We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service!”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“terrible service!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Recently went to the pheasant for a meal thought we were try it out as were locals and I have to say I wont be returning which is a shame as the food was lovely however the service was terrible. Young staff that didnt really know what they were doing. Managers not having no idea about customers! And just the general attitude of the staff was an I dont care! were not bothered that we wouldnt be returning! Not a place to be visited!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nparish_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your evening. I do recall you emailed me after this evening and I subsequently phoned and we talked about your concerns and I took on board your feedback, it is therefore disappointing that these comments have been put on trip advisor as following on from the call I assured you we would work hard to rectify these issues.

You may also recall we contacted the group organiser who advised us they had a wonderful time and were very complementary regarding the food and service and commented that they would defiantly be returning. I'm sorry if your personally felt this was not the case and as previously discussed all comments are passed on to all the team here at the Pheasant Hotel and we will work hard to carry on improving our offerings.

Thank you again for your feedback

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    141
    41
    13
    6
See reviews for
120
348
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having booked three days before,on arrival we were told there was no reservation in our name, not a good start I thought. The location and setting is wonderful, dining room a bit retirement home feel about it, but very comfortable. The food was good, but not memorable. The service was dreadful, we waited an hour between first and main course, not good. The staff were very young, and did not appear professional. Obviously the proprietor has invested a great deal of money in this new venue, they would do a lot to have invested in a professional front of house manager/ess. The whole dining experience was very average, shame.

Room Tip: Lovely setting, poor dining experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vicky182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for review. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay and I am sorry to read we were unable to rectify any problems whilst you were here! We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and attention to detail as you will read in previous reviews!

I will be sure to pass this feedback onto all the team to ensure we learn from our error's and make improvements where necessary.

I do hope you are able to give the Pheasant Hotel another in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Staying one night at this recently refurbished hotel had been great.

The building looks grand from the outside, modern decor and facilities from the inside.

The staff are welcoming, helpful and professional.

The room we are in is large with a huge bed, 6' wide perhaps.

TV with digital reception, free fast Internet over Wifi in the room is always nice to have and increasingly becoming a must in all hotels.

The room service is reasonably quick, the food we ordered was hot and what we expected. They had these chunky chips that exceeded expectation.

The rest room is spectacular, Great shower, again all is modern and recently refurbished.

Parking is on site, nice and easy.

The facilities accommodate those with disabilities, wheelchair friendly.

Last but not least, it's nice and quiet :)

I'd stay here again if I'm in the area although it is a bit pricey. I wouldn't come just for the hotel unless I was wondering about in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ramzoozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your great and honest review! It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass this onto the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My partner and I stopped here for 2 nights for a long weekend and were very impressed. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and we were both impressed with every aspect. The room was lovely, bed comfy, shower (sounds silly to mention) was amazing.

The restaurant has a varied menu and we enjoyed starters, mains and desserts both nights of our stay. The breakfast menu was what you would expect and was well cooked/presented. The staff were friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anybody that needed to stay in the area, or even was just after a nice meal.

Not much that I could suggest that could have made it better. Thank you for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brad2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review! We work very hard to ensure all of our guests have a memorable experience from start to finish.

I will be sure to pass this feedback onto the team as they will delighted to read such positive comments.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Pheasant Hotel in the coming months.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Absolutely FABULOUS! Rivals Harrods! Try it for yourself beautiful hotel, gorgeous menu, can't wait to go back again! If you're in the area and it's a beautiful afternoon why not sit in the garden? Everything was perfect from the crockery upwards, and the setting in the garden was lovely i would recommend this hotel for a stay based on the portions of the hotel and the service experienced within a heartbeat, as I've said absolutely and quintessentially English in every way! Keep it up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kevster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, we are very proud of our afternoon tea offerings and comment's like these make it all worth while.

I will be sure all the team are aware of your comments and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings lynn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Call in with the family for afternoon tea, and were delighted with an experience that was out of this world. The Staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food and tea were excellent, I can only add that I will call again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, we are very proud of our afternoon tea offerings and comment's like these make it all worth while.

I will be sure all the team are aware of your comments and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORWICH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I dont often write reviews but reading others i thought i must share my own experiences we came for a meal on fathers day we wasnt sure if we would get a table at short notice but we was greeted by the restaurant manager with a very friendly smile and was shown to a table drinks were served very quickly all the staff were very efficient and friendly you could see they all know there roles the restaurant manager went out of her way to make sure our meal was to satisfaction as we asked if the beef could be cooked a little longer as we dont like it to undercooked it was perfect there was also a piano player there which was a lovely touch being local we will be coming back again as the service was first class thankyou to the restaurant manager and her team and there service with a SMILE.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BEVERLEY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, it really is pleasing to read you had an enjoyable time with us.

I will be sure to pass this feedback on to all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelling
13.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
866 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
18.0 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,325 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Property: The Pheasant Hotel
Address: Weybourne Road, Kelling, Holt NR25 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel. Located in Kelling, 5 minutes' drive from the Georgian town of Holt. 10 minutes' walk from the Hotel to the sea shore. Dog Friendly. Free Wifi through-out the Hotel. Seating in the garden and ample parking. Ideal location for golfers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, visitors to the many Stately Homes and the Thursford Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Holt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing