We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday weekend 26th april - 29th. 4 girls in our 20s, i wanted to stay somewhere that was not extortionate as we were only there for the weekend but somewhere nice. At first we were really impressed, it was quite easy to get to from the Gare du Nord station using the RER. The hotel was literally right outside the station (theres 2 sides to the station so you have to be careful you come out the wrong side you wont see it) we stayed in the apartments, the first night was great, our apartment was lovely the toilet was a disappointment, was small and it smelt a little but nothing bleach (which we had to buy) couldn't fix. we had a few problems as there was no washing up liquid and we couldn't find cutlery but the guy at the reception was really helpful. we had wifi but if your on your phone literally every 5 mins or less you would have to sign back in, it wasn't consistent which was really annoying but on my laptop it was fine, they dont have lights just lamps which was weird but still ok) The next nights the person who was at reception wasn't helpful, almost slightly rude by the last night we were kind of happy to be leaving, its those little details that start to count the longer you stay. it was a good weekend stay, but i wouldn't have liked to stay longer than that

Room Tip: i was on the 6th floor, apparently the wifi works better if your lower so try to get a room on a low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 603 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights in my recent visit to paris.
rooms were big and spacious compared to the ones in switzerland. check in was fast and extremely near the RER. it is a good place to stay if you want to be near to paris, yet in a quieter place at night.
only complaint is that the buffet brealfast though the spread was good, it was terrible as they took so long to refill the food that on somedays we just gave up waiting. free wifi though!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hôtel Paris La Défense Parc . It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christelle de Giafferi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on a recent business trip to Paris. While the hotel has some positives, I can still not really recommend it.

Firstly, the positives: the staff were friendly and attentive. Check-in was quick and they resolved any problems I had. The hotel is also just steps away from the RER, making it convenient to get into Paris city.

However, these are not in line with the negatives of this place. With regards to the rooms - well, the halls and rooms smelled of smoke. There was a distinct 1970s feel, with shabby decor and cheap fittings. The breakfast was totally overpriced and frankly not very good. I would avoid it at all costs as there are better options nearby. The bed was uncomfortable and airco did not seem to work very well. I had it on the lowest temperature possible and was still sweating. Also, the internet connection is via a telephone provider meaning you have to constantly log-in which is just annoying. Lastly, the price was totally outrageous. I have no idea why, but this hotel has priced itself as a four star establishment, when I wouldn't give it more than two stars. Value for money, this is not. And I think it outrageous that they overcharge so much. I will not be back here if I can help it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear customers

We thank you for taking the time to leave a few comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Mercure Residence Defense Park.

We find that it does not fully give you satisfaction, we apologize.

Moreover, we have taken note of your comments regarding the room and the breakfast.
Be assured that corrective measures are already implemented to ensure a level of quality that meets your expectations, and regain your confidence in a future stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Mercure Residence Defense Park.

Best Regards

Christelle de Giafferi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at the hotel when I had a meeting in Nanterre. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport (on top of the RER station Nanterre-Préfecture).
Check-in was OK. The interior of the hotel is a somewhat old fashion but all services are available. Compared with the other Mercure hotels where I've staid, this one is below average, while it's price is certainly above average.
Had diner at the hotel restaurant. The service was flawless. The menu was very promising but the food quality was basic and not very creative. It should be easy to find a better restaurant in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hacrobaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hôtel Paris La Défense Parc .

I shared your comments with our team.
Be assured that corrective measures are already implemented to ensure a level of quality that meets your expectations, and regain your confidence in a future stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Waiting to welcome you again at Mercure Hôtel Paris La Défense Parc .

Sincerely,
Christelle de Giafferi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok for the price you pay, but if you want to visit Paris you should look for a hotel closer to the metro.
This one is located just next to a RER station, but to use the RER for a trip to the city costs about 1 euro more each way per person. It's really not much, but it's something especially if you are travelling in a bigger group.
Right next to the hotel there is a Franprix supermarket where you can buy groceries and drinks.
The rooms are clean and the staff is nice and all speak good english.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariusV81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Paris La Défense Parc . It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christelle de Giafferi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Important: The hotel's Internet [via Orange France] blocks VoiceIP and VPNS.
This is a split hotel, with two units separated by about 150m walk across a market square. Nanterre, La Defense, is a bit like how Canary Wharf would have looked with Peckham relocated to its center. As far as the facilities go, the two bedroom 'apartment style' rooms in the 'annex' are barely 2 star. I don't know who rates this as a 4 star hotel, but they have clearly never visited. They don't have steam irons in the room and on asking for one I was invited to go to reception (150 meters) and pick one up; it was a little strange carrying it across the market square. Room ventilation was ok because the windows open and it was cold outside - not sure how it would be in August. Cupboard space is inadequate and mine was filled with a duvet that looked like it had been slept in and left a few months. Food is at best average and breakfast a little tricky with a very tight dining area. There are no multi-international plugs, so remember to bring your adaptors if you aren't French. International TV choice is poor. Rooms are ageing and looked tired. Security in the 'annex' was non-existent other than an easily defeated key-card entry system. As for the internet - it BLOCKS VPNs and Voip software like Skype, which is useless for business travelers. There are great hotels in Paris but this isn't one of them.

Room Tip: If you are a business traveler book somewhere else. Otherwise insist on a room in the main hotel blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

For those of you that think staying out here is keeping you away from the action; don't be fooled! The hotel was hard to find as I was driving for the first time in Paris; but once I parked the car, I figured out that it is literally right on top of the local Metro station. The RER "A" line runs directly to the Nanterre Prefecture station. This is the same line that runs into downtown Paris in 15 minutes and also runs directly to Disneyland Paris. On Priceline.com, I lucked out and picked up a 1 night stay for $95 USD. Pretty darn good price to stay close to Paris. And, being a new hotel, the decor was fresh, the room comfortable, and there was even a free complimentary continental buffet breakfast! A good find!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rkwok68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanterre
1.3 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,968 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense
Mercure Paris La Defense
#6 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,259 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Paris La Defense Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arena Hotel la Defense
Arena Hotel la Defense
#8 of 9 in Nanterre
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
citizenM Paris La Defense
citizenM Paris La Defense
#199 of 1,805 in Paris
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel

Address: 17/20 Esplanade Ch. de Gaulle | Rue des Trois Fontanot, 92000 Nanterre, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Nanterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Price Range: $97 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel is located in the heart of the La Defense business district (3min by RER A). We are at 50m from Nanterre Prefecture RER A. We are at 10min from Champs Elysees and 15min from Opera and city center. Our hotel complex is perfect for every stay with standard and privilege rooms, studio and appartement for short or long stay. The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel has a bar, a restaurant with terrace and a fitness center. Our 11 modular meeting rooms are the perfect working environment for your meeting in La Defense. Free WIFI. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense Parc Hotel Nanterre
Mercure Hotel Nanterre
Accor Hotel Nanterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing