We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Me and my friends booked 3 rooms at hotel Campanile St Denis in August 2011.After booking it we read the comments on this site and we felt very uncomfortable with our decision.The rooms were non-refundable so we had no choice but to go.I gotta tell you the hotel exceeded my expectations and I am sorry I will disagree with the bad reviews .
Location: Right near the metro station Basilique St Denis with a direct line to Champs Elysees (M 13).Around the area there are small shops,a KFC,Carrefour just across the street ,a very good chinesse restaurant 1 min. away
Hotel Facilities: clean lobby,elivator,1 restaurant ( serves a good breakfast ) first floor rooms are ocupied by families,the 2d and 3d are open for guests
Rooms: I booked a triple room and 2 double rooms.My triple was actually a double room with an extra bed,not ok for 3 adults to stay in.I sat down on the extra bed and it broke so..I'll recommend it for 2 adults and a child.When we moved to the 3d floor we found the rooms to be larger,cleaner,very ok actually: coffee/tea making facilities,clean bathroom,nice and comfortable queen size bed,heater.We were very pleased with the rooms at the 3d floor
Staff: The manager of the hotel speaks english,she was helpful and smiling all the time .Not everybody speaks english though so it will be helpfull to know a few words in french

Overall it was a great value for the money,good hotel for budget travellers and I will return here for sure.

Room Tip: Probably it will be best not to adventure youRself in the neighborhood after 8 pm The 3d floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camelia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 219 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2010

We booked this hotel for a weekend in June 2010. The idea was for us to drive from London to (nearly) Paris and stay in a hotel with a car park. We thought we would then use the metro to commute in and out. I wanted to drive as I hardly ever use my car and wanted to stretch it’s legs so to speak. We looked at the reviews on Trip Adviser and it seemed fit for propose. This hotel is described as Paris Nord. It may well be to the North of Paris but Paris it certainly is not. This started to become clear when I was looking into the route and could not find the hotel on the Campanile web site. I soon realised that it is in fact on the site but not listed as a ‘Paris’ hotel as it’s not located in Paris. When I looked closer at the TA reviews upon our return the penny began to drop, other TA users were (not all) reviewing the wrong hotel. I think they were thinking of the Campanile located nearer to the centre. This is a very easy mistake to make.
If you look through the reviews, the people that mention the parking or the proximity to the Stade de France are probably referring to the correct hotel. The others that say it’s near the metro or are in the least complimentary about the hotel, are almost certainly talking about another hotel.

This hotel is located in St Denis which frankly, can only be described as a slum. Immediately in front of the hotel is a dual carriageway and just beyond that a rather horrible section of the Seine. The motorway passes over the road on a bridge a few hundred metres away. The metro is at least a mile away which normally would be no bother at all. Except here there are no pavements to walk on, just filthy muddy streets with litter and rubbish everywhere. To walk to the station you have to pass the equivalent of the DHSS with crowds of rather unsavoury people waiting outside. These people are drunk or high and are fighting and arguing amongst themselves, until you approach, then you are of far greater interest. You finally arrive in the centre of St Denis which is just plain awful. Crack-addicts, prostitutes and gangs are all you will find here. This is just not Paris, no romantic leafy streets, no cafés, no accordion music to be heard, just terrible.

Now for the hotel itself:
It’s horrible. Smelly, dirty, stuffy and just plain nasty. The staff are rude and arrogant. They have that air of arrogance that you just don’t find in France anymore. My wife was bitten by an insect in the tiny double bed and her leg swelled significantly. We spent one night here and moved hotel.
As for the parking, this consists of only eight alleged parking spaces that are in fact simply the pavement outside the hotel. If you are lucky enough to find a space you will have to bump you car up a nine inch kerb stone. If you are unlucky and do not find a space, there is literally nowhere to park, I mean nowhere.
An interesting point about booking, if you book on Campanile’s web site you will pay almost double the normal rate that anyone walking off the street would pay.

I would add that we have stayed in various Campanile hotels over the years while on route to or from Italy and this is an exception. Normally they are cheap and clean and excellent value for money.
Oh, and if you want to cancel your internet booking you simply cannot, their system just doubles back on itself in a loop and you cannot cancel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonHomesafes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

As we needed a hotel close to Stade de France it served well, at reasonable price. Staff were ok, not too friendly (probably due to language barrier, their English was not really fluent) but still we managed to get some answers , rooms rather small but reasonably clean, apart from bathroom tub that was rather yellowish at some parts.
It is some 15 min walking distance from the stadium and we were given (by staff member) a printed out map of the area and it was rather easy to find.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The room was small and nothing special. Staff was ok. Location was excellent with a Metro stop steps away and some food and shopping options surrounding the hotel. Breakfast was good with a few more choices than expected. Free Wi-Fi was helpful. They will normally not hold baggage after checkout but we got lucky as the clerk made an exception for us. Overall, good value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmg2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Book the "racket rate" for the best price if available. Area looks and is run very down, though the Hotel is modern and for the price was good. Limited car parking. Would not advise walking in the area after dark or on your own if you do not know where you are going. Dress down, leave cars empty!

Hotel staff were good, helpful and made you feel welcome and spoke English, less the night porter who gave you the impression that all guests were a pain!

Rooms were satisfactory, breakfast was fine. Not far (10 min walk) from the Carrefour Pleyel Metro stop, same distance to the Stade de France. Hotel with give you a marked map.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelinone16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank ChristelleetCyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tenedosbozcaada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Denis hotels
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Paris Saint Denis Pleyel
1.2 mi away
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
#3 of 17 in Saint-Denis
406 reviews
1.2 mi away
HotelF1 Saint Denis Stade
HotelF1 Saint Denis Stade
#12 of 17 in Saint-Denis
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Saint-Denis Stade Ouest
Ibis Saint-Denis Stade Ouest
#5 of 17 in Saint-Denis
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Paris Saint Denis Stade Basilique
1.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Paris Stade de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel

Address: 2, Quai De St-Ouen Et 2, Bd De La Liberation, 93284 Saint-Denis, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Saint-Denis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Price Range: $56 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE SEINE RIVERSIDE!A warm welcoming awaits you at reception, where the whole staff will do its best to make your stay great.Enjoy a good night with our new high-class beds in one of our 71 rooms (which can receive up to 5 persons). You will find a complete bathroom with shower & bath, hair-dryer; each room is equipped with a LCD TV (french and english channels), a desk, a phone, a wardrobe, and they are all air conditionned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing