We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent two night break”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I recently were guests at The Pheasant Hotel attending a friend's 50 th birthday .
Excellent hotel with wonderful staff no request was a problem and they just could not do enough for you . From the moment we arrived and were made welcome by Hayley the attentive manageress everything went beautifully. Very comfortable room excellent food and wines .

Superb walks in the country and on the sea shore most envigorating before heading back to a warm fire and a hot toddy .

Highly recomended .Oliver & Mary

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank okehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your review and in particular your mention of Hayley who looked after you so well, I will be sure she receives this feedback!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 684 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were taken here by friends and when we drove up the drive I thought 'This looks nice' and it was. Big glass doors and warm lighting welcomed us. We went to the bar for drinks while deciding what to eat. It all looked delicious but we decided on salmon gravlax for 3 of us and broccoli and stilton soup for my husband. Followed by roast beef for two of us and roast pork for my husband. Our friend had a steak that looked lovely and juicy and was served with proper hand cut chips. Our roast beef was so tender you could have cut it with a spoon and the horseradish sauce was home made and tasted wonderfully hot. The portions were big so no room for a pudding but two of did share a chocolate nut brownie with ice cream that was delicious.The dining room was spacious and nicely decorated with a modern feel and the bar where we had coffees was more traditional but still modern. The staff were extremely efficient and very friendly.
I cannot comment on the bedrooms as we live locally but we have decided to come here again for a Christmas meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leegoffin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

It is great to hear you had a fantastic time with us. I have passed this feedback onto the team who are thrilled with your comments.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here recently whilst visiting the North Norfolk Coast. This was a good base (as long as you have a car) for lots of local sites. Originally we hoped to go on a seal watching trip from nearby Blakeney, but unfortunately all the boat trips were cancelled due to gale force winds. We still enjoyed our stay, visiting Sheringham, Cromer, Norwich and Blicking Hall.

The accommodation was excellent, a large well appointed bedroom, massive bed and free WiFi. All the meals were very good and appeared to use fresh ingredients. Our evening waitress, Elle, was particularly welcoming without being obtrusive.

We will certainly return to this hotel on our next visit to North Norfolk and thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RuthandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Pheasant cannot be faulted on any count. All staff demonstrated very high quality of service. Nothing being too much trouble, ensuring that celebrations ran smoothly and to plan.
One of our party was pregnant and the attention to detail by both the chef and restaurant manager here, was very thougtful. The recommendations by the hotel on wines to match the chosen menus was excellent, the food superb and service to match. Their accomodation is very clean and the beds wonderfully comfortable - a great nights sleep was had, ready to make the most of the excellent breakfasts!! We would happily recommend this venue for any event - weddings, birthdays, - we will certainly be returning soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent last weekend at this newly refurbished hotel in a lovely and unspoilt part of Norfolk, the rooms were immaculately clean and the hotel tastefully decorated, but more importantly the staff were incredibly friendly, attentive whilst remaining professional - I cannot fault them. The bar was efficiently run with Norfolk's answer to Tom Cruise (film Cocktails) providing us with all sorts of delights from his cocktail repertoire! The food was fantastic - a good selection on the menu to suit most tastes (but not an overwhelmingly long menu) and freshly prepared. It is rare to have such service these days and decent food - thanks very much - we had a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndreaSaffronWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've just had a fabulous weekend at the Pheasant. The staff are all incredibly friendly and it's rare to find an establishment with such a high proportion of extremely professional English staff! Rooms were comfortable, if a tad on the warm side...not a big enough problem to make enquiries about cooling things down though! It was an extremely blustery weekend, but with the right clothing, still a great place to visit and take long walks or visit the local villages - I've got a huge list of country houses in the area to visit and so combine that with a couple of stunning looking golf courses, will ensure that we come back for a longer break in the springtime.

With the weather being so bad outside, we all retired to the bar for some delicious cocktails, followed by equally delicious dinner! This place is a real gem - I understand it's been renovated in recent times and so anyone who hasn't been there in 2013 is in for a good surprise. Don't be put off by the big signs at the roadside, this place has a stylish interior!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was invited to one of my good friends 50th birthday and travelled from Zambia to attend. I arrived early around 12pm and enjoyed a drink at the bar. From the minute I arrived until we checked out after the best Sunday Roast I have ever had, I experienced service that would not be out of place in any of the best hotels in England.

Hayley and her young team really outperformed expectations over the whole weekend and nothing was too much trouble. It was amazing that whatever the time of day or night the staff were on hand to pander to your whims with a smile.

Thoroughly recommend the cocktails in the main bar, a very extensive wine list from any wine producing region you can think of and a great selection of local ales.

Every meal we had, from the calfs liver for Friday lunch, to the partidge and venison for the main meal on Saturday and of course the Sunday roast beef was brilliantly cooked by the Head chef and his team. For those of you who like good food and wine in a convivial and relaxed environment I would thoroughly recommend the Pheasant Hotel.

Though it is a fair way to travel from Central Africa, I will definitely be back when I get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danny_Zam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelling
13.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
955 reviews
18 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
970 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,391 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
236 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Kelling Norfolk Weybourne Road, Kelling, Holt NR25 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Price Range: $146 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4*country house hotel located in Kelling on the North Norfolk coast. Five minutes' drive from the Georgian town of Holt and a 15 minute walk to Kelling beach. The Pheasant is family and dog friendly with free wifi throughout. Whether it be a ground or first floor room, superking or twin beds, interconnecting or an accessible room, please ask and we will try our best to deliver. Our classic, seasonal menu is designed using locally sourced produce. From family gatherings, private dining & christenings to exclusive use of the hotel we can accommodate all events. We are the ideal location for golfers, bird watchers, walkers, star gazers, cyclists and for visitors to the many Stately Homes and gardens or for those wishing to see the seals at Blakeney point. We are also perfectly located for those visiting the popular Thursford Spectacular, as it is only a 20 minute drive from The Pheasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Holt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing