We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super lunch”

Restaurant Cote Sud
Ranked #66 of 348 Restaurants in Beziers
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 19, 2015

Nice unusual lunch...cuttle fish with a veal farci. Never seen this on a menu before & it was delicious with rice & a cream sauce & a garlic tomato sauce. We were given a complementary pear liqueur at the end . Hate to say this but I would have expected a higher bill for the quality of food.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 76 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2015

Very friendly service, tasty plat du jour and a very reasonable price. And it's very well placed for the market and cathedral.
We'll be going back there!

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank id_not_available
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2015

Just stumbled into this restaurant walking around the old part of Beziers. Had the plate du jour, which was meat and rice stuffed mussels. Great flavors and sauce, definitely worth dining here. the service was also very good.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BNK758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2015

Just by the Market Halle and not in itself a very attractive spot. However well frequented by locals and a good plat du jour at a reasonable price. Good seating inside and out and the service can be sketchy so be prepared to chase them up.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidwnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2014

My partner & i had a super meal at this restaurant & before our holiday finished we decided on our anniversary to travel the 40 minutes from our hotel for a second lunch. On our first visit we hadn't left ourselves much time to see the city sights so an earlier stop for lunch & we could also see the cathederal & poets garden. We had been told on the previous visit that lunch was served till 2 pm.We arrived at 1.30 & I entered the restaurant,told the waiter we wanted to eat & asked if it was OK to sit outside as all the tables were free & some customers were smoking inside. We sat for 10 minutes,busing ourselves checking the menu board advertising lunch outside & chatting excitedly. The waiter came out to us & requested we go inside as he gestured to the sky as if he thought it would rain. As he laid a fresh pair of napkins i asked for a carafe of white wine & 2 gésier salads,he didn't seem to understand so i took him outside to the menu board & pointed to the gésier salad asking for deux,I pointed to 2 of the other items on the board & he said they were finished. Fair enough,2 gésier salads & a caraf of wine would do & if he returned with a menu suggesting something else we could consider it,by this time we were both getting quite hungry & thirsty. We chatted some more & wondered why the wine was taking so long,my partner suspecting my inadiquete french went to the bar & once again asked the waiter for a carafe of wine,it was now 1.45 & customers were leaving or having coffee & paying bills. Another 5 minutes & we caught the waiters eye,he came over & we again asked for some white wine & the 2 salads,we got a strange look from him but off he went. Everything was in french so I don't think we upset him by speaking in english. We managed to get hold of him again about 1.55 & again put in a request for 2 gésier salad & a caraf of white wine. My partner said,had we not had such a nice welcome & meal last time she would have walked out after 10 minutes.We gave it another 5 minutes & got up to leave when a waitress near us clearing tables was questioned by my partner if she spoke any english,a little she replied. We explained that we had been waiting for our order since 1.40 having arrived at 1.30 & she said "I will tell the patron,toute suite." We again sat down hope at last to get some food & drink or at least an explanation of the strange behaviour of the waiter. Believe it or not she went back to clearing tables & no getting the patron toute suite.At 2.15 we left the restaurant feeling rather angry & deflated. I have worked in the restaurant industry from boy till retirement all over the world including in Paris & Bourges. Londons west end, etc etc eating at various establishment from greasy spoons to 3 Michilin star & have never received treatment as strange & bad as this. Should they have decided to stop serving at 1.30 or had run out of food then let the customer know for heavens sake. When i have revisited restaurants in the past,especially in France you are greeted like a king,we didn't expect that but had totally the opposite experance.
My advice would be: Should you be passing & the Cote Sud is quite & you can put up with othere customers cigarette smoke then you might have a good meal,if they look busy then find somewhere else & don't do what we did & drive for 40 minutes to get there.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cote Sud also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Cote Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing