We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend!”
Review of The Old Pheasant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Pheasant
Ranked #1 of 1 Glaston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for two nights last weekend and it was a pleasure. The food was great with a wonderful ambience and the restaurant was very busy for a Saturday night. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay and gave us plenty of information about sightseeing in the local area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 234 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

You could easy drive past without noticing this fine village secret, pulling in round the back is a large car park with ample space, then on entering you are met by very welcoming staff all wishing to be helpful. It has only been under new management for a couple of weeks and it looks like they have put alot of hard work in to it. Very clean and tidy with tables well laid out. A large open fire at the far end makes for a comfortable evening. It is a lot bigger than it looks from the photos shown of the outside. at least 10 bedrooms which are on ground and first floor all with ensuite and tv. Carpets in the rooms have all just been cleaned and bathrooms spotless, wallpaper is not to all taste but clean and tidy making for a pleasant stay. Wishing them well for the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good value, a good breakfast & v welcoming staff.
The rooms have been refurbished & are perfectly comfortable but some ongoing maintenance would not go amiss!!. We were in the same room for our second visit & the shower head, which malfunctioned on our first visit last autumn, was still there, but was even more broken this time. The carpets would benefit from the occasional spot clean. The paintwork at the window a quick mipe over & even touch up.So unless they do some upkeep the rooms will start to become a little shoddy?
But overall a lovely quiet British pub with typical Rutland surrounding countryside; & we will certainly revisit later this year. We will also tell some of our friends.to try it out. Stephen SS

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenrosalind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked in for 2 nights. The staff explained when we arrived that that the hotel had had been taken over a couple days before.
All staff were very helpful.
The menu was a temporary one but still plenty of choice.
We ate there both nights and the food was plentiful, cooked to perfection and good value.
Our room was spotless, comfy and warm.
Great start and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badobsession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The room was perfectly fine and the bed comfortable. The dinner menu was limited but the food hearty and well cooked. The staff were friendly and helpful. we really enjoyed sitting in the bar by the fire for a few hours in such a hospitable setting.

It's a great place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We called in on a Tuesday lunchtime for a drink and a light lunch. There was a notice on the door saying it had re-opened the day before. We walked into the bar through a group of staff standing chatting and when someone eventually came to speak to us and we asked about food available, they had to go and ask whether they were doing any. Upon further questions such as what kind of soup etc they had to go and find out again. No-one really seemed sure. Then we were told there was no beers on tap. This was the final straw and we left.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Jules1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I arrived Tuesday 12th of feb to find that the hotel has been taken over. The last owner managed to take everything that was not screwed down and i felt sorry for the new owners. How ever after speaking to the management i'm happy to conclude that the new owners along with new manager Paul Jeynes have some exciting ideas. New menus along with cheaper ales is the way to go and to give the pub back to the locals. Great idea i thought apart from the fact they will need more than just the locals to keep that huge place going. All in all a great night good food a reasonably priced room and they are going to be giving corporate rates. I will be coming back most definitely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glaston
4.4 mi away
Best Western Normanton Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
332 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lakeside B&B
Lakeside B&B
#1 of 1 in Barnsdale
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Coach House Inn
The Coach House Inn
#1 of 2 in South Luffenham
71 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Pheasant

Address: 15 Main Road, Glaston LE15 9BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Glaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glaston
Price Range: $55 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Pheasant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the Old Pheasant are assured of a warm welcome at this popular bar, inn and restaurant. The traditional bar serves real cask ales with an imaginative bar meals menu. The restaurant serves traditional English fare at lunchtimes and in the evening. An excellent standard of accommodation for both the business client and the tourist. The Old Pheasant opened in 2004 following extensive refurbishment. The aim was to create a decor and layout conducive to a relaxed and informal atmosphere. We have become well known predominantly for our food. We have a commitment to using local produce wherever possible, and change our menu regularly according to season and the availability of fresh local game and fish. Our restaurant opening times are Monday Tuesday 12-2:30 & 6-9pm, Wednesday to Saturday 12-9, Sundays we serve a traditional lunch 12-6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Pheasant Hotel Glaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing