We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless stay”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a last minute trip to Norfolk for one night last weekend to take advantage of the good weather forecast. I found this hotel by chance when searching for places that are child friendly in that area - there aren't many places that take under 5s.

the hotel is beautiful - recently refurbished and done to a very high standard. Luxurious fixtures and fittings and very friendly staff. the whole place is spotlessly clean with lovely gardens outside too.

The staff were very welcoming towards our children (age 4 & 2) and went out of their way to accommodate us. They had no family room available as it was already booked but they were able to put two extra beds into a double room which worked out perfectly for our kids. the rooms are large so there was still plenty of space for us all and lots of wardrobe space too which is great

at breakfast there were the usual items available and these were very very nice - smoked salmon & scrambled egg / full english etc. The kids decided that they'd like bacon sandwiches which were not on the menu but the staff gladly made them for our children which was a nice touch.

the location is remote - nothing in walking distance but its perfectly located for some beautiful coastal areas. Just 5 minutes to nearby Salthouse where there are some nice child-friendly walks to the beach and a nice pub called the Dunn Cow or a little further to Blakeney to do some crabbing. the other direction has Sheringham which has the best beaches for children to play on or climb rocks.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, from couples to families - it was faultless

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank No_1_Derbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable time with us and that the team went out of there way to ensure you had such an enjoyable experience.

We do look forward to seeing you and your family again in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 663 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel's public rooms are very comfortable and pleasant to be in... just sitting having a coffee on arrival in the lounge, reading the papers in relaxing, tasteful surroundings was a great way to start our visit! All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.

Being a 'feature' room 'Pheasant' was first class in terms of facilities, size and design. We had lovely dressing gowns, slippers, a very nice fruit bowl, the advertised 'homemade' biscuits never did materialise mind you.

There was also a good sized safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, plenty of coat hangers as well as two wall hooks for hanging outdoor clothes.. such a simple but so often forgotten thing in a hotel room! Plus as previously mentioned in a review.. to have two chairs to sit in.. lot of care and thought gone into the rooms.

The bed was large and had a lovely deep mattress topper, medium quality man made duvet... sadly not feathers! personal preference I know. The bathroom was very large, had a super deep bath and massive walk in shower. Good quality towels and very nice toiletries.

'Pheasant' is situated above the bar area and overlooks a lawn with outdoor seating.. out of season we didn't hear any noise.

We had an afternoon tea by the log fire with a crisp white linen tablecloth and very dainty china - spot on all of it! Sandwiches were nicely filled, scones ok, but we did feel the cakes provided were below the standard advertised - well they weren't cream tea cakes! - but this small hiccup was dealt with very positively and in a very friendly manner by the receptionist when mentioned.

Our 'Pheasant' cooked breakfast was very hot, tasty and good apart from the 'catering' black pudding which was dry and tasteless... can't believe a local supplier can't be found. The 'slice your own' bread was excellent, plus there was white and brown basic sliced loaf bread for toasting. Do feel the 'cold' section of breakfast was lacking.. no croissants, rolls, fresh fruit bowel, yoghurts.. maybe as the hotel was very quiet and it is still out of season.

We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back. I would have given the hotel 5 stars but... felt the little details.. no homemade biscuits in room, poor cakes for cream tea just let it down a bit... didn't spoil our stay at all but.. if you set yourself high standards in brochures and the staff 'sell' a great cream tea which just misses the mark...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that as a whole you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was our first visit to the Pheasant Hotel, and certainly will not be our last. We stayed for a three night break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On booking into the Hotel the reception staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful and clean and delightfully decorated. A good size bathroom with a lovely big shower with plenty of hot water. How nice to find a full pint of milk in the fridge for tea and coffee. The food was excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening dinner and breakfast. It was so good to see such a friendly Manager who is hands on and willing to make sure that everything is alright for you. We cannot fault any of the staff, they all made our stay very enjoyable. Thank you all very much.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review. I am delighted my team were able to exceed your expectations and you enjoyed spending your Anniversary with us.

We work very hard to ensure all of our guest's have a memorable experience and they will be delighted to read this is no exception.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Since my last visit when I was bowled over by the refurbishment of the hotel I was equally impressed with its high comfort level. Soooooo comfortable, You would think, having spent such vast sums on the hotel fabric and furnishings, you would expect the food to be pretty good.
That's the bad bit. The food is generally poor, meat either uncooked or tough as old boots, the kitchen service is poor although the front of house team are extremely helpful and willing. I had melon which was as hard as nails, inedible. The meringue described as pavlova was just awful and could be teeth breaking. The breakfast is very good, very very good. My advice is to stay here on a B & B basis and, until they get their chef sorted out, eat out. Notwithstanding, the area is quite delightful and a mecca for walkers, birdwatchers and those seeking peace and tranquillity. A must for any visitor who wants to buy a newspaper is 'The Village Shop' in the next village (turn right as you leave the hotel about a mile up the hill) which is an example of the kind of thing that most villages and small towns should aim for. The other shop (turn left this time, at the bottom of the hill) is just about as quirky as you can get and is all the more enjoyable for it, they serve food too, in huge portions.

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding in comfort levels but the honeymoon suite and other rooms on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you were satisfied with your stay but disappointed you found our food offerings to be below our usual high standard. You will see from other reviews that we usually receive extremely good comments about our food and we would like to think it is a main factor to why so many guest's return to the Pheasant.

I do recall you spoke with the Duty Manager on the night and the offer to replace the meal was declined. We also spoke with the group organiser who confirmed she very much enjoyed her meal as did the remaining 30 guests in the group, apologies you were an exception to this.

I will ensure this constructive feedback is passed on to the rest of the team.

We do hope you are able to join the group for next year which has already provisionally booked.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was looking forward to a return visit, after a year, as my first experience was so positive. However, I was hugely disappointed with the restaurant. The food was bland, poorly presented and the dinner menu did not offer much choice. The meringues, for example were so tough we could barely cut into them. The breakfast was also a let down. The fruit selection was limited and did not offer nuts or seeds to add as a healthy option, and by Sunday they had run out of yoghurt/crème dressings, and did not offer an alternative.

The newly decorated restaurant lacked life and colour and quite frankly matched the food!!

The bedrooms, reception team and chamber maids however, were excellent., and were of the same high standard as the previous year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacqueline628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry to hear your latest visit did not meet the expectations of your last. We generally get very good feedback regarding our food offerings and therefore I am extremely disappointing on this occasion you felt the food was not up to it's usual high standard.
After speaking with the group organiser on departure the feedback from herself was very positive, so much so a very kind £500 gratuity was left for the team and a further booking made for next year.
We have a very attentive and experienced team and had you mentioned your concerns at the time I am certain we could of rectified these issues straight away.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just spent this weekend at The Pheasant. Two nights B and B, dinner one night and afternoon tea. We were in a feature room.

We go away a lot and like certain things. This hotel had everything - fluffy towels, dressing gowns, plenty of room in the bathroom to put your toiletries, a fridge with fresh milk, comfy beds and fantastic shower. Everywhere was spotless. I could go on and on....... The food was excellent and the staff exceptional. When we arrived the guy on reception offered to help with our bags. We later found out he was the General Manager. What a nice guy.

The location/setting was stunning. We couldn't have asked for anything more and we shall definitely be in for a return visit. Perfect.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Susanv82013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is delightful to read your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay and I will be sure to pass this onto the rest of the team. We strive to ensure we give every one of our guests a memorable experience and I am pleased this was no exception.

Thank you personally for your comment about me being a nice guy, helping with bags, changing light bulbs and serving food really are the signs of a modern day General Manager and it allows me to stay close with the staff and customers.

Once again thank you and I very much look forward to seeing you on your next visit

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We picked this hotel for its location - near the steam engine line at Holt - but what a lucky choice. We viewed it on the internet initially and were completely charmed by the ambiance there and the refurbished decorations in keeping with the age and style of the building. The staff were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The staff were so obviously proud with their hotel which was so good to experience. So comfortable - lovely and warm -which in mid-winter is a real bonus. We already have a Spring Break booked there - and have recommended it to friends who have booked for an April visit there! Loved the little touches - a fridge in the room (with a pint of milk in it which would be replaced each day). Two chairs in the bedroom whilst most hotels nowadays only have one in a double room. Instant press button for the shower - telling the heat and easily altered. Run a hand under the mirror and the lights come on! Little but special details - that made us feel special too!

Room Tip: Only been in one room which was lovely - I gather we shall have a different room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is so nice to hear comments like this especially about the team being proud of the job they do. They are extremely hardworking and will be delighted to read you comments.

Thank you once again and we all look forward to seeing you in the Spring.

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelling
13.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
933 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
946 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
231 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Address: Weybourne Road, Kelling, Holt NR25 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Price Range: $145 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel. Located in Kelling, 5 minutes' drive from the Georgian town of Holt. 10 minutes' walk from the Hotel to the sea shore. Dog Friendly. Free Wifi through-out the Hotel. Seating in the garden and ample parking. Ideal location for golfers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, visitors to the many Stately Homes and the Thursford Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Holt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing