We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok ”
Review of La Salle a Manger

La Salle a Manger
Ranked #11 of 343 Restaurants in Beziers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $29
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

I had peanut chicken and my hubby had crab cake to start. Nothing special no taste. Main course I had steak was terrible very chewy and dauphin pots. No veg or salad offered my hubby had veal. It was ok . No dessert
Service was slow we would not go again

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Shandylincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorez, Propriétaire at La Salle a Manger, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017
Google Translation

Vous ne me remerciez pas pour les deux verres de vin que je vous ai offert ?
Le plat de boeuf que vous critiquez est un boeuf mijoté 8 heures au quianti et on ne sert pas de salade avec un plat en sauce en France

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 347 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2016

The ambiance is very nice, waiter professional, but he was a bit rushed. The food a disappointment. Wine excellent.
My wife could have cooked something much nicer at home. Starter was O.K but not exciting. Crab and Spinach samosas with barely a hint of crab flavour sitting on a good salad. Then I had a chicken breast in a mushroom sauce with fresh pasta. Chicken breast was just slightly under in places. A tasty sauce but something we could easily have had at home. My wife had the Mijotes de boeuf with the same pasta. The meat was vile, slimy, (probably our fault for not understanding what we were choosing) and she left most of it. I had a desert which was nice but again not exciting. We won't be back because there are other places we could spend similar money and eat better.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ex_PatJohnny396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorez, Propriétaire at La Salle a Manger, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017
Google Translation

LE but de manger à la salle à manger c est justement de manger comme à la maison
Après je ne relèverai pas le fait que votre épouse cuisine mieux Je suis content pour vous le poulet était un suprême de poulet du Tarn avec une sauce crème et champignons de Paris et cèpes
LE bœuf si dégoûtant à votre goût et une joue de bœuf au chianti l équivalent de votre tarte pie anglaise mais servie avec des tagliatelles fraîches et les desserts pas excitant.... sont des desserts home made comme tout
Enfin je vous ai demandé 3 fois si cela vous convenait et je vous ai même offert un verre de Vin
Mais çe n est pas grave une note médiocre venant de vous critique réputé et émérite me convient meme pour un menu entrée plat dessert à 23 € et heureusement que vos compatriotes comprennent mieux LE concept du comme si vous étiez dans ma salle à manger dans la Salle à Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

My favourite part of this restaurant is all the different hats in the toilet - a real snapshot of history.
But don't worry the food and service are also excellent and though it has a limited menu, and you may get a surprise or two compared to what you thought you ordered , the quality and taste is nevertheless very high.
A great place to eat in a vibrant street of the town.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank georgem6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorez, Propriétaire at La Salle a Manger, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016
Google Translation

Merci infiniment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

Busy, family-run restaurant with short menu (therefore all dishes freshly-prepared). Quirky, shabby-chic decor and a host who's very attentive and happy to stop and chat. Only disappointment - thus "average" rating - was the quality of the lamb cutlets. They were nicely cooked but just not very good pieces of meat. My fish, on the other hand, was very good, as was everything else.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank DM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorez, Propriétaire at La Salle a Manger, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017
Google Translation

2016
Je suis désolé pour la viande que vous m avez demandé très cuite mais ce n est pas de l agneau mais de la Brebis de l Aveyron fermière et trop cuite effectivement aucune viande n est bonne mais c est vous qui avez demandé une cuisson bien cuite
Merci encore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

We decided to go and find this restaurant whilst spending the night in Beziers on the way to Marseille for the Euros. The previous reviews on here did not disappoint. We arrived around half 7 in preparation that they may be busy given it was a Friday night. The owner assured us it would be fine, he would remember us and save us a table and to go to the Irish pub along the parade. Sure enough when we retired he took is straight to our table. After helping us to translate the the menu we placed our orders and waited eagerly. The food was gorgeous and the accompanying wine lovely. The service was great, nothing was too much trouble, and nothing was pressured. Would fully recommend it here!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank H6872HYdavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorez, Propriétaire at La Salle a Manger, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017
Google Translation

Merci infiniment pour votre avis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salle a Manger also viewed

Villeneuve les Beziers, Beziers
Villeneuve les Beziers, Beziers
 

Been to La Salle a Manger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing