We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average hotel in Paris” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Residence Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Residence Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just average hotel in Paris”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel actually matches expectations for Mercure chain, we had a very good offer to stay on the hotel and the price after the offer with really good value for money.
the hotel location is very good, the breakfast buffet was excellent,
Room was average, it has all necessarily amenities but nothing impressive, except the good idea of separating the toilet from the bathroom.
reception staff were helpful.
parking is really expensive giving that you are already hotel guest, and location was not easy to reach giving that there is another building for Mercure apartments near by.
Anyway, it did the job very well as a place to stay in during our Paris visit.

Room Tip: 5th floor was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayman Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    174
    133
    67
    33
See reviews for
83
71
56
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Looking for a cheap solution to sleep in Paris, but don't care about the location or the "romantic" setting? This is the Hotel for you. Don't go for the standard prices but look for offers, which in fact correspond ultimately to the real value of the Hotel. The location is difficult to reach by car, even with a good GPS, and doesn't offer extremely nice surroundings, but you are just at the RER stop (Defence), only 15 minutes away from centre! Room are clean and offer an acceptable confort, with everything you might wish finding, but no more than that. Noise insulation is very bad from outside traffic. If you plan to visit Paris by car don't leave your car in the parking: they would charge you 17 euro for each dy or art of it. Andavoid to have breakfast there too: Paris offers a lot of more tasty opportunities i very nice locations; just have a tea inside your room and go o the centre!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms looking towards the RER, noise insulation being bad. Don't ask breakfast, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nanterre hotels

Iligan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As expected with this hotel chain, our room was relatively large with 2 comfortable beds & all amenities including complimentary coffee/tea & bottled water. As we were in a Cosmos tour group, breakfast buffet was included which was just ok. The hotel is not really centrally located but it's very near the Metro,hence very convenient if you want to go to certain attractions. Also, we were able to leave our luggage at the concierge after we checked out since we were going on a side trip to Lourdes after our tour & came back the following day. We tried to book a room on coming back but there was none available. However, they were very helpful because they accommodated us in another Mercure also in La Defense..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amethyst59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed there for work reasons in December 2011. Apparently is a good structure, rooms well furnished and cozy but really expensive (220€ for a double single use without breakfast). We arrived late, so we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. The surprise arrived with the main course....a little mouse was wandering into the dinner room without fear and regardless of our atonishment.  
We immediately informed the waiter, who at first pretended not to understand,
then, he called the head of the local but the effect was the
same, absolute indifferente, the lady was even annoyed by the fact that we were afraid for the presence
of the animal. A businessman, at the next table, smiling, told us that he had already met
the mouse during a previous stay, apparently the mouse lived there!
Was really difficult to complete the dinner!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My friend and I had two single rooms for 3 nights in May 2012. We found everything above expectations. Room size very large, included a microwave and free water. Quiet clean, large bath, separate toilet. We unfortunately travelled to the wrong Mercure to start with - that was a real time waster, which the Mercure Chain could have forwarned us, as they were ready with preplanned maps for travellers who'd done the same!!!! Also approached the wrong door at first, but
we would both recommend it highly and I am booking again for next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel was ok. For some reason we had an extra bed on our room. The coffee and thee facilities were nice. We also got a free bottle of water. I could hear the RER running under the hotel, but fortunately they don´t run after 1 am. I could not take a bath bacause there was no plastic stop to keep the water in the sink. You can consider to bring one from home.
We did not took the breakfast, because there was a nice bakery in front of the hotel (and a supermarket as well).

The mall 4 temps can by reachted by 1 metro stop, or by foot (15 minutes).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holland030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I would hardly call this hotel a fou star. We were only there one night, but the room was filthy. Toenail clippings on the floor and stains on the blanket that sat at the foot of the bed.

The check-in staff were not friendly and not all that helpful either. From what I've been told there are cheaper hotels that are more central and cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanterre
1.2 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense 5
Mercure Paris La Defense 5
#5 of 17 in Courbevoie
3.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#7 of 42 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#1 of 17 in Courbevoie
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#3 of 42 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
1.3 mi away
Qualys-Hotel Nanterre La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Residence Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche

Property: Hotel & Residence Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche
Address: Entree 20 17 Esplanade Charles de Gaulle | Rue des Trois Fontanot, 92000 Nanterre, La Defense, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Nanterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Residence Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel is located in the heart of the La Defense business district (3min by RER A). We are at 50m from Nanterre Prefecture RER A. We are at 10min from Champs Elysees and 15min from Opera and city center. Our hotel complex is perfect for every stay with standard and privilege rooms, studio and appartement for short or long stay. The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel has a bar, a restaurant with terrace and a fitness center. Our 11 modular meeting rooms are the perfect working environment for your meeting in La Defense. Free WIFI. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel & Residence Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense Parc Hotel Nanterre
Mercure Hotel Nanterre
Accor Hotel Nanterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing