We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit!”

Clairiere de l'Armistice
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Compiegne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This clearing marks the site of the drawing up of the armistice agreement with the defeated Germans in 1918.
cheshire uk
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Must Visit!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent, small museum, which can be visited in an afternoon or morning easily. €5 entry fee is excellent value for visiting this site, which is, after all, a piece of history. It is a must-see for anyone interested in 20th century history, & I would recommend taking children too...there's nothing like seeing museum exhibits in order to bring history to life. I found it incredibly moving, & feel privileged to have visited. There is no cafe here, or toilets. But it is possible to buy a small souvenir, & an ice cream if you want one. Wheelchair access is possible & there is plenty of free parking. No dogs allowed inside the museum.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank irishroverCheshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    163
    38
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Glade of the Armistice in the Compiègne Forest”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

With the 100 year anniversary of the start of WW1 next year a visit to the Glade and museum was a must. The museum is well presented and has a fascinating collection of original glass slides to look at of the campaigns, and of course the replica railway carriage, plus a good display of personalities and trench art made from shell cases.There is a guide book in English 2013, toilet provision, but no cafe..machines for snacks.
We had to get a taxi from the town as we had limited time but 3 people taken there and back from the Hotel de ville with a 40min wait cost only about 34 euros.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank quiverb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“memorial of the Armistice clearing”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

although our children were young at the time of the visit, they both enjoyed the museum. We had given them a brief introduction to why we were visiting the site and the importance of the carriage. It's an important part of our history, well worth a couple of hours visit. Our son loved the tanks, he had never been up close before. I would definatly recommend a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Educational and moving”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The exhibition was well set out and you got a real sense of the war and the signing of the Armistice.
Definitely worth a visit and 5 Euro fee

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank msox106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A moving and interesting place to visit in the Forest of Compiegne”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is where the Armistice was signed. I have been here many times over the past fifty-five years and am always moved by seeing the train where the the Armistice was signed. I have been on rainy days and on hot Summer days and always found it a moving place to be. It is quiet and serene but children can run around outside. Historically important site.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank excellento9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clairiere de l'Armistice also viewed

 

Been to Clairiere de l'Armistice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing