We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“views of the vineyards and hills”
Review of Auberge du Roua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge du Roua
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very nice old mas, gradually being restored outside of Argeles- near motorway but rooms oriented away so we didn't have any noise- maybe careful in summer as we were there mid winter.
Restaurant closed so no review of that, but the place is probably a bit higher than the official 3 stars it gets.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your visit and your posting. We are very glad that you enjoyed the hotel, and hopefully we will see you again for the restaurant and the wine list, that you would surely have appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards,
Magalie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 326 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Even if you usually stay at 4- and 5-star hotels, you should not shy away from 3-star Auberge du Roua. The service, the rooms and the cleanliness is all you can desire, and the hotel is small enough to allow the capable and efficient staff (that includes the owners, a young an very competent French/Norwegian couple) to handle the guests in a personal and friendly manner.
The restaurant is excellent, with a selection of food and wines to satisfy anybody. The wine-cellar offers and impressive selection of local high quality wines. My wife and I stayed at the hotel for three nights, and had all our dinners in the hotel restaurant. We followed staff recommendations for food and wines, and were utterly pleased.
During our stay, at least half of the restaurant guests were locals going there to have a nice evening. That is proof of high quality and value for money!
The surrounding are excellent for walks along the exciting coast to nearby villages, like artist favourite Collioure, or in the mountains. The staff will advice on where and how.
And the thrilling Salvador Dali museum in Figueres (Spain) is less than an hour's drive away.
The guest-book is proof that hotel guests are coming back. So will we!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your posting.
Our rooms, food , wines, staff, area... I am very glad that you truly enjoyed the cocktail !
To have our guests coming back is always our best reward.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kindest regards,
Magalie Tonjum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel is a converted farmhouse and has been transformed in keeping with it's rural location. Although only 3 Star the rooms were comfortable and both clean and tidy. On the downside the hotel lacks atmosphere and the furnishings whilst appropriate to the venue are minimalistic to the point of looking bare in places. On the upside the Restaurant is widely appealing in both situation and service. The quality of food served - limited in choice - is of the finest you'll find in the area. Try the Scallops served on a bed of avocado and grapefruit or the saddle of hare with button sprouts. Expensive but worth it. Wine list expensive with a lot of "unknown" wines! Choose carefully.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine050Moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your appreciation of our Auberge.
We are glad that you had a good time with us and hope to see you again,
Best regards,
Magalie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We return each year on my birthday in August for a wonderful meal with friends. Sometimes we park our campervan outside and stay in the hotel. This year the food was as good as ever although slightly expensive its not as though we do this every evening and the setting by the pool is beautiful. Its a treat to have the chance to dress up too.

Room Tip: No preference as all the rooms seem spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your posting.
We strongly approciate to see you every year. Your fidelity is a must and we are very happy that this year was a success again.
Looking forward to welcoming you next year,
Kindest regards,
Magalie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a delightful boutique hotel in a peaceful setting just outside Argeles-sur-mer. The rooms are simply furnished but warm, comfortable and well appointed. We had a suite with a view over vineyards and the foothills of the Pyrenees. The young owners, Magalie and Petter Tonjum are very friendly, helpful and efficient. The restaurant is excellent, easily the best food in the immediate vicinity, with an emphasis on Catalan cuisine.It is relatively expensive but very good value for money.
This was our third stay in six or seven years and we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthNottsMagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your comment.
It is the greatest pleasure is to see our guests coming back. Best of all signs.
We are very glad that this stay was up to your expectations, and we will be here to have the pleasure to see you again !
Kindest regards,
Magalie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Auberge du Roua is a very nice place to spend a couple of nights. The restaurant is a fine place to eat and there is a huge choice of wine. The setting is beautiful and very calm.

I found the room comfortable and the standard of bedding was good. The room I had was very comfortable.

Argeles-sur-Mer is a drive away as are the beautiful beaches.

The hotel was clean and there was ample parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talibragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your stay with us and your comment.
We are very happy that you had a good time with us, for both our restaurant and our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kindest regards,
Magalie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Cannot rate this highly enough. Rooms, cleanliness, staff, breakfast, delightful peaceful location ! From the moment of arrival two hours before we were expected, an immediate check-in meant that we were able to explore this lovely resort from noon onwards, insteaad oif naving to hang around. No it's not in the heart of Argeles sur Mer, but it is an easy drive. Even the swallows return year after year. Do eat at least once in the Michelin-accredited poolside restaurant. Not cheap, but very good. Breakfast at 11 euros was very good - we opted for it every morning.

Room Tip: Book a couple of weeks early - we got a 20% discount ffor doing so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AviationSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your kind posting. We are very glad that you had a good time in our Auberge.
Hopefully, like the swallows, we will see you again !
Kindest regards,
Magalie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
588 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
525 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
#5 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Acajou
Hotel Acajou
#6 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
268 reviews
2 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#3 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau Valmy
Chateau Valmy
#10 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Roua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Roua

Address: 46 Chemin du Roua, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range: $95 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Roua 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge du Roua - an authentic catalane mansion from the 17th century entirely refurbished into a four stars hotel with 17 rooms and suites - welcomes you to the sunny climate of the Mediterranean.Situated outside the town of Argeles sur Mer, towards the vineyards and beautiful mountains of Les Alberes, l'Auberge du Roua provides a unique setting of contemporary design and comfort, including modern amenities of free wifi and high speed internet, coupled with a truly Mediterranean-flavoured cuisine and exceptional local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge du Roua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Roua Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing