We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat tapas outdoors”
Review of Le Chameau Ivre

Le Chameau Ivre
Ranked #31 of 345 Restaurants in Beziers
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 24, 2018

Me and my wife went here almost by luck (one waiter of a full restaurant suggested it) and we enjoyed it a lot. We have chosen tapas and we can say that they were very good. Wine and artisan beer were also good, but the quantity of the glass of wine was less than the normal even at fine restaurants.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 316 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

If you are anywhere near this area, you need to come here for a meal.

Its a casual atmosphere, with beautiful indoor area inside the restaurant and a relaxed alfresco vibe under festoon lights in the terrace facing the gorgeous city Park.

The wine list alone is reason to visit this gorgeous little unassuming neighbourhood restaurant. It's an encyclopaedia of incredible options including some wonderful options from local wineries. We opted for the local pinot noir by the glass - divine.

We couldn't really read the French menu and so we left it to chance and opted for the four course degustation.

It was incredible. We could not have chosen better if we could read the menu.

Its a mix of gastro techniques such as the fluffier than clouds 'cashmere potatoes' that were out of this world and the very French and very rustic pork stew. The portions were perfect, the four dishes complimented each other wonderfully and the technique in each dish was fat beyond a normal neighbourhood restaurant.

This is five star dining with incredible cooking and gastro techniques disguised as a cute little neighbourhood eatery that comes with a fantastic atmosphere and is very, very Frenchy. We were the only non French there and no one spoke a word of English. Just what you want when exploring the gorgeous towns of France.

Definitely go here if you are anywhere near.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ccoz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

We stopped here after searching for some time for a nice French restaurant offering a lunch set menu and were astounded by the quality and value for money! We paid €19 each and got three courses, a gorgeous glass of red and a coffee each. The Veal was particularly delicious also the service was friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank richardwY5020XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

We were told this place has previously been named best wine shop in France. Certainly it had a great selection of wines on the racks all around the bar. We ordered a selection of tapas dishes and some red wine, which was tasty and completed each other well. The waiters were very friendly and helpful, particularly in recommending which wines to go for. The creme brulee for dessert is a must!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

Went spontaneous and caught a table for 6 outside. Market in front row was still busy at 7 p.m. Nice Charcuterie - good food, interesting and broad wine list.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sachs_Gunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chameau Ivre also viewed

 

Been to Le Chameau Ivre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing