We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best afternoon tea in the area!!”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our first visit to The Pheasant – and we will certainly be returning. We had a most delightful afternoon sitting in the garden in the sunshine enjoying what I can only describe quite honestly as the nicest afternoon tea in the area. Everything was beautifully presented and the service was outstanding, the wicker garden furniture is comfortable and the atmosphere relaxed – even had a real live Pheasant wandering around the garden.
Had the weather not been quite as nice, the hotel itself was lovely – recently refurbished. This is certainly the best place I’ve come across in a long time. Very well done!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lightning5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review and for uploading the great picture of your recent afternoon tea! This is a new concept we have recently introduced and so far the feedback has been excellent.
We do hope you have the opportunity to come in again in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 671 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just enjoyed a very nice evening meal for 2 at the Pheasant. As everyone has said, a very nice refurbishment. Although this was the bank holiday Sunday there were a few dinners in the bar area eating. The bar area could be confused with the restaurant as it is well waited on and has the lounge adjacent. So may try the restaurant next time. We had the 2 course evening meal, £50 including 2 drinks each. Well worth the cost with the new refurbishment and service.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank CambridgeSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We strive to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable experience and go away thinking about their next visit.
I will be sure to pass on your comments to the whole team here at The Pheasant Hotel!
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were woken in the night by the sirens in our rooms and public places. A member of staff set it off by mistake and was unable to turn it off again. After roughly 20 minutes another staff member turned it off. A very scary experience . Next morning there was no apology whatsoever! It took 30 minutes to sort out a silly muddle with our bill and the new manager was very defensive. Will not return. However , the room and food were excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms recently refurbished to high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sheila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent review! I am sorry to hear of the troubles you encountered during your time with us and your time was spoilt by being woken due to the fire alarm sounding. The fire alarm is in place to give everyone a early warning of a potential fire and therefore we are unable to control when in the day this is activated. I can advise it was not a staff member but in fact a guest who set off the alarm, we have reviewed our process for dealing with this and I remain confident this is will not arrise again. I do recall apologising to a number of guests the morning after so please accepy my apologies if this was not the case with your party.

I have noted you have given the hotel a 1 rating for cleanliness which is somewhat of a surprise as in your comments you have complented the room and given no feedback during your check out, I can only assume this is a typing error however if not I would welcome the oppurtunity to discuss your concerns with the hotels cleanliness in person.

I am please you found the rooms and food to a good standard and will be sure to pass that feedback to the rest of the team.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have just returned from an excellent Sunday lunch at the Pheasant with ageing mother. We have both been to the hotel when it was under the previous management and enjoyed our visits
but the hotel has risen to new heights.

The staff are welcoming and courteous the presentation of the food so lovely I wanted to take a photograph! The whole hotel has been refurbished to a high standard even the drive!

I can genuinely recommend the hotel for just a meal or for a stay. ( I stayed in early March when the refurbishment was almost but not quite complete)

Room Tip: all rooms have been refurbished to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your great review, Im pleased you enjoyed your time with us and on behalf of the entire team we looking to welcoming you back to The Pheasant Hotel.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went to the pheasant hotel last night for the first time in around twenty years what a change lovely food very nice place to eat the food is out off this world we will go back very very soon you get what you pay for good service

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BRIDGET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is great to hear such positive comments and I will be sure to pass these on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just returned after a 2 night DBB break for our Wedding Anniversary. We have stayed here several times in the past but this was our first visit since the refurbishment.The suite we stayed in was beautiful as was the whole of the hotel, food was outstanding and the staff helpful and attentive, we would just like to thank Gemma for her care and for sorting out the "surprise gift" from our family.
The hotel is decorated to a high standard and the fixtures and fittings excellent, everything including an iron and ironing board!. Well worth a visit. Thank you for making our stay special.

Room Tip: the Pheasant suite was lovely with double aspect windows, separate shower and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yvonne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. It is great to hear you had a wonderful time whilst spending such a special occasion with us. I will be sure to pass on this feedback to the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at The Pheasant Hotel, Kelling off and on for over 16 years. We stayed at the hotel for 4 days last week.The new owners (The Kelling Estate) have done an excellent job in refurbishing the hotel to a very high standard. The bedrooms are very comfortable and their shower units are state-of-the-art. The management and staff are all very competent and welcoming. The waitresses and bar staff are friendly, professional and most helpful. The dinners we had were cooked to a superb standard by chefs/cooks who really know their business very well. Their menus were varied and imaginative offering very tasty, attractive choices. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again...and we will soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EricoNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelling
13.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
940 reviews
18 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
962 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
233 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,372 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Kelling Norfolk Weybourne Road, Kelling, Holt NR25 7EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Price Range: $133 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4*country house hotel located in Kelling on the North Norfolk coast. Five minutes' drive from the Georgian town of Holt and a 15 minute walk to Kelling beach. The Pheasant is family and dog friendly with free wifi throughout. Whether it be a ground or first floor room, superking or twin beds, interconnecting or an accessible room, please ask and we will try our best to deliver. Our classic, seasonal menu is designed using locally sourced produce. From family gatherings, private dining & christenings to exclusive use of the hotel we can accommodate all events. We are the ideal location for golfers, bird watchers, walkers, star gazers, cyclists and for visitors to the many Stately Homes and gardens or for those wishing to see the seals at Blakeney point. We are also perfectly located for those visiting the popular Thursford Spectacular, as it is only a 20 minute drive from The Pheasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Holt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing