We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abruzzo Segreto Navelli
Ranked #1 of 2 Navelli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I had a nice experience in Navelli this past Sept. We stayed with Jimmy and Francesca for five nights. We were trying to hike in the National Parks nearby and while that proved difficult - information in english was almost impossible to find, it was no fault of our hosts. Their english was excellent and they very helpful in trying to find information for us. They also gave us good recommendations for places to eat nearby. Breakfast was basic but good. The Italian coffee was a great way to start off the day. The grounds are very attractive and the beds comfortable. We would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

we had a lovely stay in N'avelli in September. Jimmy and Francesca were delightful hosts - eager for us to have a good experience and willing to share their knowledge of the region. Jimmy fixed us yummy eggs with fresh herbs and we took some fresh off the tree pears for the last leg of our journey. They were able to answer lots of questions we had about the economy, life style and foods of their valley which enhanced our travels. The room was comfortable and clean, the bath was as well. If you are looking for a place to stay that connects you with the people and culture you cant go wrong with Abruzzo Segreto Navelli.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobnkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights there and really enjoyed our stay.This is a lovely and cosy B&B owned by charming and friendly people Francesca and Jimmy ( like me a frustrated Arsenal supporter ! ).It is situated in Navelli a beautiful medieval hill-top village in the heart of a stunningly beautiful region Abruzzo, 40 minutes'drive from Sulmona in the south and places well worth exploring further north like Santo Stefano,Rocca Calascio and Castel del monte.We loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michellouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed with Jimmy & Francesca previously, their warm welcome and comfortable B&B is always a treat to be looked forward to! They freely give you the best of their knowledge and experience to ensure you make the most of your stay whether it is to connect with a lost family heritage or to explore all that Abruzzo has to offer be it food, culture, nature or history you will not be disappointed!!
Abruzzo Segreto is always clean, the breakfasts are perfect for the hungry traveller and the rooms comfortable and restful!!

Room Tip: Just advise what you require Jimmy & Francesca will take care of the rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IngridC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca A, Proprietario at Abruzzo Segreto Navelli, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

thank you once again for your wonderful comments on trip advisor Ingrid..its always our pleasure to take special care of you.see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Abruzzo Segreto is a beautiful home in a small medieval hill town 1 1/2 hours east of Rome, not unlike many B&B's all around Italy. But what makes this B&B so special are the hosts - Jimmy & Francesca. It was easy to make my reservation through email. We were greeted cordially and shown to a beautiful room with a fantastic updated bathroom. The entire place is clean, comfortable and well-run, but able to feel like home to us outsiders. They gave us information about surrounding towns and things to see while regaling us with story after story. Francesca is sweet and very talented. Jimmy has an arsenal of humorous stories and anecdotes. It was the perfect place to spend our 30th wedding anniversary. We can't wait to return and perhaps spend more than just three nights at our favorite place in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeandKarenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca A, Proprietario at Abruzzo Segreto Navelli, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

thank you Mike & Karen for your wonderful review on our b&b. we were delighted to share with such genuine down to earth, really nice guests such as yourselves. we hope your anniversary was a memorable one ,as well as your stay. perhaps we will have the champagne ready again next year for your 31st anniversary. grazie mike & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I have been traveling throughout the Abruzzo region for the past few days. We have had great luck with our accomodations but we felt extremely lucky to have stayed the night at Abruzzo Segreto in Navelli. Jimmy and Francesca are the ultimate hosts, friendly, gracious and helpful in all ways. Their B&B is charming, clean and comfortable. Jimmy entertained us with his stories and great sense of humor, Francesca charmed us with her warm smile and incredible knowledge about the interesting sights throughout Abruzzo. This is a definite return for us!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Windy5944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca A, Proprietario at Abruzzo Segreto Navelli, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

ciao Mary, thank you guys for your kind compliments in your review. we get huge satisfaction seeing and hearing that our guests have had such an enjoyable stay with us. it makes it all so worthwhile. do keep contact, and perhaps we may have the pleasure of your company some other time. we do hope so. good health and good fortune to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I wanted to stay in the Abruzzo region during our Italian holiday as I had read a book set in this area. The excellent reviews I read of B&B Abruzzo Segreto when searching for accommodation prompted me to book a room there and we were not disappointed! I had booked a triple room but were given 2 rooms so our teenage daughter had her own space. The rooms were clean and airy overlooking the garden with a shared bathroom.
Francesca and Jimmy were wonderful hosts, happily sharing their knowledge of the region and recommending places to eat and visit. The village of Navelli is fascinating to walk around, and we had a wonderful long day out in the car, stopping for walks around ancient villages, a castle and in the national park. Such a great day after being in busy tourist spots for the previous week.
And yes, we thoroughly enjoyed Jimmy's scrambled eggs in the morning and the rest of the very generous breakfast. Thank you Jimmy and Francesca.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca A, Proprietario at Abruzzo Segreto Navelli, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

ciao Stephen and Narelle, thank you for your kind words on our behalf. its always nice to recieve a compliment. we were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. we also loved to hear the piano played in such sweet of tune.i am now playing some of your tunes from your music from traditional Italy. glad you enjoyed the scrambled eggs also.we hope to see you again in the future some time. perhaps by then i can stay in tune with your piano expertise. grazie from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Navelli
9.0 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Monte Selva
8.6 mi away
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
707 reviews
14.6 mi away
Halanus Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Grand Hotel delle Rocche
Grand Hotel delle Rocche
#2 of 4 in Rocca di Mezzo
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Loggia Di Federico
La Loggia Di Federico
#1 of 1 in Navelli
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sotto Le Volte
Sotto Le Volte
#2 of 2 in Navelli
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abruzzo Segreto Navelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abruzzo Segreto Navelli

Address: Via San Girolamo 3, 67020 Navelli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Navelli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Navelli
Price Range: $69 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast Abruzzo Segreto is placed in a charming rural landscape in the ancient village Navelli, exclusive also for the planting and production of saffron. It offers the guests an ideal place for a relaxing holiday deep in nature, not far away from the most important touristic, thermal and historical places in Abruzzo. Navelli is placed in the middle between the three National Parks: Gran Sasso and Monti della Laga, Velino Sirente and Maiella. At the Bed & Breakfast Abruzzo Segreto you will be welcomed by Francesca her family who will be pleased to give you hospitality and guide you in the discovery of this marvellous land its innumerable folk and religious festivals. They will also suggest you the best restaurants and the delicious traditional dishes of these places. From your room you will have a view on the typical hills landscape and the Navelli lowland and you will also be able to admire the village of the Middle Ages. You will be given a european breakfast in the large and sunny hall with the genuine typical products of this land that have the taste and fragrance of our traditional ancient receipts. During summer you can have breakfast also on the large terrace. You can spend relaxing moments also in parlour games, the game of chess/draughts or in the library, all at your disposal. The Bed & Breakfast Abruzzo Segreto is surrounded by a wide green park of 2.000 Sq m. Which is equipped with a solarium and a barbeque. Also for your children and pets are foreseen relaxing and playing moments. Offered Services: Parking inside of the structure Covered garage for moto Comfortable car loading and unloading within the structure Phone - Fax - wifi internet Bicycles for your trips Pets are welcomed Convention with typical restaurants Ecological walking - trekking Laundry Tourism Information Other services nearby: Bowling green Football field Volleyball field Recreation ground for children Swimming-pool at 15 km Internet Point Thermal baths at 15 km Horse riding and donkey therapy Organisation of parachute lessons Pine forest and woods Skiing fields Archaeological sites Castles Farms Canoa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abruzzo Segreto Navelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abruzzo Segreto Navelli Hotel l`Aquila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing