We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis near the town centre”
Review of Camping Les Pins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Argeles-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Les Pins
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a pleasant peaceful site with good facilities, a lovely pool and pleasant staff a very short distance from the centre of Argeles Plage. There is a supermarket and patisserie just outside the gate and the beach is a 5 minute walk.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank francophile07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived back from camping les pins with Siesta yesterday 13.09.2013. Holiday dates were 04.09.2013 - 13.09.2013. First of all our hostess on the way down was rude. Drivers said we didn't get a break after the crossing and went from 1.30pm - 9pm without a stop. We arrived at 9am to a dirty cabin. No site facilities were open apart from pool and laundry room (says limited in brochure) Bar and take away are independently run. The owner had decided to go on holiday. The Siesta reps had given us their own time tables of the euro bus times into the local city. These are wrong (go and get your own from the local tourist office). That is if you can get on euro bus at all as you have to fight your way on! After September 04th no excursions are run from the site. All local attractions (aqua park, pedalos, trains etc have also closed for the season) Shops are also closing down. There are also a lot of hidden charges gas, electric, BBQ and air conditioning. A cleaning deposit is also required. The day before your departure you are given a list of different things that Siesta expect you to do. These include cleaning windows, toilets, sweeping and moping of the floors. Upon departure day you have to wait out side your cabin until a Siesta rep comes and checks that you have actioned everything on the list otherwise you do not get your deposit back. Your luggage is also left outside all day until the coach arrives.
The site is lovely and the pool is warm and area tidy. Argeles is beautiful and things are priced reasonable.
I do feel that Camping Les Pins deserves another go. In the high season ONLY (July and August) and NOT with Siesta!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ok myself and my husband are just back from a 7 night stay at this site with Siesta. It is our second time with Siesta, we went to the other French resort last September at Port Grimaud so I will probably end up comparing the two but this is a totally honest review of this site and the resort.
First off Siesta drivers, coach hostesses were all spot on and so professional and all the timings were spot on as well. We got there at 8am on the first day and expected a good wait until our lodge would be ready, however Ashley the site Manager who runs the Siesta side with his wife Emma said that our lodge was all ready so that was a massive bonus. The Siesta lodges are all in a sort of horse shoe shape situated opposite the bar/entertainment area and very close to the pool area. We arrived on 28th August and the first few nights there was entertainment but then it finished on September 1st. The bar was open and still serving drinks but then it closed down completely the day we left and the site was still open until the 28th September so something to think about if you are going late in the season. The entertainment is all in French and catered directly at young children and its really quite strange with the staff just parading around in different outfits. But it Is loud and the music is on until midnight. This didn't bother us in the slightest and it finished anyway after 2 nights but the family opposite us who left on day 2 of our holiday were extremely unhappy and had complained bitterly about the noise...the family were a grown up group but said they couldn't sleep and then the bar staff woke them up on a morning talking loudly in French...they said the other two families who had left the day we arrived both agreed and by all accounts I got the impression that they given the reps a hard time. All I can say is I am just glad they all went home as we arrived as I wouldn't have wanted to be a part that at all... I had to laugh when the day they left it all stopped anyway! So going as late as we did we had no neighbours, all the lodges around us were empty, great for us but that might not suit people who are looking to make friends with other families.
There is a takeaway attached to the bar but again this all shut down after day 2 of our arrival. We had food from there on our second night and it was really lovely but please do not be expecting lots of choice, its a very small menu with a few salads and a few burger options and that's it. Port Grimaud has 3 restaurants on site and the choice is amazing. However just outside the main entrance of Les Pins you have every possible food option within a 5 minute walk and nearly all food places in Argeles offer take away.
The pool area is superb at this site, Port Grimaud doesn't have a pool but this one at Les Pins is lovely. Its a large square pool with a baby pool attached and there are 3 water slides in a row on a separate bit. The first few days of our holiday we really struggled to get sunbeds as people would go and put towels on and then go off for a few hours! I absolutely hate that and I have to say it was a mixture of French and English who were the guilty ones. However after day 3 the site emptied and we had the pool to ourselves on several days which was bliss. There is no drinks allowed around the pool and no surfing style shorts and they are strict about this.
Ashley and Emma the managers are delightful, the siesta office has a lot of useful information about getting out and about and local markets etc and the Euro Bus.
Argeles itself is a lovely resort full of shops, bars and restaurants and the beachfront is particularly lovely in the evenings, its a very vibrant, buzzy place. I was a bit concerned about a few comments saying it was tacky and full of fast food places....that was there if you wanted but then next door you would get a lovely Italian restaurant where you could have a 3 course meal. We really liked a few restaurants which I will review separately. Do be warned though again on September 1st the resort totally changed and it became a lot quieter, perfect for us but might not suit everyone. We took a boat ride to Colliere one day, can highly recommend this lovely fishing village, very French and very stunning. Yes Argeles is a purpose built resort and not as high end as Port Grimaud but its much cheaper than Port Grimaud and very laid back and relaxed. It was shorts, casual clothing and no airs and graces at this resort which is exactly what we were looking for. Loads more we didn't get round to doing inc the old village, Perpinguan etc. That's why we have already decided to book again for the same time next year. We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrsg3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have just returned having spent 12 nights on the site having chosen this site as a base for our summer holiday and where we could also travel to Perpignan to watch our rugby league team play. Arrived to find everthing ready for us and the accomodation better than expected. We upgraded last minute to a deluxe mobile home as it had two bathrooms and toilets a must as we had 6 in the party including two teenage boys. The camp itself had a good size pool and a bar with a lovely view of the Pyrennese. the onsite bar providing some tacky evening stuff for the French kids mainly although there was a disco once a week. We did use the bar occassionally but it was quite expensive. We prefered to drink our own beer and wine on our decking.when we had an evening in.

The siesta homes are situated in the centre of the site so everything was close by. Past reviews about the noise did not materialise and by 11.45 everything quietened down.

At the entrance of the campsite is the road through Argeles which has some shops and bars and there is a local intermarche for the few bits you may need. We drove to the local hypermarket to stock up on the beer soft drinks and breakfast stuff and found the prices and choices much better than the local markets. The best value was the local wine coop where they filled our plastic water bottles at just over a euro per litre!

Argeles Sur Mer is a little tacky especially at night and has the usual boring gift shops and out door craft market. The sea does shelve steeply so its not really suitable for young children.

Meals out are a little pricey although we did find a lovely buffet place where you can eat your fill for €16. It was top stuff too! Otherwise you can go into town if you want to eat out where a pizza costs around €10 or a steak €16 and the beer €5 for half a litre. If you want traditional english nosh the George and Dragon in the centre is good value at €8.50 for a meal and its has the only sky sports in the resort!

If you want to venture out there is pretty Couliere just down the coast which you can get to on the euro bus or you can catch a boat at the harbour which is a nice way to get there. Alternatively Perpignan is also worth a visit and is about 30 minutes away by car.

The staff on site are very nice and helpfull although vacating the mobile at the end of the week was a little stressful. We did clean the van before vacating but the on site Manager was a little fussy and requested we missed a bit. It must be pointed out that siesta do not provide any cleaning materials to do this so it did put a little dampener on things as we left.

Overall a smashing holiday with lots of chilling out around the pool and on our decking with the BBQ going some nights. Some of the previous reviews do not do this site justice. While the camp is certainly no 4 star it does justify its 3 star rating and its location is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barrye54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having extended our 14 night stay to 17 we are just about to leave!
All 4 reps lovely- have local knowledge and are on hand by phone or in office.
Accommodation was a Siesta 4 which was quite tired looking inside but had a nice decked area which we spent most of our time when at the caravan. Needs a bigger freezer as only had a tiny top of fridge one!
Siesta have the best location for the pool - which is new this year and very nice! Found seats/loungers every day we were at the pool within a short time.
Beach 5 min walk away and is miles long- no problem finding somewhere to sit! Not fine sand though and wind and waves really get going in the afternoon - watch your parasol and blow up rings etc!!
Poor entertainment laid on by site owners- all in French and little variety - music ok and all ends at 11.30. No noise after 12 on site at all.. We have no small children though so might be different if we had.
Didn't eat on site so no idea what food was like. .... LOTS of restaurants within 5 mins walk and nice evening craft market. All shops open on beach front until very late... Very buzzing atmosphere.
Lots of traffic getting in and out of the area every day at certain times - people coming to beach or leaving which can be a pain!!
Overall a great time and weather pretty much perfect. Hot and very sunny!!
Siesta are far cheaper than most well known companies so will be using them again I'm sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The campsite isn't clean and you have to clean the accommodation yourselves by 9 am on your last day then sit around all day waiting for the coach home which you have no set time for and nowhere to go until its displayed. The pool is far to small for the ratio of holiday makers and there is no shade or sunbeds to sit on. All men are forced to wear budgie smugglers otherwise not allowed in the pool! The entertainment is totally French so not suitable for English families. You have extra hidden costs including safety deposits, barbeque and cleaning bills it's the worst holiday camp we have been to we wouldn't go again even if they payed us!!! Avoid at all costs!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We again visited Caping Les Pins, Argeles this year and faithfully booked with Siesta Holidays, I say faithfully because because everytime we have booked with them they have never let us down. We stayed at les pins for 12 days from the 22 June 13. We knew the layout of the site etc so nothing new there, swimming pool, table tennis, bar, limited restaurant, laundry, hot showers but we probably went a week too early as it was very quite. They do run an entertainment program for both adults and children but that only starts from July onward. The weather was brilliant so no complaints there but the site itself was so quite compared to when we visited last year in mid July. We stayed in a brand new Siesta 5 Mobile Home, so new you could still smell the paint, lovely mobile home and so clean, I wouldn't expect anything else as the 2 reps Emma and Ash are meticulous in the standard they require, a lovely couple who always make time for all their guests, stopping for a chat etc, a credit to Siesta Holidays. Although quite on the site the strip was still busy with people and the vast array of eating places all seemed to have a crowd in,so many places to eat and drink in Argeles. So much to do around this area and with a little bit of adventure you will not be short for a day out or a lazy day on the beautiful beech, which ever you prefer A lovely break overall but maybe just a tad quite on the first week. Will I go back? most definitely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#4 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
#4 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
911 reviews
1.9 mi away
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
#12 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
#17 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
436 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camping La Pinede Enchantee
Camping La Pinede Enchantee
#46 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
68 reviews
1.9 mi away
Camping Domaine des Mimosas
Camping Domaine des Mimosas
#45 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Les Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Les Pins

Address: Avenue du Tech, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range: $22 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, 300 metres from the 7 km-long sandy beach , at the foot of the massif of Albera where the Pyrenees meet the sea, in a unique setting of peace and greenery, the Sunelia Les Pins campsite welcomes you from early April until early October at Argeles sur Mer for the holiday with family or friends you have always dreamt about. Forget your car during your holiday: shops within a short walking distance; crafts market, pedestrian streets and different forms of leisure activities nearby. Discover the camping site’s aquatic area for a relaxing break in a wonderful setting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing