We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't understand why only 3*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Lido
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Moscow
11
Reviewed May 2, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 371 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed there for 5 nights at the end of August. Got a standard room in a villa with a view to the courtyard.
Hotel is perfectly located concerning the beach - only a few meters and you are on the wide sand beach (notice, the sand is coarse, not fine, as I supposed before). Sea was clean, and entrance quiet good for children.
Hotel is 15-minute walk far from the city center. It's ok, because you can avoid the noise of crowds of tourists on weekends, but creates some inconvenience, taking into consideration the fact that food in the hotel is overpriced (for me it looked heavily overpriced; big Carrefour store is in 7-10 minutes by car).
Room was quite spacious and had a terrace with view on the Pyrenees (for me it looked better than having a “sea view” in a villa actually facing the road and the hotel itself). No bath, only shower. No shampoo (only specific shower gel and lotion). Walls are thing, so in the night you can definitely hear your neighbors speaking (and not only speaking…). Not the best trained stuff as you can expect (It looked for me that they hired students for part time job; you can feel it at the fool strength in the restaurant). Changed used plastic glasses and floor-towel only when I asked for.
P.S. Swimming pool is much, much, much less than at the pictures of the hotel…))))

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vlistser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Comfortable hotel with friendly staff. The hotel is close to the beach and downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordi064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I have read the reviews about this hotel and have always found Monsieur Lormond and his staff pleasant and very helpful - even when I want my steak burned to a cinder! They have been unfailingly polite and I have never met beligerence from any member of staff. Neither have I ever witnessed any preference being shown to French guests. the breakfast is superb and the large buffet lunches which are served twice a week may be a little expensive but they are well worth what you pay for them. Our rooms (and we have had various ones) have always been clean and well maintained The little road trains stop right outside the hotel, which mean that it is possible to get around the resort and the nearby village without the problems of car parking. sadly my husband died recently and we will no longer be able to go there for our `special days` each year but I am sure that there will be a warm welcome if I go alone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The hotel was great. It's located right on the beach. A 20 minute walk down the promenade will take you past the town center and to the Port, where many restaurants are located. Along the way, only 5 minutes from the hotel, are many nighttime attractions like a small amusement park for kids and restaurants/shops in the town.
The hotel was quiet and elegant. The staff were friendly, particularly one older gentleman who was on the night shift. He spoke English and took great care of us getting us a drink in the evening and answering questions about the area. The hotel restaurant is poolside and was lovely. Breakfast was limited, but perfectly adequate. Lunch was delicious and reasonably priced.
Rooms were small and nothing special, but they were adequate. Nothing to rave or complain about. Free wifi was a plus.
Overall, this hotel offered a really pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmo213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We took a suite overlooking the ocean and it was just great!!! Big room with lounge area, lots of windows. Everything was great from the moment we arrived until we left. The staff was incredible and made sure everything was great for us... We tried the restaurant for supper and we we're pleased as well, food was delicious. It looked like a big family working together... Plus, with the sea right at your feet it's just greatttttt!!!! Will go back again for sure!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Rooms somewhat tiny in fact the smallest ever experienced - ever !
service is dedicated to the french & if you are not, then you will feel 2nd class !
I love france - but this hotel out of all of the hotels/chateaux ive stayed this hotel
felt the least special/attentive to our needs/requirements. shame because brochure
shows good location etc

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lordmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argeles-sur-Mer
2.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
588 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
525 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
#5 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#3 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Centre Plage
Hotel Centre Plage
#8 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
314 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Lagune Beach Resort and Spa
La Lagune Beach Resort and Spa
#4 of 5 in Saint-Cyprien
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Lido

Address: 50 boulevard de la Mer, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range: $94 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel du Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel du Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing