We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine Tasting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Valmy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Valmy
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having viewed the Chateau from afar during previous breaks to Sorede, I took the first downpour for two months to be a good prompt to visit the Chateau.

Although I didn't go to the hotel, I did visit the cellar, which has been refurbished over the past year (with more still being done), As not currently in harvest season, the vats were empty and not working, but still interesting to see the machinery.

It is possible to taste all of the wines and even the "entry-level" varieties are very good.

The view from the cellar is fantastic - shame it was a rainy day for me! You have a view of the vines and in the distance the coastline and sea.

There are on-going developments at the Chateau - a new restaurant is being built, along with a conference room, which are both due to open in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    23
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
22
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

A few days before we were due to stay I had an email asking what time we would arrive. Despite arriving within 20 minutes of my estimate there was no one there to greet us - we couldn't even get into the grounds. To cut a very long story short, I eventually came across the Housekeeper (guardian) of the Chateau who made a few phone calls and, eventually, he gave us a key and showed us to our room. This had taken best part of 60 minutes. Next morning we could not find the breakfast room or anyone to ask. Once again the Housekeeper came to the rescue. (without him, I'm not sure what would have happened. I had expected much better service than this for £190/night.
Despite this poor start to our wedding anniversary, I cannot fault the Chateau. The room, the pool, the view, the breakfast, everything was top class. It's a pity that the first impression has left a nasty taste.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our second visit was as pleasurable as our first. The weather was kinder this visit so we got to enjoy the pool. Fabulous! Great location for visiting Collioure and the Cote Vermeille. The vineyard attached to the chateau produces some very good wine. Mdme Carbonnell will be happy to offer you a tasting. Thank you again and 'a bientot'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDDB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argelès sur Mer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had the most delightful stay at the Chateau Valmy. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comforable. Breakfast in the morning is elegant & exceptional. The employee and owner couldn't have been more helpful and gracious toward me and my family. Overall, the most incredible place I have ever slept!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beautiful chateau in great location-views, quiet location but close to Argeles, Collioures and beaches. Modern stylish renovation. 25m pool with views to countryside and mountains. Friendly owner. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms, the 2 at the front are largest and have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

An exotic B & B in a chateau with a modern 70's style makeover. Valmy is a wine estate and as such beautifully located. It has a fabulous pool and huge grounds, few rooms and hence few guests and if cost is no object it can be recommended. The owner went out of her way to be welcoming. My first priority of cleanliness was passed with flying colors. Excellent, elegant, simple breakfast in the French style. No bacon and eggs here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenesaisrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

What a gem! My husband and I were here for one night of our spontaneous road trip honeymoon before driving through Provence and we wish we had stayed an extra day. We basically had the whole place to ourselves! The grounds are unbelievable! The owner was so sweet and let us taste the wine and showed us around. We purchased some wine but she also gifted us a bottle which we are saving for our anniversary.

We stayed in the "why not" room which we thought was pretty big. The bed was huge and comfortable. There was free wifi that worked great. We were lucky enough to be there on the last day of summer because we got to enjoy the fabulous pool and hot tub while drinking a bottle of the vineyards rose all to ourselves.
The owner also made us a reservation for her 5 star restaurant in Collioure which was very pricey but worth it if you are into creative dining.The breakfast at the chateau wasn't our favorite but it's included in the price of the room.
We highly recommend the Chateau and hope we can go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argeles-sur-Mer
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#3 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
#6 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Relais des Trois Mas et Restaurant La Balette
3.1 mi away
Le Bon Port
Le Bon Port
#5 of 16 in Collioure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Valmy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Valmy

Property: Chateau Valmy
Address: Chateau de Valmy, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Valmy 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Valmy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing