We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but Superb Restaurant”
Review of Auberge du Roua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge du Roua
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Moraira
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but Superb Restaurant”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Hotel is a converted farmhouse and has been transformed in keeping with it's rural location. Although only 3 Star the rooms were comfortable and both clean and tidy. On the downside the hotel lacks atmosphere and the furnishings whilst appropriate to the venue are minimalistic to the point of looking bare in places. On the upside the Restaurant is widely appealing in both situation and service. The quality of food served - limited in choice - is of the finest you'll find in the area. Try the Scallops served on a bed of avocado and grapefruit or the saddle of hare with button sprouts. Expensive but worth it. Wine list expensive with a lot of "unknown" wines! Choose carefully.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine050Moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your appreciation of our Auberge.
We are glad that you had a good time with us and hope to see you again,
Best regards,
Magalie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    96
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
201
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We return each year on my birthday in August for a wonderful meal with friends. Sometimes we park our campervan outside and stay in the hotel. This year the food was as good as ever although slightly expensive its not as though we do this every evening and the setting by the pool is beautiful. Its a treat to have the chance to dress up too.

Room Tip: No preference as all the rooms seem spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your posting.
We strongly approciate to see you every year. Your fidelity is a must and we are very happy that this year was a success again.
Looking forward to welcoming you next year,
Kindest regards,
Magalie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south notts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a delightful boutique hotel in a peaceful setting just outside Argeles-sur-mer. The rooms are simply furnished but warm, comfortable and well appointed. We had a suite with a view over vineyards and the foothills of the Pyrenees. The young owners, Magalie and Petter Tonjum are very friendly, helpful and efficient. The restaurant is excellent, easily the best food in the immediate vicinity, with an emphasis on Catalan cuisine.It is relatively expensive but very good value for money.
This was our third stay in six or seven years and we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthNottsMagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your comment.
It is the greatest pleasure is to see our guests coming back. Best of all signs.
We are very glad that this stay was up to your expectations, and we will be here to have the pleasure to see you again !
Kindest regards,
Magalie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Auberge du Roua is a very nice place to spend a couple of nights. The restaurant is a fine place to eat and there is a huge choice of wine. The setting is beautiful and very calm.

I found the room comfortable and the standard of bedding was good. The room I had was very comfortable.

Argeles-sur-Mer is a drive away as are the beautiful beaches.

The hotel was clean and there was ample parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talibragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your stay with us and your comment.
We are very happy that you had a good time with us, for both our restaurant and our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kindest regards,
Magalie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Cannot rate this highly enough. Rooms, cleanliness, staff, breakfast, delightful peaceful location ! From the moment of arrival two hours before we were expected, an immediate check-in meant that we were able to explore this lovely resort from noon onwards, insteaad oif naving to hang around. No it's not in the heart of Argeles sur Mer, but it is an easy drive. Even the swallows return year after year. Do eat at least once in the Michelin-accredited poolside restaurant. Not cheap, but very good. Breakfast at 11 euros was very good - we opted for it every morning.

Room Tip: Book a couple of weeks early - we got a 20% discount ffor doing so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviationSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your kind posting. We are very glad that you had a good time in our Auberge.
Hopefully, like the swallows, we will see you again !
Kindest regards,
Magalie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Not an easy place to find (it's actually just to the west of the N114) but when you do it's an amazing place. A good 10 mins drive to the sea, but you can walk into the town centre. Secluded, and relatively quiet when we were there, with lovely outdoor pool area and modern designed rooms. Restaurant prices are not cheap though.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the vineyard (ie on the far side of the building from the N114)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSFleet_Hants_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your stay and your comment. We are very glad that you had a good time at the Auberge. And you'll see, the second time, it is much easier to find. :)
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Kindest regards,
Magalie Tonjum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Firstly may I say that this is a genuine and honest review based on our personal experience.The proprietor greeted us on arrival, as we realised on approach to the hotel that it is situated by the autoroute we asked him for a room not overlooking the motorway. He informed us there was one room left and the inferrence waws take it or leave it....we had booked the room several weeks before arrival. We looked at the room which was like a prison cell, the only window one could see out of looked on to autoroute the other window about 18" sqaure was so high up you couldn't see out to the pool/garden area even standing on tippy toes. The bathroom was huge but didn't have a shaving socket and no socket near mirror in room, in fact no mirror in room. We went back to the proprietor and said it was like a prison cell to which he took great exception, he did offer to move us the following night but as we only were staying two nights we declined and moved on the next day. The pool area did not have a shower and subsequently resulted in a black "tide-line" around the pool...not what you expect from an hotel of a supposedly high calibre, the garden was not well looked after. We understand however that the restaurant is of a high class food but was way too expensive for us. Would I return to or recommend this place - no, because of above matters and also because it the wrong side of the auotroute from beach/town of Argeles-sue-Mer.

Room Tip: Ask for pool/garden view but be sure window is NOT above eye level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzieblue48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
I do indeed remember your visit... It is not that often that our authentic stone walls do remind of a prison cell... :)
I am really sorry that our Auberge was not up to your expectations and that the charm of our catalan mas did not act upon you.
Best regards,
Magalie Tonjum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
535 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
471 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
#6 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Lido
Grand Hotel Du Lido
#9 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
335 reviews
2.0 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#4 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Acajou
Hotel Acajou
#7 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Roua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Roua

Property: Auberge du Roua
Address: 46 Chemin du Roua, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Roua 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge du Roua - an authentic catalane mansion from the 17th century entirely refurbished into a four stars hotel with 17 rooms and suites - welcomes you to the sunny climate of the Mediterranean.Situated outside the town of Argeles sur Mer, towards the vineyards and beautiful mountains of Les Alberes, l'Auberge du Roua provides a unique setting of contemporary design and comfort, including modern amenities of free wifi and high speed internet, coupled with a truly Mediterranean-flavoured cuisine and exceptional local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge du Roua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Roua Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing