We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paris Marriott Charles de Gaulle Airport Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Roissy-en-France
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
525 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice, but Expensive”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I would like to give this good-looking property a higher rating. The staff certainly was nice and efficient, even though I got the sense one woman behind the counter would have preferred my wife and I stay and eat there, instead of in the nearby village. But this is a very expensive place for what you get. The rooms are clean and bright, not amazing. The lobby is beautiful, and we had a very pricey lunch there, with a wine that clearly cost much more than it was worth. By evening, I decided to wander across the pretty little park next door to the village of Roissy-en-France--a five minute transformation from commercial airport hotels to a lovely French community where there are some restaurants and cafes, and a cozy little neighborhood store where you can buy produce, cheeses, wines and other groceries at basic prices. The shuttle to the airport worked well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagnato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    353
    161
    63
    22
See reviews for
123
238
63
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

On our second trip through CDG on the way to Amsterdam we decided to try the Marriott restaurant, after being ignored in the Mercure. We initially stopped in the bar where we received great service and good wine, at only a bit more than non-airport locations. We moved into the restaurant, which at 7pm was mostly empty and were seated by Yann the maitre-de hotel at a table of our choice overlooking the courtyard. We ordered the reasonably priced 35euro fixed-prix menu which started with a lovely salad including tomatoes that had been blanched, pealed and chilled. Then the restaurant suddenly filled up and the staff struggled to keep up. Our two dishes of venison and duck were beautifully present with a deep rich sauces but unfortunately warm not hot even though the plates were very hot, indicating to me that the food had cooled before being plated. By then the restaurant was full and the customers were not being fed.

However, Yann was doing everything he could to satisfy the diners, and adjusted our bill to compensate for the delays. So- despite the problems, the staff was friendly and trying hard, the quality of the food excellent, and the flavors as good as anything we have had in France over the last month. If you are stuck in CDG drop in and give them a try. In spite of the problems of one evening they are a step above the dry duck and fries elsewhere in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtinbreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The good - the bed is very comfortable.
So -so - food at the restaurant, room is very pleasant
Not good - staff at restaurant - while pleasant and courteous, very forgetful and inattentive. Sorry, happened every day and various staff - it wasn't a one-off.
Lousy - Internet!!! Can't hold a connection. Unbelievably slow in the evening, non existent at night.And we are paying for this 'service'. How dare this establishment calls itself a 'business' hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kestral120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
289 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

As a platinum member and a long time fan of the Marriott brand, I have to ask, what are you thinking?!
I stay here at CDG regularly, the new lobby/bar area is nice, the staff as always warm and welcoming.
The hotel is slipping:
1. There is no longer an executive lounge. My colleages and I used to meet there and it was nice to have a private area to gather that was quiter than the main lobby.
2. The bathrooms on the executive floor need work, it's time to spend the money to clean them up. The shower groute is looking dirty, the paint is peeling off the bathroom door.

Now these certainly aren't major issues, but this hotel gets a premium in price and is a Main line Marriott property. I expect more.

Room Tip: All in all a very quiet hotel all the rooms I have stayed in were equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthbound-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Disappointing for a Marriott branded property. This used to be a Courtyard by Marriott which is more appropriate. I would rather be pleasantly surprised by a Courtyard hotel than be disappointed with expectations of a Marriott branded property. Marriott has tried to upgrade the property but it still falls short of delivering the quality a traveler might expect from a hotel carrying the flagship brand.

The hotel lobby, restaurant and lounge have recently been refreshed, but the overall appearance ambiance of being in a Marriott hotel is absent. The restaurant is mediocre and service in the restaurant and lounge is almost non-existent. I sat in the bar area for about 20 minutes waiting to be served before I finally approached the bar to order. After my food and drink arrived, I was never asked if I wanted another drink. At the end of the meal, I again had to go to the bar to pay rather than my bill being delivered. The menu in the restaurant is eclectic but the bar menu is a reasonable option.

The morning breakfast has a nice selection, but expensive.

The hotel rooms have refreshed with Marriott style carpeting and furniture, but the bathrooms are in desperate need of an upgrade…especially the peeling paint on the bathroom door.
Some writers have mentioned the challenge with the bus from the airport. The first time is very confusing but that is not necessarily the fault of the hotel. Although the hotel is quite close to the airport, it takes quite awhile to arrive at the hotel because the bus stops at multiple hotels along the route since it is not a dedicated bus to Marriott. The alternative is to take a taxi, but be prepared to pay 25 to 30 Euros.

Those of you that stay at Marriott branded hotels frequently should also know that the Concierge lounge has been closed. It was a primary reason to stay at the hotel and probably the best feature.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

LIKED:
- close to airport and easy reach by car from the north of Paris (Brussels, Amsterdam)
- big parking (underground)
- big lobby, big convention rooms, bar
- convenient for meetings
- decent rooms
- fitness center: small shop instead of mini-bar
- Choice for breakfast
- Coffee breaks (for meetings) offers a variety of refined snacks! Well done ;))
DIDN'T LIKE:
- It seems the shuttle bus between the airport, the RER/Metro system and the hotel area is running late...some colleagues have waited for one hour to get it. So not convenient if you plan to send your wife (or husband) to Paris while you work, or if you plan to enjoy Paris by night. Taxi is an option to town (traffic jams though) but may taxis refuse to pick up clients from airport to hotels (to short for them). This problem applies to ALL hotels in the area anyway.
- Good quality hotel but the rooms have that usual low quality, 'prefab' feel typical of most suburban French hotels (thin walls, cheap look bathroom), plus no mini-bar, no slippers or bathrobe. Nothing serious but worth mentioning.
- Rush to the breakfast restaurant in peak hours, so lots of 'immediate' choices missing. Staff is quick but stressed out(for good reasons). Good choice in general.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierCBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed assuming the hotel had a free shuttle service and was near the airport. The shuttle service is a scheduled bus line, the Black Bus, which is not very frequent and makes many stops before the hotel. It is very hard to find (top level of the main subway station, up the stairs or elevator - no esacalator - out the door, across the road). In all, it can be a 15-20 minute walk. Keep in mind there are two train staitions at opposite ends of the airport. The shuttle service is so bad, the hotel offers a competing one for 18 Euros, said to save ten minutes.

CDG is already one of the least convenient airports, and the off-airport hotels are not convenient. The Sheraton is at the airport, and gets much higher rates as a result.

The hotel is no place, in the middle of a ghetto of off-site airport hotels. There is nowhere to eat other than the hotels. Keep in mind the tendency of the French to chat incessantly with desk clerks while you wait in line, and to bus drivers while you are waiting for the bus to leave, and allow extra time.

The door to my room would not lock, so maintenence was not good acceptable.

Remember you will be charged a great deal for internet, which is free in cheaper Marriott brands.

Don't drive to the hotel, since it is hard to find.

If you have several hours, you can take the shuttle to the airport and the subway to Paris. Get off at Terminal 1 and take the internal people mover to terminal 3 for the subway. The subway from CDG is quite expensive, but a taxi would be rediculous unless you are on an expense account.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipper090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roissy-en-France
2.0 mi away
Pullman Paris Roissy CDG Airport
Pullman Paris Roissy CDG Airport
#1 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Paris Roissy CDG
Novotel Suites Paris Roissy CDG
#3 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Convention & Wellness Roissy CDG
Novotel Convention & Wellness Ro...
#4 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Paris Charles de Gaulle Airport
Hilton Paris Charles de Gaulle A...
#2 of 5 in Tremblay-En-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Paris CDG Airport Roissy
Ibis Styles Paris CDG Airport Ro...
#2 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Paris Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Sheraton Paris Airport Hotel & C...
#11 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paris Marriott Charles de Gaulle Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Marriott Charles de Gaulle Airport Hotel

Property: Paris Marriott Charles de Gaulle Airport Hotel
Address: 5 Allee du Verger | Zone Hoteliere, 95700 Roissy-en-France, France (Formerly Paris Charles de Gaulle Airport Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Roissy-en-France
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Roissy-en-France
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roissy-en-France
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paris Marriott Charles de Gaulle Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close by the CDG Airport, the Marriott Paris Charles de Gaulle is ideal for Paris travelers. We are pleased to offer a free private shuttle service to/from the airport, very convenient for travelers from Roissy CDG. Our 4 stars hotel is ideally located to attend to the Paris Nord Villepinte and Paris-Le Bourget tradeshows. Elegance, style, and unparalleled convenience - the Paris Charles de Gaulle Airport Marriott Hotel offers all of this and more for your visit to the City of Light. Business and leisure guests alike will appreciate our superb hotel location in the heart of the Roissy-en-France village. In a bright and refined atmosphere, discover our Restaurant-Bar "Le Trivium" offering a delicious "Bistronomique" Cuisine with authentic flavors. Try our coffee shop "Biscotti" - We Proudly Serve by Starbucks where you will find a selection of amazing coffees from around the world and enjoy our homemade pastries and sandwiches. Chic rooms boast luxurious bedding and high-speed Internet access; our one-bedroom suite includes a sofa bed, adding flexibility to your Paris visit. Discover our brand new equipment within our Fitness Center and connect your smartphones to track your performances and those from your friends. If you're hosting a meeting here, our hotel offers several refined venues, including three modern and versatile Next Generation meeting rooms. Be sure to spend time exploring the area during your visit as well : downtown Paris is only half an hour away via train, and the new Aeroville Shopping Mall including 200 shops, 16 restaurants and 1 movie theater is only 5 minutes away from the hotel. Families will also appreciate the proximity of Disneyland Paris (25 km) and Asterix theme parks (15 km). Plan your voyage of discovery with help from the Paris Charles de Gaulle Airport Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Paris Marriott Charles de Gaulle Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Roissy
Marriott Roissy
Roissy Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing