We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position for visiting Compiègne with a car” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie du Royal Lieu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie du Royal Lieu
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Compiegne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good position for visiting Compiègne with a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Excellent parking and there is a free bus into town just up the road, although last bus is quite early. Taxi back from town reasonable price and walkable for those with the energy. Rooms slightly dark because of trees in parkland garden, but this is outweighed by the peace. Staff very pleasant and helpful but scarce. Food in restaurant looks superb, beautifully presented and served but did not live up to its appearance. Breakfast good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
51
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Not much of an experience. Price is pretty high given the small rooms and the average breakfast. you can hear the neighbor next door. Nothing worth seeing in the neighborhood, essentially a place to sleep after a day of driving. Bathrooms could use some refurbishing. Staff is nice but hard to find. Nice garden though. All in all, overpriced and lacking charm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

A nice hotel in the outskirts of Compeigne, conviently located several minutes from the motorway. The rooms are nice (think motel) and overlook a lovely garden. The restaurant is excellent. There is secure parking for cars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
469 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely old property, with excellent restaurant and beautiful garden outside dining experiences available. Booked a suite, but the bedroom and adjoining room were very small. Discounted car parking available at public car park Napoleon. The windows of the french doors hadn't been cleaned in a long time - disappointing for a suite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Driving up to this hotel, I thought we might have made a terrible mistake. It's on a busy road and didn't look appealing, but step inside and you're in a different world. The restaurant is elegant, the food delicious and the rooms in the annexe at the back overlooking a large, informal garden, seem a world away from the road in front. Our room on the top floor was quiet and had everything we wanted for a one night stop over.

Room Tip: Top floor of the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELAHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews and were shocked to enter our shabby room. The bathroom was dated, the carpets were worn and there was a terrible smell coming in from outside meaning that we couldn't open the doors (the only means of getting ventilation into the room). The room was also extremely noisy, we heard flushing toilets and other bedroom antics all night long so not a pleasant sleep at all. We will definitely never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, find something else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wardal2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel was lovely. Very French. The staff could not be more helpful. The rooms were lovely in beautiful grounds. The food was superb and we chose to eat here for our entire stay. We would certsinky recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank proudtobescottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Compiegne hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Les Beaux Arts
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Compiegne Centre Ville
1.8 mi away
Hotel de Harlay
Hotel de Harlay
#8 of 12 in Compiegne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kyriad Compiegne
Kyriad Compiegne
#2 of 12 in Compiegne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Compiegne
Ibis Compiegne
#3 of 12 in Compiegne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Nord
Hotel du Nord
#6 of 12 in Compiegne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Royal Lieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Royal Lieu

Property: Hostellerie du Royal Lieu
Address: 9 rue de Senlis, 60200, Compiegne, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Compiegne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Compiegne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Royal Lieu 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie du Royal Lieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing