We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Courbevoie
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel has a reasonable standard of accommodation, food is good and well presented but the choice is limited. Hotel rooms appear clean but suffer from noise of other neighbours and the police / ambulance sirens outside.I dont get the best nights sleep here! Its also a bit of a walk from the RER station, however that said the hotel does offer a free shuttle service from La Defense. In summary an OK hotel, but there is much better available in La Defense.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
For your information, you can ask for a room facing the inside courtyard next time for more quietness.
We also change the dishes of the Restaurant menu every 5 weeks, for more choices...
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Paris La Defense
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

With “everything” I mean far from business centre in Rueil, far from attractions and, most important, far from my expectations. Metro station is 10 minutes walk (not confirmed) that actually during cold, windy or rainy days is a nuisance; I was told that there’s a shuttle bus every 10 minutes, never saw it because it was stuck in the traffic. I decided to take a taxi to the city center and I spent one hour there, stuck in the traffic as well. Trip from hotel to office and back is (try to guess) a bet with the traffic jam! A taxi driver refused to bring me to the office saying that it’s too close and he ran away: chapeau! So I had to promise money to the next one. Next time I will choose a hotel more close to a metro station or, if it’s mandatory to be stuck in the traffic, at least in the city center taking in count of 147€ per night without breakfast and slow wifi connectivity. Price is not really fair taking in count also of hotel condition, it looks new but rooms are not in good conditions and the first feeling that you have entering the room is the old-fitted carpet smell. Personnel is fair, just one note for non-expert travelers: always ask if the breakfast is included because I didn’t received this information but breakfast place and timing were described very well (like if it was included, but it’s 17€ extra); I didn’t have breakfast and this appeared in my invoice, of course I let them make the correction but my personal feeling is “let’s try to charge the breakfast”.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GriGio91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay as it will assist us to improve our services,

We have a shuttle bus that deserve the metro station now, and it is better to avoid the rain,
Be sure that we will do our best for your next stay,
looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed in Feb 2013.
Indeed they have maintained the standard. I re-visited this hotel and good to see that they are same.
The only problem is the structure of the hotel is ROUND and therefore, the rooms which are on the curve, are too small and you may not find place to walk in the room. I was given 1140, and this is an example of what i mentioned.
However the staff was really helpful to change the room. Three cheers for the staff courteousness at the reception, breakfast, room service.
Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ca_yusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We are pleased to notice that you appreciated our hotel and the courteousness of our staff.
Looking forward to meeting your again,
Sincerely yours

The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is value for money as it provides lot of facility with the money they take in. The in house gym and Hamam is fantastic. View from hotel window is nice. Hotel is quiet close to Le defence centre so not much walk from metro station. Hotel also provide you shuttle drop and pick from metro which saves time. Area around hotel is bright and can find some good resturants. over all value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sushnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for giving us your good opinion about your stay at Mercure Paris La Defense 5,
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughie56
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Mercure hotel is well placed for access to the business district of La Defense. i have used the hotel frequently during the last 5 years - it is clean , functional and the staff are always helpful .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJG0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us.
We do appreciate to know your feedback as it is important for us to do our best to make you feel comfortable with us, especially if you come here very often. Thank you for your fidelity.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,

the hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was a one night stay for business. Room was clean and large. Free wifi definitely a plus. The staff were really helpful and also allowed me to persevere in French (may have been a tad frustrating so thank you) the food that I ate far exceeded the equivalent in a UK hotel in terms of quality and overall it had a ice ambience. Despite being in a fairly bustling area, the hotel was not noisy but the pillows were pretty dire...being both very thick and pretty hard....but I slept pretty well. The shop in reception is also useful. There is a shuttle to the metro at la Grande Arche and again, incredibly useful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read some comments like yours ! it encourages us to continue ...
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,

The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courbevoie
0.5 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#1 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#7 of 41 in La Defense
899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rives de Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
0.5 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#2 of 41 in La Defense
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense

Address: 18 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range: $91 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing