We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, some small tweaks would make it even better”
Review of Auberge du Roua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du Roua
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good experience, some small tweaks would make it even better”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed for a week at Auberge du Roua and had a pleasant stay there.

The hotel itself is a bit hard to find if you miss one of the signs (our GPS could not locate the address)

first of all the pros:
- Great staff especially the breakfast lady was very keen on giving out suggestions about the day activities in the area.
- Room was very nicely appointed
- Location away from the typical summer Argeles crowd offering a lot of space to lie in the sun after jumping into the pool for a quite swim
- Great food at the restaurant.
- Although being close to the main road, background noise was not a factor

Areas for improvement:
- toiletries in the room: Being a seasoned traveller, I found it odd that there was no shower gel
- pricing: we stayed in a junior suite and had to pay for an extra bed for our kid. We were aware a the time of booking of the costs, but it still hurts somehow the pocketbook as you would expect a sofa bed or some sort bedding arrangement in a suite.

Overall a nice experience which could definitely be improved with some minor adjustments

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for your visit. We offer junior suites with contemporary furnishing suitable for two people, although a separate bed for children only can be added. A new suite facing the pool area, with 2 separate bedrooms, will be opened next spring. Hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    94
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
198
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Auberge du Roua was a delightful and unique surprise, a 17th-century stone farmhouse remodeled into a small luxury hotel on the outskirts of the family beach resort Argeles sur Mer. The grounds were really far more beautiful than the website photos suggested, and the pool and shaded lounge chairs a peaceful respite from the crowded, go-go atmosphere of a Mediterranean beach resort in August. We enjoyed our strolls around nearby country lanes lined with vineyards. The hotel's architecture is stunning, inside and out. The multi-lingual staff could not have been more gracious and accommodating. The Auberge is famous for its upscale restaurant, with many awards from gourmet organizations. We dined there twice, and indeed, every bite was amazing to taste -- and eye candy to behold! "Quiet" is the word that most comes to mind about the Auberge, although in truth there was a busy highway just beyond the trees -- the white noise did not bother us, but I did want to mention it. Also, you reach the property by a convoluted route through the narrow streets of Argeles village ... under the highway, under the railroad tracks, beyond the beautiful historic cemetery ... but in retrospect that was all part of the charm. Once you find La Gare (railroad station) there are signs leading the way to the Auberge. When you get there, it's worth it!

Room Tip: We loved our large "comfort" room, in a 3rd floor corner with beautiful views of Pyrenees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyDodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear guests, It is a real pleasure to read from you. What a delight ! We are very pleased that our Auberge was even better than expected, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience.
Kindest regards, Magalie Tonjum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Original translation suggests Auberge signifies an inn. This is far and away beyond that. Difficult to find it is and you must research the best way to reach the Auberge, thoroughly , believe me it is well worth the effort.
Set in delightful grounds you can enjoy meals around the pool, weather permitting and there are also areas where you can shut yourself away, if that is what you need. The rooms are very functional and designed to a high standard and the hotel, as that is what this establishment is, run excellently by a professional, knowledgeable, friendly couple who will help wherever they can.
The restaurant is class, providing quality dishes excellently prepared. Be prepared sometimes to wait perhaps a little longer than normal over dinner. Perhaps the English eat too quickly anyway !
This place is difficult to fault, providing everything any experienced traveller would require and introducing less experienced ones to quality in all areas. A delightful find and very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are high standard, roomy and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrubber077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much !
Dear clients, it is a real pleasure to read your appraisal, a delight that you had a good time with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again,
Kindest regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel as most hotels in Collioures were fully booked. Being located on the outskirts of Argeles sur mer is an asset. Access to the hotel might be a little difficult at first but a GPS will help. You definitely need a car. We stayed for 2 nights.

The hotel is a beautiful mas, with grounds well kept, a beautiful swimming pool and for us a beautiful suite. The room was spacious with a separate sitting area, spotlessly clean and very Scandinavian in its interior design. I seem to remember that the owner is Norwegian.

We had dinner only once and it was excellent. Breakfast was good with the added bonus of being taken outside by the poolside.
Lady who oversaw the breakfast was very helpful and friendly.

We enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mimi769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and your appreciation.
We hope to see you again, maybe longer ! ;) The Auberge is nicely located to discover the Roussillon.
Best regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for a night back in August last and I've been meaning to put a review up for quite some time as it was a memorable break. The hotel is spectacular, pool, scenery, rooms, location, service, food, ambience, staff all wonderful - its definitely a really special place, honestly I can't praise it enough to be honest. However, we had a horrible experience due to wasp infestation during our meals, we had very uncomfortable experiences a table during our dinner and breakfast at the hotel. It really was very difficult with very little being done by staff to address the situation, I would go so far as to say it was a serious health and safety matter that needed action but unfortunately none was forthcoming. I loved the place and will stay there again in a heartbeat but I would need to be guaranteed that the wasp issue had been addressed comprehensively.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariecorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for your visit. We were very well aware of the wasp issue during the summer 2013. It was a rare wasp year for everybody, and being located in the countryside didn’t help. We strived to remediate as much as possible, and we are very sorry that you had the impression that we didn’t care. We addressed the issue within the boundaries of our capabilities, and really hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Magalie Tonjum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked in for 5 nights following a long journey though France.

Difficult to find as its on the wrong side of the tracks from Centre Ville, but worth persevering; even after 5 days, we failed to find a simple route from the town.

Located close to Route Nationale in rural surroundings we were unsure whether this is a hotel with a fine dining restaurant or a fine dining restaurant with rooms to stay. There was no receptionist when we arrived around 6.30, just a phone asking us to dial for attention. Our room though was super; lovely beds, a nice bathroom and very clean.

We went for a meal by the pool. After the long drive, we were tired and hungry. We ordered drinks which came fairly quickly: we ordered food which didn't. After 50 minutes waiting for the starter, we cancelled. Asked for the Manager who was in no way apologetic and said that that was the way it was - two and half hours for a meal was normal; fair enough - we went to bed.

Having said that we enjoyed our stay there very much. The staff were lovely, the weather was great, there's loads to see - Collioure is well worth a visit and the beaches are great - though you might want to avoid the one down a track by the Tech river a couple of miles north of Argeles - unless you are a naturist! They aslo had swallows nesting in the outside porch - lots of them - they leave in October apparently.

Well worth a stay and the meal on our last night was splendid and finished in under an hour and a half - progress!

David and Ann

Room Tip: You might want a room away from the route nationale, though it's not really a nuisance and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear David and Ann,
We are very happy that after a "bumpy" start, you finally had a good time with us. We truly hope that all our guests enjoy the Auberge as much as we do.
Best regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been terribly disappointed with the food at our hotel. The servings were so small, that we were leaving the table still hungry. We had booked half board for 42€ per day and were served a small main course and an average size dessert for that. They didn't even bother with a starter and the food was very salty. Having stayed at the same place 11 years ago for our honeymoon, I couldn't have been more disappointed. Obviously the hotel was only interested in serving the guest decent food and servings if you chose to eat "à la carte". Had we known that, we wouldn't have booked the stay with them at all, since the hotel itself is quite nice, but not worth the price they charge you per night, being only 3 stars with a tiny, unheated pool. Their strong point used to be the restaurant - well, it isn't anymore. The owner at the reception didn't want to even have the disaster mentioned anymore and shows a smile but clearly no respect for her customers, unless they are ready to spend a fortune on food and wine in the restaurant. Forget what Guide Michelin says. If the food critics ever have a half board meal and service there, they won't bother to go back. And neither will we.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cantalbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Oh dear, I suggest setting the records straight on this : the €43 half-board option comprises breakfast + dinner. You were served lobster, a highly popular and expensive à la carte dish. The restaurant was full and some wait may thus occur, although the beautiful surroundings should still invite for a relaxing evening. But frankly what a complete and utter nonsense, almost a bit sad really !
Regards,
Magalie and Petter Tonjum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argeles-sur-Mer
2.8 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
518 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
462 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
#6 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#4 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
129 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Madeloc
Hotel Madeloc
#1 of 16 in Collioure
521 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Lido
Grand Hotel Du Lido
#8 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Roua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Roua

Property: Auberge du Roua
Address: 46 Chemin du Roua, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Roua 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge du Roua - an authentic catalane mansion from the 17th century entirely refurbished into a four stars hotel with 17 rooms and suites - welcomes you to the sunny climate of the Mediterranean.Situated outside the town of Argeles sur Mer, towards the vineyards and beautiful mountains of Les Alberes, l'Auberge du Roua provides a unique setting of contemporary design and comfort, including modern amenities of free wifi and high speed internet, coupled with a truly Mediterranean-flavoured cuisine and exceptional local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Auberge du Roua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Roua Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing