We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”

L'Ermitage Saint Antoine
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Barbizon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Season's cooking with fresh food.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a very nice French restaurant in a road full of art galleries and places to eat.
The food was excellent! We were 9 people, all had different starters and main dishes and desserts. All was very good. Definitly to be recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diplomatBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    109
    25
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, lovely experience”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our lunch at L'Ermitage Saint Antoine was a truly lovely experience. Each of us ordered a different meal -- fish, beef, duck, omelet and the chef's special -- and each of us was delighted. The meals were beautifully prepared and presented and had lovely French flavours. While the cost was a bit higher than in other towns in this area, it was good value. The service was warm and welcoming, although be prepared to enjoy a long lunch and the atmosphere.
We did not make reservations in advance and were accommodated well, but reservations would be a good idea. Also, for people coming from afar, plan a walk into the Forest, it is only a kilometre away and a beautiful visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Creative fresh cuisine, service so-so”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went to this wonderful restaurant over the summer. We were delighted by each of our dishes from appetizers to main courses which were familiar French fare (e.g. goat salad) but with a twist - an unexpected herb, a chutney. All dishes were well-executed, fresh, and reasonably priced.

On the other hand, the service was barely satisfactory. There was hardly anyone at the restaurant, but we had to wait a long time for the waitress to come by for any point in the meal. It seems a few of her friends where at a table and needed her undivided attention.

The food was excellent enough that I would still happily go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eviliago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food nice place but some doubts on the atmososphere”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Not easy to review this restaurant. Firstly, there are two rooms, the patio much nicer than the main room, but since we did not reserve we had to stay in the main room which was much colder than the other. Secondly, We suspected that there would have been place in the patio if we did not have a baby, and reading the review of the other family who was more or less kicked out my suspicion is confirmed. They gave us the table closest to the window which was nice but too close to the only other occupied table and that probably annoyed the gentleman sitting next to us who made a nasty comment when I got up once too much to pick up a toy (our baby is normally very quiet but that evening not so much). In general we found the service quite dry and the owner tried to avoid giving us the typical French water caraffe by proposing mineral water. But they canceled a dish without objecting and let us take dessert on a little table outside when the baby became too restless. So I cannot really complain about anything specific, it was more a general feeling of not being welcome with the baby even if the restaurant does have a baby chair. This said, the food was very good, simple but with an original touch and excellent ingredients. I found the prices really low for such quality in a posh place like Barbizon and big portions (my entree was enough to fill me and my husband's Angus steak very copious). The wines by the glass were SUPER and also nicely priced ( the place is a wine cellar in the first place). So a place to absolutely recommend if you don't have kids but reserve and ask for the patio. One last comment on the children issue: in general Barbizon is not a family place, most visitors seem to be middle aged arty Parisians so maybe the coldness towards kids is a general characteristic and not specific to this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank diana188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice diner, interesting food”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I like Barbizon and I like to comment the notable restaurant I dine in. I went twice at this one, twice for diner, once in winter and once in summer recently. The food is above the average in Barbizon because it's fresh and correctly prepared. The meat was great. There is two rooms, do not hesitate to ask for the "Patio". The service was friendly and respectful. Good place to go for a couple.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackSFontainebleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ermitage Saint Antoine also viewed

Barbizon, Seine-et-Marne
Barbizon, Seine-et-Marne
 
Barbizon, Seine-et-Marne
Barbizon, Seine-et-Marne
 

Been to L'Ermitage Saint Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing