We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet haven in Abruzzo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abruzzo Segreto Navelli
Ranked #1 of 2 Navelli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I wanted to stay in the Abruzzo region during our Italian holiday as I had read a book set in this area. The excellent reviews I read of B&B Abruzzo Segreto when searching for accommodation prompted me to book a room there and we were not disappointed! I had booked a triple room but were given 2 rooms so our teenage daughter had her own space. The rooms were clean and airy overlooking the garden with a shared bathroom.
Francesca and Jimmy were wonderful hosts, happily sharing their knowledge of the region and recommending places to eat and visit. The village of Navelli is fascinating to walk around, and we had a wonderful long day out in the car, stopping for walks around ancient villages, a castle and in the national park. Such a great day after being in busy tourist spots for the previous week.
And yes, we thoroughly enjoyed Jimmy's scrambled eggs in the morning and the rest of the very generous breakfast. Thank you Jimmy and Francesca.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca A, Proprietario at Abruzzo Segreto Navelli, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

ciao Stephen and Narelle, thank you for your kind words on our behalf. its always nice to recieve a compliment. we were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. we also loved to hear the piano played in such sweet of tune.i am now playing some of your tunes from your music from traditional Italy. glad you enjoyed the scrambled eggs also.we hope to see you again in the future some time. perhaps by then i can stay in tune with your piano expertise. grazie from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time in six months to the property. We were even more happy this time around... From their personal recommendations of places to visit, eat and drink in the area to personally ensuring that even during the very hot days we could find great places to spend our time. They took us to a beautiful refuge in the mountains... And to places we never would have fousn on our own. Their rooms and overall space are so warm and welcoming. We brought 10 people this time around and all of us believe it's one of the most special places we've ever been because of the personal service and connections. I look forward to many future visits to the Abruzzo Segreto Navelli. Bravo to this property!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lucianaramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Fransesca and Jimmy are really nice and warm people. They are very helpfull and will provide you with all the information on what to do in the enviroment. This all for a more then reasonable price. A must visit when you want to visit the Abruzzo

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Misterfreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

the name Abruzzo kept popping up in the last few months , so after seeing the region on a documentary on tv, we said lets give it a go. flights worked out real cheap from UK to Pescara, so we choose a little village in the hills called Navelli to find the real heart of Italy. we booked a quaint b&b called Abruzzo Segreto , run by Francesca and Jimmy and we certainly made the correct choice of b&b. our one mistake was staying only 2 nights as theres so much to see, but we didnt know this as its an unknown region back home. based centrally to 4 natural parks , and 1 hour from Pescara on the coast this village was perfect for us to pop out and back to so many locations. the b&b itself is wonderfully decorated with a huge range of all types of flowers, my wife Angela loves flowers , so she loved to sit on the terrace covered in colour with a glass of wine. Francesca & Jimmy are wonderful hosts and are so helpful with information on just about everything. there was also wifi which was such a plus and no charge. the room was bright and vibrant , simple lots of room and more important very clean. we had a great view from our room overlooking their garden full of fruit trees. bathroom was decorated lovely, and breakfast was a treat. we didnt eat a lunch the 2 days we stayed as there was so much to choose from at breakfast. ( it was the only place we stayed in Italy whear we got freshly cooked scrambled eggs). we do hope to return again this year if possible for 5 days, if we cannot get the same room , in b&b Abruzzo Segreto we will wait until next year, thats how good our stay was with Francesca & Jimmy. great memories great b&b & great hosts. see you guys very soon. we shall return.

Room Tip: we got the quadruple room just for the 2 of us, for the same price.great view and very fesh and airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Evan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Me and Roberta, had been planning a trip to Europe for a long time as she has roots in Abruzzo. Friends of ours had been telling us of their stay in Navelli so decided we had to stay there. Navelli itself is a beautiful old Medieval village full of narrow little streets full of archways and arched doorways. We were met on arrival by Francesca & Jimmy , who made us feel like long lost family just returned. Francesca had an amzing knowledge of the whole region and what she didn't know she had a map or written information. Jimmy had typical Irish charm and was full of stories ( great company on the terrace in the evenings ). The b&b was very clean and the room was larger than we expected. Simply decorated it had a wonderful view over the Navelli plain. The bathroom was Robertas favourite colour lavender and was very modern. Breakfast was a real treat, as Jimmy prides himself on making great scrambled eggs, there was a feast of foods to choose from , but we loved the eggs and the Italian coffee. We found the village to be very central to all the national parks and the other interesting villages clustered around the area. We have just started our plans to find Robertas roots in Abruzzo ( not Navelli) but Capestrano. We will however stay and operate from the charming & beautiful Abruzzo Segreto. Thank you Francesca & Jimmy grazie, expect us in the next 2 yrs or so.

Room Tip: We stayed in the almond room which was really peaceful and it had a quant private garden which had s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Billy-California71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Francesca and Jimmy are gracious host that welcome you and give you amazing tips on visiting the region. They care about your experience... Ensuring everything you need is addressed. The restaraunts they recommended to the sights were great... And their b&b is lovely. Navelli is such a sweet town. They even went out of their way to make sure my 82 year old mother could get medicine she needed while travelling. Next time we're in abruzzo; we'll be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gkk40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca A, Direttore at Abruzzo Segreto Navelli, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

ciao to you all, well thank you most kindly for your comments on tripadvisor. that was very kind of you . we hope mom is back on track with her tablets and you are all in good health. it was wonderful to have such a lovely family staying with us, and we do hope we can meet up again sometime in the near future. we wish you a very happy new year and hope we dont lose your contact. ciao from us both for now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Jimmy and Francesca, the owners of Abruzzo-Segreto were born to be in the hospitality business. They are two of the friendliest and most helpful people you will ever meet. Jimmy is from Ireland and has that Irish twinkle in his eye. He will cook eggs for your breakfast, truly a rarity in an Italian B&B. Francesca always has a smile on her face and is always ready to help you and suggest places to visit in this part of Abruzzo. The room are large and clean . The B&B is located in the small quiet village of Navelli. There is not much going on in Navelli which makes it a great base to use to explore all that there is to see and do in this part of Abruzzo. Many restaurants close by and the must see “Campo Imperatore”. You owe it to yourself to stay at Abruzzo Segreto when traveling in this part of Abruzzo

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca A, Direttore generale at Abruzzo Segreto Navelli, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

ciao to you both, we hope you both had a lovely christmas and new year celebration. i guess its near time to be in the sun again for you guys.we are covered in snow at the mo which is pretty norm. its minus 22 in nth italy, here for now its minus 8. we like to again thank you for your high praise on trip advisor, a kind word always goes a long way. we wish you good health for the new year and hope your both very well. it was a great pleasure to have had you staying with us last year and hope our paths will again cross some day in the future.in the meantime we send one big hug to you both and wish you well. ciao from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abruzzo Segreto Navelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abruzzo Segreto Navelli

Address: Via San Girolamo 3, 67020 Navelli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Navelli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Navelli
Price Range: $69 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast Abruzzo Segreto is placed in a charming rural landscape in the ancient village Navelli, exclusive also for the planting and production of saffron. It offers the guests an ideal place for a relaxing holiday deep in nature, not far away from the most important touristic, thermal and historical places in Abruzzo. Navelli is placed in the middle between the three National Parks: Gran Sasso and Monti della Laga, Velino Sirente and Maiella. At the Bed & Breakfast Abruzzo Segreto you will be welcomed by Francesca her family who will be pleased to give you hospitality and guide you in the discovery of this marvellous land its innumerable folk and religious festivals. They will also suggest you the best restaurants and the delicious traditional dishes of these places. From your room you will have a view on the typical hills landscape and the Navelli lowland and you will also be able to admire the village of the Middle Ages. You will be given a european breakfast in the large and sunny hall with the genuine typical products of this land that have the taste and fragrance of our traditional ancient receipts. During summer you can have breakfast also on the large terrace. You can spend relaxing moments also in parlour games, the game of chess/draughts or in the library, all at your disposal. The Bed & Breakfast Abruzzo Segreto is surrounded by a wide green park of 2.000 Sq m. Which is equipped with a solarium and a barbeque. Also for your children and pets are foreseen relaxing and playing moments. Offered Services: Parking inside of the structure Covered garage for moto Comfortable car loading and unloading within the structure Phone - Fax - wifi internet Bicycles for your trips Pets are welcomed Convention with typical restaurants Ecological walking - trekking Laundry Tourism Information Other services nearby: Bowling green Football field Volleyball field Recreation ground for children Swimming-pool at 15 km Internet Point Thermal baths at 15 km Horse riding and donkey therapy Organisation of parachute lessons Pine forest and woods Skiing fields Archaeological sites Castles Farms Canoa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abruzzo Segreto Navelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abruzzo Segreto Navelli Hotel l`Aquila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing