We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay Again”
Review of Camping Le Soleil

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Argeles-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Le Soleil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stayed at this site independently five times, over the last six years. That is testament to the great facilities it has to offer. So from a camping perspective I can say that all of the Showers, Toilets and Dish Washing areas are cleaned virtually all day and are lovely and clean.
The pool area is great, with new slides this year - Please note that this year the rules have changed and "Speedo" style trunks/briefs are the only permitted male attire. This wasn't conveyed to us prior to arrival so we had an additional expense that could have been avoided having two males in the family. An hour after arriving, having spent two days driving through France, back in the car to buy trunks as our 10 year old was asked to leave the pool!
The Bar at the Pool has now been closed, so no facilities pool side. However, there is a new bar area just by the Play Park and Wi-Fi. The bar is great, I just wish it opened in the evening. We would have loved to spent a few hours here, watching the kids play or kick a ball about.
Wi-Fi is still virtually non existent. It seems to work fine for our European neighbours, but the Brits always struggle to get any sort of reception.
The Tabac still serves great coffee and the laundrette has nice new machines.
The Beach Bar at the other end of the site is great - the kids loved playing pool. Entertainment here is fine if you speak French, if not then you might want to walk on the beach or make your own entertainment!
Foam Party, great fun again, however I feel that there needs to a few more staff around. Our children mixed with older late teens/early twenties and grown ups too, which is fine but there isn't any security to prevent glass being taken into the area. The bar staff only issue plastic glasses on this evening, but don't police the venue. Needless to say, glass bottles and foam don't mix. We were lucky we only had a slashed foot in our family, but there was a lot of blood coming from others and several bandaged feet at the pool and beach the next day!
The takeaway is a great facility, the attached restaurant serves the same food too so it's perfect. Being a long term guest I would like to see the menu's revived as it has offered the same dishes, and a variety of Plat Du Jours, for the last six years.
The shop still offers a wide range of fresh bakery goods, food and drink at reasonable prices. It also stocks the things you might have forgotten and camping gaz, so it still gets top marks from us.
Overall, this site is one of the best and I would recommend to all. It's not a quiet site, but it is aimed at families and there are all age groups and nationalities here.
It has everything you could need, and if you don't want to leave the site whilst there you don't have to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandClareSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment.
It was a real pleasure to read you.
Your fidelity encourages us to keep working to make the site better.
We would like to comment on the few remarks you made.
As you can read in our others answers, Wifi connection is not good and as soon as we will get an high speed offer it should get a lot better. For now, we do as goos as we can with a poor result.
We will increase vigilance around our foam parties if glasses bottles are brought in as they do not effectively mix well with foam parties.
We hope to see you again next summer.
Best regards!
Jacques Miquel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 795 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I'll keep this short....

This is our second time here so it goes without saying the place is lovely and i would go again.

However the one main gripe is the Luna park, we was sited on the other side of the camp next to the beach but the Luna park was still loud, sitting outside listening to screaming on the park isnt ideal, the noise carries on till roughly 12 - 12.30am, you do get used to it and i would say dont let this put you off because it is lovely and i would go back tomorrow.

one small thing, they sell Li Lows in the shop but they dont allow them in the pool?? as we found out after buying 2 of them(money wasted) and getting told not allowed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glennyboy856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for giving your opinion about Camping Le Soleil!
We are really happy you had again a good time with us!
We will check the problem you mention with the shop.
Best regards.
Jacques Miquel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for two weeks mid August. We booked with Eurocamp and our mobile was a few minutes walk from shop one way and pool the other.This is our 10th holiday on a European camp site and this was one of the best. Yes lunar park was noisy but we never had a problem sleeping or enjoying sitting out in the evening. The shop was more expensive but great for bakery products . We liked the restaurant and thought the takeaway menu was good. The pool was excellent especially the adult only area! There were different areas of the pool complex for all including slides. My two children aged 13 and 15 loved the Base club so a big thanks to Laurie. Not only did they enjoy the organised activities but socialised with the other children outside these times which was great for all of us.
Argeles itself is not bad. The beaches are lovely as is the view of the Pyrenees . The boulevard is a lovely walk.The centre of the town is a bit seasidey and avoid Casablanca restaurant which served up vegetable couscous which I assumed was a vegetarian dish with lamb juice, carrots and celery! Very disappointing .
Head to the port and there are some lovely restaurants and bars .
Argeles is a great place for cycling and walking thanks to all the cycle paths.
We had fab weather and I am sure this was the icing on the cake of our holiday but we really do feel this was an excellent camp site.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boodaisyele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your very positive feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed both Camping Le Soleil and Argelès sur mer.
We hope to see you again on site!
Best regards
Jacques Miquel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Taking into account that this site is listed as being 5 Stars, well my partner and I talked about this and would call that into question.

This was my second trip to Argeles Sur Mer - my last one was back in 1993. So the site has changed a lot since then. It now boasts a great pool complex - although this is no comparison to Aqualand just down the road (10 mins away and worth a visit if you have water loving children - Aqualand rating 5/5).

Back to Le Soleil, we stayed with keycamp/Eurocamp and they were great! 5 Stars for Paul and his team - our chalet was superb.

A previous TripAdvisor User made a good point of the lack of security on the park and the owners should take note - with the various unmanned or CCTV access points around the beach. It's all very we'll have high fencing along the road areas - but if there is nothing to stop anyone coming into the site from the beach. This could be easily sorted with fencing and full height card swipe able entry gates for members on the site.

So security is poor.

Now to the very low points that failed to score any points;

WIFI 0/5 - in today's day and age of 3G - fast internet - and 4G rolling out you'd expect a resort to have full decent wifi on site.

Nope, not here. You have to congregate to get a signal just away from the pool area - then you keep getting bumped off with others making Skype Calls home when you're trying to check your emails or Social Media. Then in the evening you're also fending off the Mosquitos!

So pretty Cr@p internet.

But worst of all was the Bloody Luna Park!!!!!!!!

AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL!!

So, if you value your sleep. I would seriously reconsider coming here if Luna Park returns in 2014.

I would love to return. The people of Argeles are very friendly - the local shops are great. Yes it's got very commercial since 1993 - a victim of its own success.

But if the owners read this - you need to:

Increase security to the beach
Get good wifi on all the site
And lobby against Luna Park returning!! It WILL harm future business.

Oh and tell your ladies on reception to wear a smile - especially when people are arriving after travelling most of the day - to be greeted by grumpy behind the counter when we arrived wasn't a good start!

Overall 3.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salzburg917k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for leaving you feedback on TripAdvisor.
We understand that you had not such a good time with us and are really sorry about that.
We will thank Keycamp staff as you are really happy about them and as they are doing a great job on site.
We come back to you on the three points you underlined on your message.
Wi-Fi connection is really poor and it is unfortunately not our fault. Our location, away from the city center does not allow us to get high-speed internet and we have to wait for the town to make the proper works. We cross our fingers and hope it will be done for the next summer.
LunaPark noise is a real issue, we have been fighting and still fight it.
You point the lack of security on the site. However you do not point any problems you might have encountered so we guess your stay was fine on this point.
Having more than 3000 thousands persons on site in highest season we only had to face for this last summer some bikes being stolen and a few problems caused by people who had too much too drink.
So the camping might seem insecure but is indeed secure.
We thank you one more time for your message. It is with your remarks that we can get better.
Be sure that we keep working from one summer to the next one for the wellness of our clients.
Best regards.
Jacques Miquel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we stayed at le soleil four 4weeks in August this is the 22nd time we have stayed here and will be back again next year !!!!!! our children and grand children are now joining us as well . we have never experienced any probelems with noise from Luner park the staff are friendly special mentions to Josaphine who is allways friendly despite cleaning the toilet block every day .Bridget for being helpful ,friendly and pleasant every year .Jean Louis at the restaurant with all our friends around us the vista ,weather ,food and wine and afinal thankyou to J Miguel the director a very big thankyou. MERCI

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your positive comment.
We will pass your congratulations to all the staff you mentionned in your message.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.
Jacques Miquel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family and I booked 14 nights at Camping Le Soleil in August 2013. On arrival we were allocated a camping pitch in the middle/near the beach side of the campsite but, after 8 days we decided that enough was enough and moved to another campsite away from Argeles-sur-Mer, which can only be described as a ‘kiss me quick’ French version of Blackpool. For us, the beach and pool ticked the right boxes and by day the site has a reasonable nature. By dusk however the site takes on a different guise, please do read on for some holiday truths about Camping Le Soleil in Argeles-sur-Mer. This review is factual and not dressed up in any way.

The noise from Luna Amusement Park (next door) was HORRENDOUS! Luna Park fired up at 8.30pm and got progressively louder towards midnight at which point the volume reduced slightly but continued until 2am! Some reviews are clearly very generous of the Luna Park noise which was simply UNBEARABLE! Some nights having a conversation meant sitting two feet apart whilst shouting to each other.

On site, the site rules regarding noise between 10pm – 7am were NOT enforced. On three nights several nearby pitches completely disregarded the noise rules and on the final occasion we spoke directly to site security at 1am (yes 1am), whereby he started by explaining about the previous night. Apparently a beach rave had entered the site via one of the beach entrances and 45 youngsters had revelled in the site wash blocks! This was a worrying explanation of the previous night noise - and at this point we became gravely concerned that the site has a distinct lack of control and that personal family safety was a major concern. Security went then went on to explain that every half hour he asked people to be quiet. Realistically we could see that site security were unable to enforcing site rules and that the campsite was running into dangerous grounds with drunk and unruly behaviour that we so desperately tried not to believe!

In addition to this, the site runs a midnight to 5am underground adults disco, so getting any sleep was nearby impossible. Between 2am and 5am was quieter after Luna Park shutdown but at the disco kick out time, drunken revellers chanted loudly and shouted on their return to their pitches. On two mornings we were woken by loud car wheel spinning noise, which seemed to be nearby but external to the site.

There are several entry points to the site, only one by road with a car control pin code barrier, three beach entrances of which only one with pin code access. We were never challenged, day or night on foot at the main site entrance and the two uncontrolled beach access points were exactly that, not patrolled at any time so anyone could enter.
We discussed our concerns with the site receptionists on three occasions and were promised a visit by the site director which never happened. Night time noise was the major concern in addition to the two occasions of human excrement being plastered around the wash block.
Leaving early from this site was our best decision.

We should point out that on our day of leaving we informed Camping Le Soleil reception of such and after pressing the point of our dissatisfaction did actually receive a refund for our unused stay. We were surprised that we received a refund but it didn’t compensate us for the lack of 7 days sleep and a stay that we will only remember for the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotpotatoes247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Client,
We understand that you had a bad time with us as you decided to leave the camping before the end of your stay.
It was the least we could do to refund you.
Yes indeed Lunapark's noise is a real issue. We know it and we work to try to find ways to reduce it.
However, even if we believe you are telling your experience as you live it, we cannnot agree with the night time descritpion you gave of our campgroung.
The night club was created to gather all youngsters ( who are coming with their families) at night time and prevent them for hang aroung with no place to go.
It is true that some of them can be noisy when they get out but we do our best to keep it under control.
All camping services (including the night club) are strictly reserved to our clients and that is why you had to wear a band during your holidays.
We know nothing of 45 Young people coming in at night.
Wash blocks are cleaned 3 times a day, including from 11pm to 5am every night! It is not impossible that irrespectfull people leave it dirty sometimes but we are sure it did not stay like that for a very long time.
It is a pity you could not meet the direction as we do not "hide" from unhappy customers. We want to believe it is a lack of communication in our staff and this has to be improved.
Be sure that we are really sorry that your vacation were spoilt.
Best regards.
Jacques Miquel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday, the campsite is lovely, staff friendly and the pool area was brilliant with most people being considerate and not leaving towels on the sunbeds if they weren't actually in the pool area. The proximity to the beach is wonderful and the views of the Pyrenees stunning. We wouldn't hesitate to go back if it wasn't for the nightly noise from Luna Park from 9pm till approx 1am. It didn't seem to bother a lot of people and we met many people who go every year despite the noise. With a combination of earplugs and wine it didn't spoil our holiday though I did miss the evening peace you tend to get with campsites. Canvas cancelled the kids club without bothering to tell us but the French animation team were great and the kids loved the mini disco and the bouncy castle etc. Canvas reps were very nice and did what they could for us, though the administration side back in England were a bit slack not even bothering to mention that the kids club was no more and that the campsite had changed the rules to speedo's or budgie smugglers only. Overall it was a fantastic holiday and we will be going back next year to a campsite nearby but without the night time noise. If we ever go out of season when Luna Park is not on then we would definitely go back to Camping le Soleil. If we went back we would book direct with the site as their mobile homes are laid out much better and much cheaper or we would take our tent and get one of the pitches under the pines backing on to the beach.

Room Tip: Book direct with the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheadleHulmeSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for writing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are happy that you had a great time with us despite the noise coming from the nearby Lunapark. We know it is a real problem and we keep fighting it.
Thank to underline the kindness of both campsite and canvas site. It is really important to us.
We really hope to see you one more time.
Best regards
Jacques Miquel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
588 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Acajou
Hotel Acajou
#6 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#3 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argeles
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argele...
#7 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
633 reviews
3.7 mi away
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
#4 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
911 reviews
3.5 mi away
Camping Le Romarin
Camping Le Romarin
#24 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Le Soleil

Address: route du Littoral | 66702, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Argeles-sur-Mer
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Le Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Also Known As:
Camping Le Soleil Hotel Argeles-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing