We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor ”
Review of Hippopotamus

Hippopotamus
Ranked #25 of 46 Restaurants in Le Chesnay
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Ate here because it was Local and didn't want to travel any distance, proved to be a mistake! Waiter without much of a clue to be honest , my main arrived a good 20 minutes before my dinner partners starter which was stone cold when it eventually turned up! Asked for a cafe latte, what I got certainly wasn't one of them, it was some sort of coffee but not sure what, the food was average at best, service was well below average.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank A9453ELdarrenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 283 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2018

It's dirty all over the place, the restrooms are just disgusting. I would never eat there had I known how filthy it was. But the food was OK, tasty fries, nobody got sick which a surprise judging from the dirt. The service was slow, but they were very few for a big place like that I must admit. I would not go back, but if you need to eat some fried chain it is Ok to go there.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank majam221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018

The Parly 2 centre by night isn't exactly the most exciting place to be, but there was a 10% discount on food at the Hippopotamus for guests at the Mercure Parly 2 Hotel. We had starters and 2 different kinds of steak, from the fixed price menus. These were perfectly acceptable without being anything special. My Roquefort sauce might have been shown a crumb or two of cheese, but was fairly bland. Nice Bouches-du-Rhone red house wine. Service friendly.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank 621marting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

This was average for a chain restaurant. Soft drinks were very expensive. No free water with meal. Fish and chips more like kids fish fingers. We felt that meals probably brought in and not freshly cooked on premises.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank audrey6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017

The restaurant is ok - clean, nice arrange, is offering a limited range of food but delicious (from my point of view). The prices are decent considering the location; a bit long waiting time when was crowded (Monday...???).

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cornel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippopotamus also viewed

Rueil-Malmaison, Hauts-de-Seine
Rueil-Malmaison, Hauts-de-Seine
 
Le Chesnay, Versailles
Le Chesnay, Versailles
 
Le Chesnay, Versailles
 

Been to Hippopotamus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing