We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad location for sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Paris Sud Les Ulis
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Les Ulis
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“bad location for sightseeing”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

stayed here for two nights as part of an organised trip to Paris. Arrived after a mammoth journey from north west uk. Rooms very clean. bed comfy and bathroom clean and quite large. We had a twin room which was large. Now to the bad points. I like a hot drink when I come in after a days sightseeing and also when I first get up in the morning. The hospitality tray consisted of two tiny cartons of milk, 2 coffee sachets, a couple of herbal and Earl Grey teabags, and only 1 teabag of breakfast tea. The first morning, I had tea and my friend had to have coffee (as there was only one teabag). The second morning we both had coffee as the teabag I had used the previous day had not been replaced, Now to breakfast. The room as set out with long tables and reminded me of school dinners. The first morning we arrived when most people had already eaten, and the room as littered with uncleared dishes. Poor choice, 2 types of cereal, a croissant, bread if you wanted toast, and yogurt. Again, one breakfast teabag. French bread which was only replenished when you asked for more. It is a continental breakfast but I have seen better.
Lcoation of hotel Probably handy as a stop off but not good for a sightseeing trip to Paris. We had booked an escorted holiday to Paris and when we enquired with Newmarket holidays before the trip as we had misgivings about the trip, we were told quite forcefully that the company uses all sorts of hotel in the Paris area for their trips. This is a fair comment but when you consider I had boarded the coach at 7am on Saturday, the coach driver had been given the wrong directions to get to the hotel so we drove around outskirts of Paris for 2 hours trying to find it, we arrived at the hotel at 1.15am on Sunday then when we were taken into Paris for sightseeing, it was an hour each way. I think that an hour each way is excessive for Newmarket holidays to be using the hotel as a base when they do trips to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne M, Gérant at Mercure Paris Sud Les Ulis, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

We first would like to thank you to have taken some time for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel with a group tour, this is highly appreciated by myself and my team. The breakfast has been organised for the full group in a private area and it was a continental breakfast seted as a buffet as per our contrat with the group organiser, with less choice tha a full hot buffet breakfast. Thank you again for your comments they will help us to give more regular service for our group breakfast continental buffet follow up.This is our mistake for not having given you 2 teabags the first night on the courtesy tray, we would like to appologise for this matter. Unfortunatly we are not able to answer you regarding the rest of your comments as this is part of the group tour organiser. We apologise for our hotel part as it seems that you did not find what you were expecting for when you had chosen your trip to Paris with the group organisation company.

Best Regards

Joël FENOYER
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    72
    57
    29
    6
See reviews for
25
26
9
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caserta, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business trip.
There is nothing around this hotel!!
Breakfast: good but too many chinese people present at the hotel
Room: good but not really cleaned, they can do better
WiFi: often gets locked during web calling

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darksasy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne M, Responsable réception at Mercure Paris Sud Les Ulis, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Customer,
We would like to thank you for your comments and apologize for our late answer.
Be informed that we are changing our wifi service for a new company and the service provide should be better.
We have taken in consideration your comment about the cleanness of the room and our room manager had proceeded the necessary corections.
Your comments help us to impove our guests satisfactions.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

this is not where you will go on holidays with the family. it is for business users, in the middle of a commercial zone. it is a standard Mercure hotel . Bed was bit soft for me , but room was cleaned ,very good wireless.
do not stay on the first floor as u can hear the chairs being dragged around from 6 AM...
I ate in the restaurant and the steak was lovely , though serve on a rectangular plastic type dish...
staff were pleasant throughout .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a coach party to go to the "Arc" race meeting,
Rooms were fine apart from the aircon wasn't working so the room was too warm.Breakfast was in a room which reminded me of a canteen. with tables end to end in long lines, which made it cramped to get around.The French don't do breakfast as we know it but on the first day it was O K with what you would expect orange juice. bread a choice of 2 cereals & 1 croissant each plus tea or coffee.
On the second morning at 8.15 there was no bread, very few croissants, very limited coffee & despite waiting & waiting nothing was replenished.Waiting staff had done a runner.
Also this is the first time I have ever stayed at a hotel when the restaurant was closed in the evening over a week-end.This situation is not helped by the fact that the hotel is on a trading estate with no restaurants close by.
Because of its location it was very quiet at night until that is when 6.30 am came along and you discovered that you were in the flight path of Orly airport.Still at least you were awake before the alarm went off.
I would not stay here again, but if you decide to give it a go then get down to breakfast early or take your own.

Room Tip: Don't worry about this the aircraft will get you wherever you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My family chose the hotel for an overnight stop on our return back to the UK following a camping holiday in the Dordogne. The location just off the motorway was fine but the hotel is situated in the middle of a commercial estate so going outside to eat etc required a trip by car. The service at reception was OK if a little unenthusiastic (especially the reaction when we said we didn't want breakfast). We were informed that the swimming pool was closed but not given a reason why nor were we were given any prior notice of this or offer of compensation. The hotel is tired on the outside and in many areas of the interior and not up to the usual Mercure standard I have experienced in previous establishments. We were given a room at the far end of the first floor corridor. This corridor was littered with sweet wrappers and there was a used empty glass just outside our door. We received a nice surprise in that the room had separate bedrooms (one double, one twin) rather than a standard family room which is great for families travelling with young kids who go to bed early. The decor in the room was tired with several holes in the net curtains, a damaged unusable full length mirror (appeared to have been damaged by cleaning fluid in the past - why could this not have been replaced?), a towel with a black stain on it and a toilet integrated into the wall which creaked rather disconcertedly when sat upon. The beds were comfortable and linen clean. Overall the stay was unsatisfactory but served the purpose for our brief stop off if just for the good location (we left the hotel at 07:30 and made it to the Channel Tunnel by 11:00). The hotel is clearly not up to the usual expected Mercure (or even Ibis for that matter) standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaiandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Les Ulis hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a nice room though the location smack bang in the middle of an industrial estate is not the best.
We arrived early evening to find the restaurant closed so has to walk down the road to a local place. The breakfast was terrible not even enough food for everyone to eat!!!!
The room was comfortable and could even just get an Internet connection!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Ulis
0.3 mi away
First Inn Hotel
First Inn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Les Ulis
66 reviews
3.9 mi away
Novotel Paris Saclay
Novotel Paris Saclay
#1 of 1 in Saclay
441 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel L'Oree
Best Western Hotel L'Oree
#1 of 4 in Saulx-les-Chartreux
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Campanile Villejust - ZA Courtaboeuf
0.2 mi away
Campanile Les Ulis
Campanile Les Ulis
#3 of 7 in Les Ulis
113 reviews
4.0 mi away
Novotel Massy Palaiseau
Novotel Massy Palaiseau
#3 of 4 in Palaiseau
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Sud Les Ulis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Sud Les Ulis

Property: Mercure Paris Sud Les Ulis
Address: 3 rue du Rio Salado | Courtaboeuf, 91952 Les Ulis, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Essonne > Les Ulis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Les Ulis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Sud Les Ulis 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a charming garden with trees and flowers. Outdoor swimming pool and terrace. Ideally located near the main roads leading to Paris. Restaurant and bar. Meeting room (150 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Paris Sud Les Ulis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Les Ulis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing