We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smallish rooms but well presented”
Review of Mercure Beziers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Beziers
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Beziers
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smallish rooms but well presented”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were on the 4th floor in room 406 - non smoking. The room was what you would expect for a European hotel. But it was clean and well presented and ok for a night or 2. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was nice. We stayed here to drive round trip to the Millau Viaduct - a truly fabulous bridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank real2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatrice c, Directeur général at Mercure Beziers, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for given our advice, it is realy important for us to have our clients opinion.We hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    106
    83
    32
    16
See reviews for
23
127
26
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Small Hotel. clean and basic. Short walk to town center for restaurants.
small 4-5 person bar area, no restaurant in the hotel. continental style breakfast available. Small pharmacie and bakery near by, small market near the town center. AC in the room, no central heat available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetGon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatrice c, Directeur général at Mercure Beziers, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions d'avoir donné votre avis. Il est très important pour nous d'avoir l'avis de nos clients.
Dans l'attente de vous recevoir à nouveau dans notre établissement,

Cordialement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hello again Folks,

Please find my review of the Mercure Hotel, Beziers. If you find the review of any help at all, please click the helpful green button at the end. THANKS!

We stayed at the hotel on Monday 15th July, 2013.

We parked beneath the hotel for an additional fee of 9.00 euros and made our way to reception. The lady there was kind and friendly and spoke good English. She had taken time to read our comments on the booking application and politely confirmed that there was not really a room with a view, as we were downtown.

I admired her honesty and English and was impressed that those booking comments that we make, are read and acted upon where possible.

We were handed the keys to room 359 on the third floor. The room was on the small side, but very clean and tidy and well presented. It was charged at 85.80 euros.

There were tea / coffee making facilities, a free safe and the a/c was superb. Freezing cold J

Around by the hotel, there was nothing there at all really and it looked a bit sad in places, especially where businesses had folded. It would most probably be fair to say, that the area was socially well represented. We only chose Beziers for geographical purposes and would most probably not return.

Its true that we only stayed there for an afternoon and evening, but that was really enough. We do not pretend to be experts on Beziers, but we have travelled down to Spain and back on four occasions now and feel comfortable in stating that its been our least favourite stop over to date.

If you have to visit Beziers on business, the hotel is fine.

Many Thanks
Gary.

PS - I have also reviewed Restaurant Le Conti, Beziers, where we ate a great meal. If you turn right out of the hotel and go up the hill to the t junction, just turn right and its 50 metres or so on your right. Please check out my review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ruddstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatrice c, Directeur général at Mercure Beziers, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions d'avoir donné votre avis, il compte beaucoup pour nous. Nous sommes désolés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié la ville et éspérons que vous garderez toutefois une image positive de l'hôtel.

Cordialement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The room is typically european, very small but clean. There was no restaurant at the hotel and the buffet breakfast that was served was cold and uninteresting considering the price of the hotel. As a business travellers we seldom stray to far from the hotel once our business day is through and having to go out just to get a decent sandwich is not acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatrice c, Directeur général at Mercure Beziers, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We apolozige for your stay in our hôtel.
Ours rooms are small ,we have privilege's rooms but they were full when you came.
For you next trip ,call us to book these rooms.
For the Beakfast is a buffet ,we have scrabbel eggs,bacon and sauccisses in hot part.
We havent a restaurant in our hotel but very close ,you have gastronomy restaurants ,brasseries,chinese restaurant and japanese restaurant (around 200 meters)
from 7 pm until 9 pm,you can eat in our lounge gastronomy meal ,cold dishes with meat or cheese,and for pastas,it is until midnight.

We hope to see very soon in our hotel .
Best regards
Béatrice Calcet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

On arrival at the Mercure Beziers I was greeted by the VERY WORST check in experience I have EVER experienced in my life and I am a regular business traveler! The man at the front desk shouted aggressively at me that I had not booked the room and he did not care what I had on my confirmation email - DID I NOT UNDERSTAND - HE DID NOT HAVE A BED - JE N'AI PAS DE LIT!. He was both rude and aggressive. He made me feel like this was my fault and that he would do absolutely nothing to help me.

We were a party of 6 (4 adults and 2 infants) and I had booked 2 rooms, received 2 confirmation emails, each detailing a double room with an extra bed for a child and giving the ages of the children. The reservation had been made with the central Mercure reservation number. The confirmation emails clearly stated that the central reservation team had spoken direct to the hotel and confirmed this was possible.

Clearly this is not the first time I have experienced a problem at a hotel check-in with a reservation. This is however the first time I have been shouted at in a crowded reception area.
Once his colleague got involved the issue was resolved and an additional mattress was made up in one room to accommodate us. We were given free parking as a recompense for the inconvenience but I have to say the way I was spoken to left me upset and angry, even the following day.

We were in accessible rooms and with the additional bed there was no floor space and moving around the room was difficult. On a plus side the room was cool and the beds comfortable for sleeping in so we did enjoy a good nights rest.

This is a basic hotel in a good location in Beziers and we enjoyed a nice meal in the hotel square 5 - 10 mins walk away. It's ok for a one night trip to Beziers but I would not like to stay here for any number of nights.

If you do venture to the Mercure Beziers and have anything other than a standard booking I would suggest you call the hotel direct to avoid the humiliation I went through!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fionaemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatrice c, Directeur général at Mercure Beziers, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Madam,

We have receive your opinion,thanks you.

We reply by mail and send you a letter.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beziers hotels

Europe
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This Mercure had probably the tiniest rooms I have seen in Mercure/Novotel hotels. Given that it is located in a relatively modern and purpose-built building, they could have designed with the guests' comfort in mind. But no! In fact, rooms are so tiny that they had to disguise them as yacht cabins which is simply ridiculous, as Beziers is not a sea-side resort. There was no space to put our luggage without stumbling upon it all the time. Our room was not exceptional - I did check the emergency evacuation plan and the layout is exactly the same in all rooms.

In the morning, while I was under the shower, the hot water suddenly stopped flowing. The reception promised to send someone, but by the time the person showed up, the water started flowing again. "O, it happens time and again", - said the handyman and left. Obviously, they are aware about the water supply issue and are unable or unwilling to fix it.

Finally, location-wise the hotel is not perfect, either. From the hotel to the city centre, it is a ten-minute hike up the hill, not a very pleasant exercise in summer heat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beatrice c, Directeur général at Mercure Beziers, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Madam,

I receive your message by olakala and I have reply yet .

We are sorry for your trouble.

Our hôtel isn't for family and we hasn't any family rooms.

Our website sell only double standard rooms.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beziers hotels
0.1 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier
L'Hotel Particulier
#1 of 32 in Beziers
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Imperator
Hotel Imperator
#4 of 32 in Beziers
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel in Situ
Hotel in Situ
#2 of 32 in Beziers
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Beziers Centre Palais Congres
0.3 mi away
Cafe Hotel XIX
Cafe Hotel XIX
#11 of 32 in Beziers
9 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Beziers Est Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Beziers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Beziers

Property: Mercure Beziers
Address: Avenue Saint Saens, 34500, Beziers, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Beziers
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Beziers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Beziers 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 58 rooms. The Mercure Béziers hotel is situated in the heart of the city, next to the Convention center, 15 minutes away from the Fonséranes floodgates and from the beach. The hotel also features a wine bar, a private parking andservices for disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Beziers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing