We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Argeles-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping L'Hippocampe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2008

This is simply the best entertainment you will see anywhere outside of the west end. And its better than most you will see
there.

If you are offended by noise from what is the best shows in France bar none then please don't go. You will only be disapointed and write innacurate reviews of a great site. (see above)

This site is built for the young at heart (if not in body) and anyone with anything about them will enjoy it.

It is the very best in entertainment for both children and adults.

It is also France's best kept secret. There is a band called Bellyful who play there who are 2 of the best musicians on the circuit. Check out Didier's guitar work.

Do yourself a favour and give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank planmeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 226 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2008

I work for TOP SUN and although I've visited many of our other locations I finally made the trip down to Hippocampe with my husband and 4 yr old son - we stayed there for the last fortnight in June 2008- we did the trip by air/train/public transport, just to test out what works.
We stayed very close to the entrance to hippocampe - from our bedroom window there was a gap in the greenery where we could see the laundry facilities/shower block.
Indeed, we did get the full experience of evening entertainment from Sirene - but if it says it will stop at midnight, it does! It can also we more noisy when there is entertainment on at the Hippocampe bar, but the flip side to the evening noise was that by day you could be so busy, you'd sleep through anything! We didn't go over to the shows as our little boy was too tired by that point, but hearing it did make you feel a part of it! The pool at Hippo was excellent for a 4 yr old - although he found the slide very fast. I didn't realise that armbands were needed - not a problem witha well stocked shop for all beach/game stuff - it's easy to spend several euros a day on all sorts of toys/games/bits.
The atmosphere at hippo was lovely - quite varied by nationalities, feeling of space in the area we were based, and from the other areas I wandered. More informal feeling than Sirene, in my opinion. Speedy service for help to sort our BBQ and new gas bottle arrived very fast. helpful staff at both Sirene or Hippo reception. Security staff patrolled regularly Internet availability at both was useful too.

Colliure was well worth a visit - as was Perpignan. My husband took a tour to Carcassone and Canal Midi - ideally that picked up and dropped off at Hippo gates.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank topsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Just returned so thought give a fact-based review to help others (stuff I wanted to know). We were 3 families - boys and girls of 7, 10 and 13. Booked with Siblu as couldn't book direct with campsite as full. Most owners' caravans looked OK so option to book direct. Caravans at l'hippocampe are extremely close to each other, closest of the sites I've been to. Flew from Stansted to Perpignan with Ryanair - beware, we booked in January for August and the flights were very expensive as Ryanair are the only carrier from London to Perpignan. Perpignan airport suddenly shut (happens very often apparently) so diverted to Girona, Barcelona. Coach took 2 hrs back to Perpignan. Taxi from Perpignan was Euro70 and took 25 mins. Try to book taxi that l'hippocampe use (alhuzzar or something was the company ) as the 8 seater minibus was only Euro55 which 2 families could share. L'hippocampe is small site (which was nice) with adequate swimming pool for younger kids, small bar with nightly entertainment (low scale, magician, jazz singer, etc), nice play area for kids. La Sirene is opposite (across quite a busy B road so younger kids couldn't go on their own). Good bakery, smallish but OK supermarket, newsagents, restaurant. Bigger pool plus pub and nightclub so lots of older teenagers. Nightly entertainment of a show (good quality, but in french with english songs!) which you can hear from l'hippocampe. People got tables 1hr before show started, so extremely packed. Restaurant with view of show was good, but you need to book a couple of days in advance. Good playarea for kids plus bike hire (Euro 13 per day, better rates for week). Walk to north beach is @ 15 mins along road (there is a bit of a cut-through at the 1st roundabout). The central beach area with shops and market is about 40 min walk along road, or along beach. Village is @ 40 minute walk inland but all along main roads. There is a good road-train system from outside L'Hippocampe which takes you to town, village, port, beaches. Return is Euro 4. Beach is divided into north beach (windsurfing, pedalo), central beach (main area), port (restaurants) and furthest is racou beach. Boat trips from port available - Collioure was lovely and worth going (20 mins by boat). I liked Racou, more laidback feel, less touristy and the campsite Bois de valmarie is here (smaller site, good restaurant, good smallish 3 pools with slides, but no evening entertainment). Houses directly on beach were available to rent. Racou to L'Sirene by roadtrain is good 40 minute ride (sometimes 55 mins). We hired bikes a few days to get around, bike route along beach but along roads to village (scary for children). Caucassone took 2 hrs by direct train and 2 hrs to drive (due to traffic in Argeles which is quite heavy). Barcelona was 4 hrs by train (we didn't bother), but apparently only a couple of hrs to drive. Luna park fairground is 10 min walk along roads opens at 9pm. OK for a couple of hours, fairly small and rides are @ Euro 3 or Euro 4 (La Sirene does a reduction card which works out much cheaper), also go-karting, bowling and adventure park available at same site. Aqualand, free bus from Luna park roundabout, was OK as well - again smaller sized but we spent 5 hrs there. L'Sirene has discount vouchers otherwise it's Euro 23 for adults and Euro 19 for kids. Big supermarket is 20 mins walk along main road (or part of way on roadtrain) (sites have gas barbeques with each caravan). La Kemia restaurant in Village was good. Opposite l'hippocampe is pizza restaurant which is OK (quite slow service though). Port restaurants were OK.

25  Thank london_loving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We have just returned from a great holiday to l'hippocampe campsite in Argeles -Sur- mer.
We arrived after getting up at 2am to catch a flight from Manchester to perpignon .Thecampsite and mobile home were spotless and the children demanded to be taken to the pool immediately. All going well so far!
As you can imagine we were ready for an early ,peaceful nights sleep but at 9.30pm the reggae band on the sister site La Sirene started to play and play until 11.30. Now in the brochure it says you may hear some noise but this was unbelievable.
The stage was right behind us across the road. We had to use cotton wool in the kids ears just to get some sleep.
As the week went by we were treated to Chicago, the Lion King (which we did go to watch but you had to be there 2 hrs before it started to get a seat and by the time it did start my husband had lost the will to live.)Blues brothers, Grease and The Bottles a Beatles Tribute band.
Although credit to the group who perfomed they were very proffessional if you like musicals this is the site for you just like the West End!
The other problem being was that they also had Karoke and magic shows at the bar on Hippocampe so some nights it was impossible to sit out with a glass of wine and a good book.
Some nights they closed the bar in high season which we coudn't understand.
We didnt let it ruin our holiday but i wouldnt go back to this site unless you like a really lively noisy holiday.
The area around is fantastic we had trips to carcassonne, Gorge de galmus, and tautavel and we all enjoyed getting the road train into argeles itself . The weather was great to .

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank catmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Well what can i say about this great site. There is everything there we always wanted- great for children. The facilities there are excellent- archery,tennis, swimming pools and slides, parks,football pitches, shows. The quality of the shows are fantastic the dances are well coreographed. for a day trip go into colliure a small town down the road. There is a little train to get in and out of the town. Its great!!!! WE WILL DEFFINETLY GO AGAIN. (we have already booked for next year)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank CaravanCamper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The Boyle family,comprising of me,husband,two teenage children have just returned from a ten day break at a Siblu site-hippocampe in Argeles sur mer in languedoc.I thought I would give you a few helpful nuggets of info that you won't find on the Siblu site!
Now we have camped almost every year since our eldest(now 20 and not joining us on this holiday)was a young lad so I kind of know what to expect on a camping break. In the main, the couriers are usually keen to help, but ill informed and occasionally certifiable-the Key Camp one in Brittany who wouldn't give me the cleaning deposit back because the mirrors were" smeary "springs to mind. The Siblu ones were true to form on this- ask them anything more challenging than the opening times for the shop and they looked at you with ill disguised panic as if you had asked them to do Calculus.However, my main gripe was that they just were not there when we arrived-hot ,exhausted, after a long, long overnight drive from Scotland to Manchester airport and an even longer check in.All we wanted to do was to get in the mobile home, unpack and go for a quick snooze.So to be told by the reception that we had a three hour to wait till we could do just that was a bit of a shock. In our experience,if you arrive before the official entry time, and I've always found it to be two rather than four pm as it is on Hippocampe, you can generally at least drop off your luggage at the caravan and quite often it's already been cleaned and you can get in.But not here. We were told to go for a swim instead.
So we had to sit by the pool slowly frying- no sunscreen in our hand luggage due to check in restrictons,and frankly the thought of unpacking beside the pool to find our swim suits anyway wasn't a welcome one.
Eventually, we got into our accomodation and it was very much as expected. We went for a three bedroom elegance model. The third bedroom is very small, and I was glad that we had only brought two of our kids. If more than one person had had to sleep in that room, they would have had to take it in turns to breathe to avoid using up all the oxygen.
The Siblu courier was very keen to point out to us that the evening entertainment on La Sirene across the road was "THe Lion King" and advised us to hurry up and get a seat as it would get very busy.This was the only bit of info he gave us, but by then we were all dropping with heatstroke and exhausted and couldn't have cared less.
I had chosen Hippocampe as you can use all the facilities on La Sirene as well and I thought it looked a bit quieter, being a much smaller site.However it was hard to tell as Siblu websites are strong on soft focus photos of small children gazing raptly at shells etc, and weak on actual facts....in actual fact we realised that we were only maybe two hundred yards from the main stage at La Sirene ,separated only by the road and a bit of fencing.We realised this at around ten pm when The Lion King really got going.
Which is why I ended up lying wide awake in bed at twelve o'clock humming along to the songs.You may be interested to know that "wim a way"is the same in French as English. I wasn't though. I just wanted to go to sleep....
Throughout the week we were" treated" to disco,bongo drumming and a memorable version of Chicago.Nothing ended before eleven, or often twelve and it was as loud as if we were sitting right beside the stage.
The site itself is fine with a pleasant pool though that was very crowded. The only shop is across the road at Sirene, and be warned, its a very busy road, and hard to cross with a pile of shopping and several small children I would have thought.There is a wee bar on Hippocampe with it's own entertainment but it was only open some of the nights we were there, inexplicably . No info from Siblu couriers on that!!
We ended up taking the little yellow train into the centre plage most nights to get away from the noise from Sirene, and it was lovely . Argeles sur mer is a pretty village, and our teens liked the busy atmosphere, shops and restaurants. the road trains are the best way to get anywhere- but they aren't particularly cheap.You could walk to most places but it's not pleasant- all the roads are busy and some have almost no verge.
There is a lovely market in the village, and we also took a train to Perpignan- they run regularly from the station at argeles village(get off at the square and it's well signposted).
Lunapark, the funfair, is worth a visit- it opens at nine at night.So is Aqualand,the nearby waterpark There is a trainbus which you can take from the roundabout at Loisirs, to get you there. Again, not a cheap day out! Take your own picnic, unusually there is no restriction on taking food in to the park ,and it's very expensive to eat there . My husband reports that the "menu Kentucky "was particularly inedible. Bear in mind the waterslides are not supervised.
All in all, we had a nice time- the area itself was lovely, and the wather was perfect- there is a nice breeze for most of the time.But I really feel that Siblu need to be more specific about the level of noise on the site.On the website it says" some noise may be heard from La Sirene" but that is a gross misrepresetation. I wish we had asked to be moved as I walked round the campsite one night and it was much quieter as you got further into the site, but I don't think that there were any other mobiles of our size available.The main emphasis from the couriers is obviously on the evening entertainment rather than remembering to change your gas cylinder, and i think Siblu need to adress that.
Next year teen number two will be off with all her pals leaving a secretly worried mum and just the three of us to go somewhere.Maybe our camping days are at an end and we might go for a week in a nice hotel in the Italian Lakes.I wonder if they do evening entertainment??

30  Thank jennycreche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank celined590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
2.5 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argeles
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argele...
#7 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
633 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
525 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
#4 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
#19 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
#12 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Camping Del Mar
Camping Del Mar
#11 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping L'Hippocampe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping L'Hippocampe

Address: Route de Taxo, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Argeles-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
l`Hippocampe Hotel Argeles-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing