We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a busy road” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Mouettes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Mouettes
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“On a busy road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We booked a superior sea view room and also asked for a quiet room. Within 48 hours a member of the reception staff rang and explained that the sea view meant being above a busy coast road and a railway line. We took their advice and changed to a garden room on the 1st. floor. When we arrrived we realised that the advice was good. The room we had (211) was peaceful and the balcony caught the sun most of the day.
The hotel only offers breakfast and snacks but they recommended restaurants in Collioure and the ones we sampled were good, especially Can Pla.
The breakfast room was a little chaotic at peak times. There were not enough staff to re-lay tables and stock the buffet and we felt 13.5 Euros rather too much for a disjointed meal, waiting to have things like the fruit salad, the boiling water or the bread rolls brought out from the kitchen. On our last morning we were in breakfast at 7.30 and this was a much more pleasant experience than the one we had around 9.00/9.15.
All in all, we felt that the staff worked hard and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: They were making a great effort to make the hotel as eco-friendly as possible.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Madam, Thank you for having taken time to share your point of view. We are glad you enjoyed your stay & our efforts for environment preservation. We have just received a tripadvisor award on this matter :-) Regarding the breakfast, you are right to say it's busy between 9:00 & 10:00 a.m. Our guests are cautioned to come before 9:00 or later than 10:00 am. if they can to really enjoy a quiet atmosphere. We try to propose a large choice of products (pastries, various breads, scramble eggs, cheeses, fruits, cured meat, dairy products, fresh orange/apricot juice, apple pie...) to satisfy all our guests. Our tip regarding the rooms : choose a room with garden view if you want to enjoy a quiet terrace or balcony. The sea view is beautify but you will hear the traffic when opening the windows. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    147
    24
    1
    3
See reviews for
130
244
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The excellent welcome we had at Les Mouettes began before we even arrived. On a whim, we booked a family room last minute and drove down from the Dordogne. The friendly and warm reception began via email and continued in person at the hotel. Our room was perfect for us (two adults and two kids--16 and 10). We didn't eat at the hotel, but the dining room looked inviting. Everybody was helpful and welcoming--Chenoa in particular (Thanks!).

I initially set out to book a room closer to Argeles Plage, but for some reason I changed my mind... Good thing I did. Argeles Plage was choked with tourist junk and crowds of people. Les Mouettes was quiet and tucked away; peaceful and picturesque. It's also 5 minutes from Collioure, a much better place to go than Argeles Plage.

There is a little beach about 5-10 minutes walk down the road from the hotel, and although getting there involves briefly walking along a road, it was a nice place to swim and loaf around in the sun. Not crowded, nice and quiet, and very calm water. My kids could play and I could literally swim laps between two points.

The perfect spot for what we needed: sun, water, and a nice break.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PChocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Madam,
We really thank you for your comment and are glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure for us to welcome your family. To the reader, please note that we have no restaurant except a snacking from 12:30 to 17:30 pm. We propose you starters, platters, paninis, toasted sandwiches, nuggets & fries, desserts & ice cream. For dinner, we will be pleased to advise you on the best restaurants of the coast (there are many). You are right, Collioure is much more charming than Argeles (which is a good place only if you are looking for beach & nautical activities). Thank you again for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I picked this hotel as a centre point for the wine area and I wanted to return to Port Vendres. I had real difficulty in finding it as rue de collier so longer than you think,and as you have no number just the name of the hotel a phone call was required. The setting is stunning you travel a long winding drive up the cliff side to the hotel at the top. The staff are helpful and inform you about the facilities. They do not just hand you the keys they personally take you to your room, on the way describing ways in, out where to park etc. Just as a warning to guests the hotel does not do food at night, but the near by town has loads of eating places Taxi costs 11 € .. The rooms are spacious and quiet if had a mountain view room I guess cheaper! But the front of the hotel just bursts onto the sea from the side of the mountain. A very well appointed hotel Very nice people and a well maintained pool area and gardens for families.

Room Tip: Choose either sea view or mountain (Garden View)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your comment which will be very appreciated from the whole team (all the internet comments are periodically read during meetings with the objective to identify how we can improve our service). Regarding the arrival you mentioned, we consider it is normal to accompany our guests in their room, to help them carry their luggages, to give a complete information about the hotel, the room, the region, to answer questions they have and to be attentive to requests. The arrival at the hotel is a real opportunity to get to know one another which is very important for us. It is what makes our job interesting. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a gem followed trip advisor reviews and stayed 2 nights while on a motorcycle tour of Europe. They couldnt do enough for you very helpfull staff.
Only gripe we had we found the bed a bit too hard but other wise fab keep up the great work!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Madam,
We thank you for your comment that will be very appreciated by the whole team and gives us a lot of energy. It was a real pleasure to welcome you. We hope your motorcycle tour is going well and are glad you keep a good memory of the hotel & the region. Thank you ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
316 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

The cliff side setting with views over the beautiful sea is wonderful! The countryside location close to magical Collioure is terrific and convenient. We had a warm welcome by a friendly staff. One of our hosts was originally from the USA and so no language barrier at all. We were offered a complimentary "welcome" drink and found that the waiter was no bar tender. The "Gin Fizz" was bitter but a bit of sugar made it drinkable, but not good.

Our "superior" garden room (#105) at a rack rate of 139-199 Euros (during "this" season) was lovely in that it had a small sitting room with sliding glass doors that lead to a garden with ivy covered walls and a semi-private (utility cabinets in the garden) terrace with a table and chairs.
A sea view would have been wonderful, but was not in our budget.

The sitting room with 2 comfortable upholstered chairs and a small cocktail table was unique in that it contained a high tech speaker for use with YOUR digital music player. The desk at the foot of the bed was adequate for setting up 1 lap top, although we had to unplug the lamp in the electrical strip to have access to plug in anything. The high speed WIFI was solid, and the flat screened TV had an input slot for connection to our computer. . . and a "mode" button on the remote. For technology access I would give our accommodation an "A".

The large microfiber bed with good quality linens gave us a good sleep for both nights.

The bathroom was adequate. . . with some counter space around the single sink and hooks for robes/towels/toiletry kits, etc. We always carry our own shampoo and bath soap, but we noticed a lack of those usual amenities, although on check out we were told there were buttons for soap and shampoo in the shower. . . I cannot confirm this. The water pressure and temp. was good and consistent. Near the sink there were large bottles of liquid soap and body lotion (which was empty on arrival) affixed to the wall. This hotel is not new and so there was a bit of mold in the caulk around the tub.

In the separate WC, the toilet was a bit loose from the floor. . . which made one feel wobbly and nervous when sitting down. The room and toilet were adequately clean though.

The space for clothes was good in hanging and shelf space. There was no drawer space for smaller things though. The mini bar gave us a small space for placing our own things that needed to be kept chilled.

We did not use the pool but it looked clean and inviting. We did not eat at this hotel because the prices were much too high (13.50 Euros for breakfast buffet) for the food we observed around the pool, and by our judgement from the welcome drink.

All in all, I would say this hotel relies on the views and location for its success. There is little to recommend it for architecture or character, or food/drinks. In looking closely, it appears the original construction was not of superior quality and the maintenance is done in a bit of a haphazard way. There are small cracks in the walls, the carpet is a bit tired, etc.

The room prices on the web site are confusing at best. Which leaves the impression of trying to squeeze every penny out of every day. . . not very classy! For the not inexpensive price, I cannot say Les Mouettes is a good value. I cannot rate it as excellent, except for the location.

Room Tip: Try a sea view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrrrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Madam,
We thank you for your comment which the 100th and one of the most comprehensive. We are glad you appreciated your stay (location, staff, room) and we will take into account your recommendations that are very helpful. Regarding the bar, you are right, we will organize training sessions for the team since there is no bar tender. Regarding the breakfast, we propose a large choice of fresh products and our guests are generally very satisfied (see other comments). To test it, we will be glad to offer you the breakfast if you come back. We confirm there is bottle of shampoo/soap in all rooms (that’s the minimum !). The bottle may have been hidden by the shower curtain (we will replace the curtains by shower enclosures in November). You are right regarding the architecture. No real charm in the original construction. Unfortunately, because we are under coastal law, we are not authorized to modify it. Regarding the prices, we use yield management (that’s mean we modify prices according to the occupancy rate) . We are sad we gave you the impression to squeeze any penny. Even if we pay attention to our profitability, it is not our mind. Thank you again for your comment that will help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simorre, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Staff so welcoming. Fantastic views, wonderful pool, close to both Collioures and Argeles sur mer. Staff are delightful and friendly. Clean pool area with views down to the med, what more can you ask.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulmw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Sir,
We thank you for having shared your opinion on this website and are glad you enjoyed your stay. For the reader, we are located on the ledge road between Argeles & Collioure with a 180° view over the mediteranean sea. Everything's is not perfect since the road is a bit noisy when you open the windows from rooms with sea views. Don't hesitate to choose rooms with garden views if are looking for a quiet balcony/terrace. You will enjoy the view at the breakfast or from the outside jacuzzi (free access). Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel setting is fantastic. Situated between Collioure and Argeles-sur-Mer, there's something for everyone to enjoy. Hotel staff are very friendly, hotel is well kept and the terrace has stunning views across to Argeles-sur-Mer port, beach and beyond. Stayed for 3 nights, but wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Read other people's reviews on trip advisor who recommended a garden room due to a road running...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PascalDerville, Propriétaire at Hotel Les Mouettes, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Madam,
We thank you for having shared your opinion in this website and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. For the future guest who read this commentary, we remind you that it is necessary to have a car since we are located at 2 kms from Argeles & Collioure. If we have no restaurant, please note that our snack bar will be open 
every day this year from 12:30pm to 5pm from June 12th to September 12th. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argeles-sur-Mer
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.8 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#3 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Madeloc
Hotel Madeloc
#1 of 16 in Collioure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
#6 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Centre Plage
Hotel Centre Plage
#9 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.9 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#4 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Mouettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mouettes

Property: Hotel Les Mouettes
Address: Route de Collioure par la Corniche, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Mouettes 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the ledge road between Argeles-sur-Mer and Collioure, a 180° view over the Mediterranea. The hotel offers 31 rooms, junior suites and studios with outdoor heated pool & jacuzzi.- View of the sea or over the Albères mountainous mass- Balcony or terrace- Soundproofed rooms- Individual air-conditioning and heating- Private bathroom- Satellite TV- Minibar and safe- Free WiFi- Free secure parking- Bar, billiard, table tennis & playground for children- Spa with steam room, indoor Jacuzzi, power jet and chromotherapy showers, relaxation lounge and 2 massage and treatment booth.The hotel has no restaurant (just a snacking during the summer from 12:30 to 17:30) & the staff will be pleased to advise you one the numerous great restaurants of the area.According to your wishes and how much time you have, we invite you to discover the Roman cloisters and abbeys of the region (Elne, Saint-Genis des Fontaines, Saint-Michel-de Cuxa, Saint-Martin du Canigou, the Serrabonne Priory), four charming villages (Castelnou, Collioure, Eus, Villefranche-de-Conflent), the city of Perpignan (the Castillet, The town Hall, the Saint Jean's Cathedral & the palace of kings of Mallorca) and the Modern Art Museum of Ceret. You may also plan a trip to Spain (to visit the cities of Cadaques, Roses or the Dalí Museum of Figueres) and to the « Cathar Country » (the castles of Peyrepertuse & Quéribus, the Fontfroide abbey and the medieval city of Carcassonne).The coastal pathway and the Alberes Mountains offer you many walking trails opportunities and beautiful views on the Mediterranean Sea (Cape Bear, Cape Rédéris, Paulilles, the Madeloc & Massane towers). Three wine roads will also allow you to discover the pleasure of dry wines (Collioure, Côtes du Roussillon) and sweet wines (Banyuls, Rivesaltes, Maury) of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Les Mouettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing