We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France Beziers
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Beziers
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Does what it says”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This down to earth unpretentious 2 star hotel is situated just off Beziers' principal street Allees Paul-Riquet, in a quiet location. It is probably best to ask for a room at the back if you want real calm. The staff were very attentive to my needs in every way. No restaurant, but plenty of fare to choose from nearby. My room and shower were a little dated but clean and functional, thus reflected in the price. Somewhat of an uphill climb from the train station, but for those who have time it is no major burden, especially if you walk through the beautiful park with its various imposing monuments.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irobertson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    32
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
19
21
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Good location - in street running parallel with main town square - close to the shops for ladies etc. Some street noise - limited parking most streets appeared metered but free in evening and on sundays. Staff very helpful - pretty good english spoken. Breakfast good probably not worth trying to find the same elsewhere so book the night before (pre 10pm) in order for bread to be ordered. Rooms clean and the room I had appeared to have had the bathroom very recently refurbed - no mold on tiles etc. Hot water took some time to reach shower and taps so please be patient. Everything very adequate and nothing else should be expected for the price - first looks from the outside not very inviting but do not be put off. Watch the dog dirt around the streets. Lots of beggars in area and it appears that a rather seedy area is located a free streets behind hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We did a biking holiday on Canal Du Midi, and booked 2 nights at start/finish of holiday as this hotel very kindly agreed for us to leave our bike bags there for week until we returned. Also we arrived after the hotel reception closed on first night booked due to rail delays, and the chap on the desk (sorry I did not ask his name) came back to open hotel and book us in at 10.30pm. He was fantastically helpful to us and made our holiday possible. Good clean/functional rooms with nice breakfast. I will definately go back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

this hotel has been taken over by a lady called madam joel.she gave us a warm greeting on arrival .the rooms are basic but very comfortable with a mixture of baths and showers.the rooms are very clean and mine was at the front .the breakfast is typically french and plentyful. we were full board with dinner being provided by a restauraunt 200 yards up the road in the town centre called the conti.this was excellent with plenty of scope for people watching.the one very minor negative is that the staircases are very dark both in the day and at night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusell19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the move in Europe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

The woman who checked me in spoke enough English that it wasn't a problem but I don't think we could have gone off of the check in/check out script. The room was clean and the bed was surprisingly large. Despite having rooms designated as smoking or non smoking I could occasionally smell smoke from other residents or perhaps it was from the street below. It wasn't horrible but I could smell smoke now and then. Breakfast was typically French which I personally love. It's not in the best neighborhood but I never felt unsafe or anything. It's very easy to get to all the great sites in Beziers and there are plenty of shops and places to eat around the hotel. It's a very average two star hotel but I really don't have anything bad to say about it.

Beziers was much more interesting and enjoyable than I thought it would be and I wold absolutely tell any of my friends to spend at least a day checking out the town.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roobieroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

This hotel was recommended to us by another that was already filled. The room was nice, good sound-proofing to the outside, but not to the noisy group in the hallway. Fortunately, they quieted down. We fiddled with the windows and shutters, to try to get fresh air without noise. The beds were saggy, and I did not sleep well.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Languedoc, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

We booked this hotel because of the good reviews on tripadvisor and its location in the centre of Béziers. It is only a few metres from the Allées Paul Riquet, so very central for shopping and site-seeing and within walking distance of the bus station and possibly the train station. There is also a free shuttle bus service from the train station which stops in Allée Paul Riquet. Parking is dificult in Béziers, but the hotel does have a garage.
The owners are very friendly and the hotel is clean and newly decorated. We had the de luxe room (I don't know how basic the others are), but this was simple and comfortable but not luxurious, with a lovely big shower. Other reviewers have mentioned having only a curtain on the bathroom, but in this room at least it was more like a thick plastic concertina screen and the bathroom and toilet opened onto a sort of hallway with another proper door into the bedroom.
There was no noise from the street (although it was Friday night), but the central heating pipes banged all night - best to take the earplugs!
A good simple breakfast and all in all very good value at 69 euros for bed and breakfast for two.

  • Liked — Central location and large shower
  • Disliked — Central heating pipes banging in the night
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabianaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beziers hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma
Hotel Alma
#24 of 32 in Beziers
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Poetes
Hotel des Poetes
#7 of 32 in Beziers
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Beziers Centre Palais Congres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cafe Hotel XIX
Cafe Hotel XIX
#11 of 32 in Beziers
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paul Riquet
Hotel Paul Riquet
#23 of 32 in Beziers
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Imperator
Hotel Imperator
#4 of 32 in Beziers
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France Beziers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France Beziers

Property: Hotel de France Beziers
Address: 36 rue Boieldieu, 34500, Beziers, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Beziers
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Beziers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France Beziers 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de France Beziers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Beziers béziers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing