We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a city trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Paris Ouest - Nanterre - La Defense
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is alright to stay for a few days, e.g. for a city trip as we did. The rooms are clean but very small and there are no closets available. There is a quite big parking place which is free. Wifi is also free and worked well. Breakfast is good, it's worth the price of € 9.50. The area is quiet. It's about 15 minutes walk to the Nanterre-Préfecture RER station. It's a nice walk through a park and there are signs in the park that point you to that station. RER-A quickly takes you to the city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romain L, Directeur général at Campanile Paris Ouest - Nanterre - La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions pour votre avis sur notre hôtel.
Nous nous réjouissons d' avoir pu contribuer au bon déroulement de votre séjour.

C'est avec plaisir que nous vous accueillerons lors de votre prochain séjour,

Cordialement

Romain L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 218 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

I arrived at this place at around 9:30 in the evening after flying in from the UK. The hotel is located in what I would class as a very rough and dangerous area of Nanterre; in my opinion.

Once arrived and checked in we went to get some dinner in their "restaurant". It was closing in a few minutes and was greeted by a very rude waitress who asked what language I was speaking (in English) - a bit odd. She made a table up for us, slamming the cutlery down on the table. We decided, given her rudeness and the miserable sounding menu, that we would eat elsewhere.

Treking out into downtown Nanterre wasn't a great idea at that time of night - needless to say I (17st, 6ft 2) felt quite threatened by some of the characters there. I was offered drugs twice and was followed by a group of youths - not the hotels fault but it gives you some idea on its location.

The room was very basic, the air con didn't work, my room didn't get any wifi signal and there's no minibar.

Breakfast was fairly typical European stuff - bread, cheese, yoghurt - it was fine.

And the price to stay one night here - 140EUR.

Avoid, avoid, avoid.

Room Tip: My tip: choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisRedfearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay in Nanterre. Impressed by the cleanliness and the silence around. Definetely recommand to others.
The parking have enough places and it's closed during the night for unwanted visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edouarddesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Room was clean and well maintained, and recently furnished and remodelled. Rooms are on the small side but have A/C which is very useful in Paris in the summer. Basic furnishings. The hotel is located in an area that is mostly office buildings and housing. Nice park just accross the street, Not a lot of tourist sites around the hotel but a quiet area and close to the RER station (took us less than 10 minutes through the park) with quick service into the center of the city. 10 - 15 minutes (indirect) walk to La Defense.

Room Tip: People have written that there is noise from a party room, but it only happens on Saturday according...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 932Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great value, good food and friendly helpful staff. Not much around the local area but very easy travel to center of Paris by any of three routes. Fantastic service at information desk in local train station. Good free parking. Great!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

There is nothing negative to say about the hotel, it is a solid basic business hotel. Not more - not less. As others already stated here: no public training directly close to the hotel, all trains are 15 minutes walk away. Price: compared with hotels in La Defense the Campanile looks cheap, but the rooms are really tiny, beds are really small, not even a safe in the room and no cupboard. The room was clean, bathroom also ok.
Additional important to know: The Campanile seems to be cheap compared to Hotels in La Defense. I had to work in Courbevoie (in walking distance to La Defense, but opposite of Nanterre from La Defense), and due to the complex road system in La defense the Taxi to the hotel did cost me 45-50€ each day, meaning a much more expensive hotel in La defense would have been finally the better choice and would have given much more quality to my stay.
Summary: If all hotels are booked, then the Campanile is a real workaround for business travellers, maybe even for private if you add the costs of a taxi to the price. I assume a taxi to the next metro would be only 10-15€ one way, could be still an option if all other hotels are booked.
Due to the real tiny size of the rooms and the real basic setup I would judge the hotel never to be my first choice, but due to real clean+functional rooms a good workaround if nothing else is available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel is in the suburb of Paris - La Defance district. Rooms are basic but clean. There is a nice park near the hotel. The subway is rather far - 15 min walk, therefore we had to take a taxi from downtown to the hotel late in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kseniya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanterre
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Nanterre La Defense
0.0 mi away
L'Amandier
L'Amandier
#2 of 9 in Nanterre
134 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Rives de Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Nanterre La Defense
0.5 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#5 of 9 in Nanterre
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Paris Ouest - Nanterre - La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris Ouest - Nanterre - La Defense

Address: 20 avenue Pablo Picasso, 92000 Nanterre, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Nanterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Price Range: $56 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Paris Ouest - Nanterre - La Defense 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Campanile Paris Ouest - Nanterre - La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Paris Ouest-Nanterre-La Defense Hotel Nanterre
Campanile Hotel Nanterre
Nanterre Campanile Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing