We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“afternoon tea”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Certificate of Excellence
kings lynn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Call in with the family for afternoon tea, and were delighted with an experience that was out of this world. The Staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food and tea were excellent, I can only add that I will call again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, we are very proud of our afternoon tea offerings and comment's like these make it all worth while.

I will be sure all the team are aware of your comments and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    130
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
113
317
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NORWICH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I dont often write reviews but reading others i thought i must share my own experiences we came for a meal on fathers day we wasnt sure if we would get a table at short notice but we was greeted by the restaurant manager with a very friendly smile and was shown to a table drinks were served very quickly all the staff were very efficient and friendly you could see they all know there roles the restaurant manager went out of her way to make sure our meal was to satisfaction as we asked if the beef could be cooked a little longer as we dont like it to undercooked it was perfect there was also a piano player there which was a lovely touch being local we will be coming back again as the service was first class thankyou to the restaurant manager and her team and there service with a SMILE.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BEVERLEY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, it really is pleasing to read you had an enjoyable time with us.

I will be sure to pass this feedback on to all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We called into the Pheasant @ Weybourne Kelling..last evening..ot was our wedding anniversary..13yrs...as the sun came out we decided at the last minute to celebrate with a meal..we had had lunch at the Pheasant a few weeks ago..very nice too...we had not booked a table and initially we were told they were fully booked...but the receptionist asked if we could be seated in the lounge bar area,,,answer was yes...we had a really excellent meal...the staff were all friendly and efficient...and really went out of their way to make our celebration very special..many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pammy N Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and will be sure to pass this on to the rest of the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have had a holiday home in the next village to the Pheasant for several years but we were never tempted to eat here as the place look tired. after a total re vamp earlier in the year we reccommended the place to our daughters wedding guests last month, who all had a lovely overnight stay in this fab hotel. we decided to try it for ourselves for sunday lunch, our drinks order was taken quickly, drinks brought to our table almost immediately. i was given a menu which was a different menu to my husbands, we had to ask to clarify. We ordered and were shown through to a beautiful dining room, with a young pianist playing which was such a nice touch and he was a great player. Unfortunately, we then waited for 40 minutes for the food to be brought out, the very young staff had come round with warm bread rolls, after 5 mins of arriving (no butter offered) it seemed a little odd to seat us in the restaurant at a 2pm table but the roast dinner didnt arrive until 2.40. The dinner was of a high standard, the meat was vvery tender and plentiful, the veg were delicious. We di d have a dessert which was a bit disapointing for me, my husbands was yummy, so down to making the wrong choice i think. Overall, apart from the long wait for food we had a reall lovely lunch and will be returning and bringing along our numerous guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chambo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, and it is great to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed on your comments regarding the delay in waiting for your food and will monitor this going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Pheasant Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Absolutely lovely place to stay for long weekend. Was so pleased to have wi-fi throughout the hotel - even in the bedroom!!
Bar staff extremely courteous. Waiting staff in restaurant bent over backwards to make us happy. Check-in desk so polite and service with a smile. Maids/cleaning staff friendly and helpful. The surroundings were fabulous and the refurbishment has really brought this hotel up to a higher standard than it had before.
There was only one member of staff that let the team down and that was the restaurant manager. As front of house and the first person the customer sees in the restaurant, this person needs to start with a happy greeting and to make me feel special. Unfortunately we were made to feel like we had inconvenienced the manager. Not only at the beginning when we were told to ho wait in the bar until they could find us a table (even though we had asked for a late seating of 8pm) but also when we were having our final drink in the bar and she came thru with a till box and asked the people in the bar if they wanted anything else (at 1024pm) because she needed to do her receipts. Not good customer service anywhere in my opinion.
Thing is we would go back and we hope that management takes this feedback as a chance to highlight this to their staff member so she is aware and can make some positive changes. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tsdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. Whilst it is great to read you enjoyed your stay as a whole I was disappointed to read your comments with regards to one of the Managers here at the Hotel. I will be sure to pass this feedback onto them as having known them for some time I am a certain this is not a familiar trait and remain positive they will be disappointed to be shown in such light.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pheasant Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Friends of ours who frequently visit North Norfolk couldn't praise the totally refurbished hotel enough and insisted we should visit . My wife and I along with two other couples did just that last week and all agreed that our three night stay was absolutely perfect from start to finish. The public rooms and bar, our rooms and dining experience were 'as good as it gets' to quote us all ! Congratulations to the new owners and staff. We look forward to visiting again on our next monthly visit . We felt we had to give full credit where credit is due rather than keep this to our selves.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Neilson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to read such fantastic comments and I will be sure to pass these onto the rest of the team here at the Pheasant Hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived Monday. Needed to contact 3 people in USA. Wireless router could not reach my room.
Receptionist said "will look into it". Nothing in the evening. Nothing all day Tuesday or Wednesday...... was intending to stay 'til weekend. Left for someone who provided broadband, in Derby. Pheasant Manager had the audacity to tell me "BT will try to fix it remotely, feel free to plug in anywhere in the lounge.....we DO NOT guarantee to have it in all rooms". My Samsung NOTE 2 and my Dell Inspiron were as a stone!
Breakfasts and evening mealtimes were performed by pleasant, but amateurish wait-on staff.
Clumsy drops and breakages were an everyday event. The reception desk was not manned/attended late afternoons when I wanted to report continuing failure of router.
I stay in all sorts of motels/hotels/B&Bs/Condos in USA/Canada...... this English hotel performed worst case for my last 2 years travels. We relocated.
Clean, private, quiet.... but not worth the time and money spent..... by a long way.
ROOT CAUSE ANALYSIS: They had no Customer Complaints Form or a procedure in place to test the router and/or its extension booster, I was informed. Poor service compounded mechanical failures. Pheasant does NOT do what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TraverseLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is extremely disappointing to read that such basics were not in place during your stay with us. Whilst we do offer WIFI throughout the whole Hotel is was evident during this time that a poor signal strength effected connection in some of our bedrooms. I can advise BT were contacted when this issue was highlighted and offered numerous troubleshooting which identified a faulty router which was replaced the following week!

I appreciate your comments with regards to the service you received and will be sure to pass these comments on to the whole team. We have recently move from a 2* to a 4* establishment which we are extremely proud of and therefore are working extremely hard to improve our offerings every day.

Thank you once again for you comments and we hope to see you at the Pheasant Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelling
13.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Property: The Pheasant Hotel
Address: Weybourne Road, Kelling, Holt NR25 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel. Located in Kelling, 5 minutes' drive from the Georgian town of Holt. 10 minutes' walk from the Hotel to the sea shore. Dog Friendly. Free Wifi through-out the Hotel. Seating in the garden and ample parking. Ideal location for golfers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, visitors to the many Stately Homes and the Thursford Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Holt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing