so sorry for what happened, i regret it.
But our hotel is a private property, our toilets are not publics.
As we saw on vidéo sur veillance, our desk- clerk was very busy with the welcome of a group, and you penetrated into the hotel, crossed the breakfasts room without asking for anything as if you tried to hide yourselves, but you were indicated by a customer.
So when we asked what you made here, you tried be been thought of as a customer, and after try to make us believe you were looking for a room....sure not !!!
If you really take a room next time, you will appreciate that our toilets are clean just because they are not publics.
i am surprise that you wrote only one review over Béziers...because you said that that you ended up in a lovely castle.....why not a good review on it ?
Hope to welcome you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here for six nights as a base for a holiday in Languedoc and Roussillon. The rooms are very clean and reasonably well-appointed. The beds are very firm which might not be to every one's taste. However, as a back sufferer it's a very welcome feature!

The breakfast (which is the only meal available in the hotel) is very French and not much to shout about. They seem to cook the croissants and other pastries from frozen in the very small hotel kitchen, where they don't seem to have an oven timer. As a consequence they're either overcooked (burnt) or under cooked (still tasting of raw flour). However, the coffee's hot - mostly!

The hotel is very well situated for the many excellent eateries in the town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe F, Propriétaire at Hotel Imperator, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014
Google Translation

Cher Client

Notre boulanger pâtissier, La Vicomtesse, livre chaque matin du pain et des viennoiseries juste après leur cuisson.

Merci de votre séjour et peut être à bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beziers hotels
0.2 mi away
Cafe Hotel XIX
Cafe Hotel XIX
#6 of 32 in Beziers
21 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Monestie
Hotel Le Monestie
#1 of 1 in Boujan sur Libron
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier Beziers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel in Situ
Hotel in Situ
#2 of 32 in Beziers
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Poetes
Hotel des Poetes
#9 of 32 in Beziers
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Beziers
Mercure Beziers
#12 of 32 in Beziers
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperator

Address: 28 Allees Paul Riquet, 34500, Beziers, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Beziers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Beziers
Price Range: $100 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Imperator 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperator de Beziers welcomes you in city center, nearby immediate of everything center of interests, museums, courts, buildings, old town, curiosities, bars and restaurants, businesses and shops, cinema and any entertainments, on magnificent and renowned Allees Paul Riquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Imperator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperator Hotel béziers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing