We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Saint Germain En Laye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Saint Germain En Laye
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Surprise! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We were not expecting much from this hotel, but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was fine. Clean and presentable. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the limited food choices offered very good main courses at a reasonable price. We would have no hesitation in staying at this or another Campanile again in the future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Elansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    58
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
24
42
12
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. Staff were excellent. We chose to stay here as a base for two days sightseeing in Paris. The hotel is just a few minutes drive from the RER at St Germain-en-Laye so made a gat starting point. The rooms were very clean and quite and the food in the hotel restaurant was good and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back look out over lovely green fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marshan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Finally a good Campanile! After two very grim old-school Campaniles we thought we'd give this 'new generation' version a final chance.

The receptionist welcomed us warmly, the room was very clean, the third-person bed, while pull-out, was more substantial than in old Campaniles and offered a proper duvet!

Hotel restaurant was closed in evening for some reason so walked to La Criee poissonerie over the road which was fantastic. Highly recommend that. Cross road, go up past side of Rock Club, turn right down what looks like a back alley and eventually you'll see La Criee on right (or drive there and park).

Hotel also very close to a centre commercial with supermarket, shops and selection of restaurants.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lau_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here one night while cycling London to Paris. Ground floor rooms meant we could store cycles easily outside our room. Accommodation newly refurbished modern shower with rainfall head and hand held spray, and clean comfortable bed, providing everything we needed. Reception/bar duty manager very friendly and helpful. TV tea and coffee facilities and biscuits provided. Good nights sleep all at a fair price. Breakfast extra but worth it with a good selection at buffet.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms at back very quiet. Shutters add security and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fenrotherwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

For the money, it's difficult to find fault with this Campanille. I've stayed here many times over the years as it is so convenient for our offices in the nearby village of Chambourcy. In the past couple of years the hotel has had a facelift, and it is now better presented than many more expensive hotels I've stayed in. Rooms are clean and contain everything you need - a comfortable bed, desk, free wi-fi, TV, bath with shower, even tea and coffee making facilities. This is not a luxury hotel, so rooms have basic decoration, are not overly spacious, and don't have much privacy as windows look straight out on to the balcony walkway... but the latter is easily remedied by use of the electric shutters. Walls are not particularly soundproof and I was woken during the night with sounds of the occupant of the neighbouring room apparently rearanging all of their furniture.

Like the rooms, the reception area and linked restaurant are compact, but clean and provide a small lounge area and bar.Staff are friendly and helpful. Apart from the slightly disturbed night's sleep, the only other reason I didn't give this an 'excellent' rating is that my combined bath/shower tap refused to stay in shower mode for more than a minute or two and so I ended up having a bath, and a colleague who also stayed on the same evening reports he had a similar problem on his previous stay. However I will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the staircases as they are more likely to be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temple1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

First time at a Campanile and we were very pleasantly surprised. The room (motel style) was bright and airy with a small but nice shower room and had everythinq we needed for an overnight stay. There was even a voucher for a free drink at the hotel bar. We ate at the hotel restaurant as the hotel isn't in the centre of St Germain and again we were pleassantly surprised. There was an excellent cold buffet for starters and dessert and the main courses were cooked to order. It was well priced and of a good quality. The restaurant was amazingly busy, so obviously Campanile have a Good reputation for food in France. Breakfast was 9 euros and again a very good buffet was served. Overall I would recommend this Campanile to anyone wanting an overnight stop en route South or a visit to the nearby Versailles. We will use Campaniles again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JobellsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

The job, in my case, being a simple, reasonably-priced, one-night stopover near friends in St Germain. I was taking my elderly mother to see them too, and the hotel was just what we wanted: quiet, convenient, everything easy to understand, internet (though Campaniles' generally have a rather slow connection), very friendly and helpful, welcoming staff. Most, possibly all, spoke English though I like making heroic efforts at a sort of Edward Heath-type French. Breakfast was great. We also stayed at the Campanile in Le Vesinet and one of them - or possibly both - had window blinds instead of curtains which my Mum didn't like cos it makes the room very dark. I didn't mind at all, but it might be worth passing that on. It's very easy to get into St Germain from here and Chambourcy is a walk. Parking right outside room.

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank MWainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Germain-en-Laye
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mercure Paris Ouest Saint Germain
Hotel Mercure Paris Ouest Saint ...
#3 of 5 in St-Germain-en-Laye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pavillon Henri IV
Pavillon Henri IV
#1 of 5 in St-Germain-en-Laye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cazaudehore et La Forestiere
Cazaudehore et La Forestiere
#2 of 5 in St-Germain-en-Laye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Louveciennes
B&B Hotel Louveciennes
#1 of 2 in Louveciennes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Chambourcy Saint Germain
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Orgeval
Ibis Budget Orgeval
#2 of 4 in Orgeval
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Saint Germain En Laye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Saint Germain En Laye

Property: Campanile Saint Germain En Laye
Address: 6 allee de Pomone route Nationale 13, 78100 St-Germain-en-Laye, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > St-Germain-en-Laye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St-Germain-en-Laye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Saint Germain En Laye 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Louvre hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Saint Germain En Laye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing