We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel was the first on our France honeymoon trip. After a little confusion with the other Mercure Defense hotel, we ended up here where we were graciously greeted at the front desk. We had mentioned ahead of time that this was our honeymoon, and they were wonderful. We were upgraded to a better room and there was a beautiful plate of fruit on the table. We opted for the buffet breakfast the next morning and found it full of delicious fruit, pastries and meats. We ate a lot of such breakfasts while we were in France and this one was definitely one of the best.
It's true that this place is in the financial district, so there's not much around on the weekends, but we did manage to find a great little italian place just down the street.
This hotel is also really really close to the subway station, which makes it super convenient for getting around. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marathebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 585 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

Ok so it's not handy for tourists but we were on a Cosmos tour so had the coach to travel into the tourist spots and there is a train station right next door! The rooms are huge I stayed in 108 and it had a separate door to the bedroom and bathroom it was clean ... The breakfast catered to all tastes. The poor barman didn't really know how to make the drinks we ordered but was happy and muddled through with a smile on his face which is always nice...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeNChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanVersaillaise
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The hotel is quite new and the rooms are nice and clean. Location ok for business, but the area is completely dead at night and on the weekends. The main problem with my stay was that I had some issues with the reception personnel (especially the girls on duty when I checked in): we were a party of 4 colleagues arriving by train from Italy and going to a conference. At 11 am none of the 2 rooms was ready yet, even if we had asked for an early check-in... (and this is still acceptable, because they might have been fully booked the night before). However, the receptionists promised we would get our rooms by 12 o’ clock, which is the official check-in time. So we waited till 12, but no room ready yet. We kept asking them when our rooms would be ready, and at 12.40 they finally gave us the key to ONE of the two rooms. Only after insisting for a while, they managed to find another room for us.But after giving us the key, they realized it was the wrong room (I think it was one of the apartments in the other building), so they wanted the key back and let us wait some more minutes… by that time, it was 1 pm! As we had to go to a conference, this delay was of course a big issue for us. What is worse, we got no apologies nor smiles from the receptionists: only a very bad attitude, as if we were bothering them with our requests... They even told us that "Check-in 12 pm" means that the rooms will be ready AFTER 12, not AT 12!"
Moreover, they provided no explanations on how to get to our room (it is a big hotel and has separate buildings) and on the hotel services were offered (wifi, breakfast etc)
In conclusion: we were very disappointed with the service, although the hotel itself is ok for business travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VaSb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Located near La Defence, the service from the staff in the hotel was pretty good, lobby and restaurant area's were neat and clean, the lift's had a strange smell in them (smelt like pee), rooms were very clean and neat, sleep was disturbed by the constant comings and going of trains to the metro directly next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GranGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Hotel was OK. I stayed not in the main hotel building but the one across the plaza. The room was fine. The bed was comfortable but two of the lights were burned out. The bathroom was outdated with old fixtures. The biggest issue I had with the bathroom was the small glass partition that was supposed to keep water out of the main bath area. It was too small, and I was forced to essentially crouch down in the tub and bathe to prevent water from getting all over the floor. Food was good, but breakfast buffet was overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsteinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Didnt even get to stay! Called them in the evening to check, and they said they were going to call me as they had made a mistake and didnt have a room ( they obviously gave it to someone else). i AM a gold card loyalty member!! This is terrible !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank essySpeyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanterre
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense
Mercure Paris La Defense
#6 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#1 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,868 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Paris La Defense Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Qualys-Hotel Nanterre La Defense
1.8 mi away
Best Western Rives de Paris La Defense
0.3 mi away
citizenM Paris La Defense
citizenM Paris La Defense
#203 of 1,802 in Paris
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel

Address: 17/20 Esplanade Ch. de Gaulle | Rue des Trois Fontanot, 92000 Nanterre, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Nanterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Price Range: $83 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel is located in the heart of the La Defense business district (3min by RER A). We are at 50m from Nanterre Prefecture RER A. We are at 10min from Champs Elysees and 15min from Opera and city center. Our hotel complex is perfect for every stay with standard and privilege rooms, studio and appartement for short or long stay. The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel has a bar, a restaurant with terrace and a fitness center. Our 11 modular meeting rooms are the perfect working environment for your meeting in La Defense. Free WIFI. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense Parc Hotel Nanterre
Mercure Hotel Nanterre
Accor Hotel Nanterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing