We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service and ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Du Lido
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb service and ideal location”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is right on the beach the staff are attentive without being over the top we had the filet steak with Corsican sauce which was divine. If we are ever in this area against this will be our first stop. The room was clean with views over the sea and the mountains beyond. Just wonderful...

Room Tip: Ask for sea view it is worth the money......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinhelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    124
    45
    12
    4
See reviews for
103
169
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I'd heard rumours that Argeles should be avoided. After much searching, I pixked this hotel somewhat by chance. And wow! What a find! For a three star hotel, this one ticks all the boxes. Most importantly, one gets excellent service from staff who go out of their way to be nice. The restaurant staff are especially remarkable. Ludivic and his team ensure that the meals are beautifully presented and served with aplomb. We were especially impressed by the attentiveness of Noe, Anais, Jeremy, and Gautier at dinner. And, the meals are absolutley divine. Brilliant fish dishes using fresh ingredients from the area and the sea. I can't wait to return to this delightful hotel with its superb retaurant!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Molly_by_Golly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in this lovely hotel. Admittedly the rooms are a little tired but are very comfortable. We stayed in a junior suite with a balcony overlooking the sea and swimming pool. Absolutely a view to die for! One of the most notable things about the hotel is its cleanliness. The grounds were constantly being swept and cleaned - sun beds moved so that they were cleaned behind as well as front and sides. The staff were always very polite and happy and we were greeted everywhere by a "bonjour madame, m'sieur". The breakfasts were wonderful with a huge selection of breads, croissants, Danish pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, etc. etc. We dined once in the hotel restaurant and were not very happy with the food plus it was very, very expensive with a rather limited menu. One slight downside was that the hotel was quite a way from the brilliant beach shops and restaurants which were just over a mile away. I am sure this would be ok for younger people but we oldies found it to be a long trek. However, a lovely promenade runs right along from our hotel to the facilities.

All in all this was a wonderful, relaxing holiday and our thanks to the hotel staff for making us very welcome.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra try to book a junior suite which gives you a lot more room and a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidsKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a hotel which I have visited many times and this year I was travelling with friends and we tried to book one of the new apartments behind the hotel. Sadly they were fully booked and we had to be content with visiting the hotel three times during our four week trip to France to enjoy the lunch time buffet, which is served on Wednesdays and Sundays. It costs 29 euros, which may seem expensive but is excellent value and includes an apperitif. It is served outside by the pool and we usually try to arrive early and enjoy a drink whilst sitting on the comfortable chairs overlooking the pool. This enables us to relax and watch the staff preparing the buffet, which is absolutely lovely. We always receive a warm welcome from Monsieur Lormond and his staff, which enhances the enjoyment of our visit. There are many salads, with prawns oysters, freshly cooked whole fish and cooked meats, together with an assortment of cooked dishes and vegetables. The desert table is also beautiful and there is a very large assortment of different dishes, which are too numerous to mention. Don't have a large breakfast before trying the buffet!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just had a 4 day stay here and loved it. Our room was backing on to the beautiful sandy beach, which is reached through the pine trees. The public areas of the hotel are clean and well maintained. We particularly enjoyed the outdoor seating area with comfortable armchairs and cushions.

The hotel is in a residential area of Argelès, and is incredibly peaceful. This might be a problem to anyone who enjoys the night life, as it is a good walk to bar and restaurant area of town. The staff were wonderful - always friendly and cheerful - and the food was excellent! We thought we would look around the area for different places to eat, but in the end ate at this Hotel's excellent restaurant every evening. One area that could be improved is that we found the matresses too firm and would have preferred softer. Another point to note is that the hotel is 'dog friendly' and quite a few of the residents had dogs with them, however they were all kept under good control and were no problem to us at all.

If you have a car, a trip nearby Collioure is not to be missed. We hired bikes and rode on the path area between the beautiful pine trees and along the promenade down towards the port. In retrospect, looking at the other hotels along the seafront, we still think this has the best spot. Definitely worth another visit!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Green_Lanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Superb hotel . Beautiful beach. Excellent food. Friendly, helpful staff. Would be a good idea to hire a bicycle and use the good cycle tracks. Only negative point, the bathroom could do with updating. We will definitely return again. Impeccable! Lillian van Klinken ,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillianvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Lido many times, mostly in June, and have always had a very enjoyable holiday. The hotel is part of a family owned group, with the family directly involved in the running of the hotel. This ensures that guests’ needs are well looked after and ensures that the staff are professional and efficient as well as maintaining a friendly atmosphere in the hotel.

One of the hotel’s main assets is its superb position, adjacent to one of the best sandy beaches you can imagine, coupled with excellent views of the mountains and coastline. The hotel also has its own private beach area and also an excellent pool with drinks service available all day. (The exact service varies a little depending on the time of year.)

You can walk out of the rear entrance to the hotel directly on to the beach; there is no road to cross, just the coastal footpath and a grassy area with some pine trees. Further down the beach towards Argelès Plage village there are plenty of beach-based activities for children

As well as the sea and sand there are lots of interesting and historical places to see in the area, many just a short drive away, and there are plenty of excellent walks for all ability levels in the mountains locally or further inland in the Pyrenees.

The food at Le Lido was very good, incuding an exceptional cheese trolley, and the majority of the wine list is sourced locally within a few miles of the hotel. This offers a choice of excellent wines which are not generally available in the UK.

Lastly, don’t miss the Lido’s famed seafood buffet lunch on Sundays and Wednesdays. This is an amazing help-yourself buffet in the poolside restaurant area, with hot and cold dishes and a large array of desserts. Book in advance, though, as this event is well patronised by local residents as well as hotel guests.

I should say, however, that a holiday at Le Lido could be difficult without a car, as trains and buses are a bit thin on the ground.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have balconies, but those on the pool (south) side get the most sun. (And are deare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrtfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#4 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
#5 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argeles
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argele...
#6 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.3 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#3 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Du Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Du Lido

Property: Grand Hotel Du Lido
Address: 50 boulevard de la Mer, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Du Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Du Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing