We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Ease of Travel into Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Courbevoie
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Value for Ease of Travel into Paris”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel looks fairly far from central Paris on a map, but it's a quick metro ride to the La Defense metro stop. If you follow directions on the hotel website, you will figure out where to go in the metro for the shuttle-call-phone. The shuttle will come pick you up and drop you off at the metro stop free of charge. There are limited hours that the shuttle runs, but it is a nice service. It takes 15 minutes to walk, or a 10 Euro cab ride to get to the hotel from the metro if you cannot get the shuttle. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated, and it seems that some rooms are undergoing a redecoration, although our room had not yet been remodeled. We really didn't stay in the room at all except to sleep and to shower and the room was very clean (my main concern when traveling). Wifi worked well and was free, and there is parking available for a fee. We did not try any of the food, so I cannot comment on that. The best part of the hotel was the price. We paid under $100 a night for two people at the beginning of September. I would stay again if I could get a similar price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanamarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your comments with us about your last stay at the Mercure Paris La Défense 5.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    527
    345
    106
    35
See reviews for
204
272
87
480
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I was expecting more from this Mercure. I was clearly unsatisfied to know the after certain hour (10-11)i could not eat any hot dish, this was disappointing. The cordinates to to the hotel by metro did not work for me, did not find the bus and could not easily find the way to the hotel - be carefull. Staff in the breakfast could not speak english and 10min before the end time were rushing to finish breakfast - did not look good.
To the other extend the hotel has a good standard, staff overall is very helpfull, it is very organized, clean, breakfast is good, check-in and check-out fast and perfect!

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ElioWolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us about your stay at the Mercure Paris La Défense 5.
We understand your desappointment and we will do our best to give you satisfaction next time, if you give us the opportunity to show you that we can do much better. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon,
Sincerely yours,

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

the desk was too narrow for a laptop but it didn't matter because the internet connection was poor. The worst part was the street noise! I got up at midnight because i was certain the window was open - it was not. You can hear every car drive by, sirens, horns, people talking below.

Since i was traveling on business and had an early meeting, a good night of sleep was my main priority and i didn't get a good night's sleep. Might be okay if you ask for a room away from the street and you aren't in any need to working on your laptop. For a business traveler i say spend a little more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Courbevoie hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 night as part of a Trafalgar tour European Cavalcade. Hotel is located in the business area of Paris and hotel offers a free shuttle to La Defense train station.

We had room 439 ok room but the bathroom was a little cosy. Room overlooked a large concreted square of open space with nice gardens. A lot of people walked their dogs in the morning and afternoon. Pleasant view. Free wifi and 2 computers free for public use in foyer. Breakfast was ok but you had to queue which was strange as you had to get everything at one go so hot food was cold by the time you ate your cereal. It was busy with tour groups while we were there.

Shopping centre is close by (within walking distance 5 mins). We left Paris on the Eurostar and caught a cab from just outside the hotel to the Station. Trip took 30 minutes and cost 25 euros.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your comments with us.
They are very useful, and we are glad to read that you had a good stay in Paris,
We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,

La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My first review of the Mercure focused on the lack of customer service after my suitcase was tossed and items stolen, and I vowed never to return....until I needed a hotel near my office in Paris and couldn't find one, that is! I booked late and ended up at the Mercure for 6 nights. I was really dreading it after my horrid first experience but this time was much better. Maybe because I was part of a very large group (60+ people times 6 nights each = damn fine service, right?) but the previous attitude was nowhere to be seen. I had a relatively pleasant stay and the view of the twinkling Eiffel Tower from my 10th floor room was priceless.

I'm happy to annotate my frist crummy review with this follow up

Room Tip: Second time was better but use the in room safe to be sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuAnn7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just stayed there while at a conference. The room was small but OK. From my window i could see the Eiffeltower (room 1127) which is nice. The staff was friendly. Free wifi was working well. It was somewhat annoying that you had to fill in your name, and emailaddress repeatedly. The free shuttle to La Defense station is nice. The only negative is the price of the breakfast, too much for what you get..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lairetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was lovely and charming. the people in reception were very friendly. I wish I could say the same for the waitresses in the restaurant....

The room was a typical European size. I had my own room during a tour, and it was enough for me. Very clean and near. The bed was EXTREMELY clean and comfortable. There was a small room service menu in the room along with the necessary room tags. Breakfast was just okay... The coffee was perfect though!

The location of the hotel is very far from the main attractions of Paris, and classic French restaurants. It's located close to the business district. The waitresses in the restaurant are also very rude, and snobby!

This hotel would be a perfect place if you're in Paris on business near Defense. If you're looking to see the sights... Choose another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldOfW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courbevoie
0.5 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,698 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#6 of 41 in La Defense
864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#3 of 41 in La Defense
1,432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense

Property: Mercure Paris La Defense
Address: 18 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing