We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of those places you really should go” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clairiere de l'Armistice

Clairiere de l'Armistice
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Compiegne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This clearing marks the site of the drawing up of the armistice agreement with the defeated Germans in 1918.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“One of those places you really should go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visited here as we were staying in the area and it seemed an obvious place to stop off. We were pleasantly surprised by the amount to see and the wide array of artefacts on show. You could spend a couple of hours just looking at the 3D photos in the museum. These were incredible and seem to bring it to life in a way 2D photos just can't do.
Yes, there's not a lot of information in English, but then we're in France so surely that's to be expected? A basic grasp of French allows you to make out a lot of the display signs anyway. The rest you can just appreciate visually.
The replica carriage is wonderful.
The only thing we felt let the place down is the tiny shop at the end. We really wanted to buy something to commemorate our visit and support the museum but there really wasn't anything to get. But, space is limited I guess.
We were very glad we visited and would definitely recommend to anyone in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelenMR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    154
    36
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well worth a visit, there have been some complaints about a lack of English but it may be worth remembering it is in France! Some of the displays admittedly are a bit laborious to get through but it is worth a visit just to look through the 3D photograph viewers, some of the photos are pin sharp, revealing great detail. The destruction that France suffered in WW1 is brought home graphically. Some great trench art on display.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank southwalesbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Worth a visit if you have an interest in WW history. Museum on site with limited English information but still good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachstomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I think it is so very important that especially the young should go to a site like this. Yes, it is all in French (but it is in France) but historically it is an important site. The armistice was signed here at the end of the first World War and Hitler made the French capitulate here in 1940 - to get his own back. You get a feeling that history has been made here in the clearing. The museum though small is also very interesting, if only you take the time to really look at all that is on offer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobijono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie londoner
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing historic site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

You could drive past and not even know it was there. My husband and 2 children, aged 6 and 2 seemed to enjoy a little history but were perhaps on the young side (esp the 2yo) but the museum was well worth the visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 74nett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clairiere de l'Armistice also viewed

 

Been to Clairiere de l'Armistice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing