We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Last !”
Review of Hotel La Balance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Balance
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Montbeliard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

At last a place where "Hospitalité" has a meaning.
Great hosts, lovely place, tasty setting and some relevant WWII history background !
Fantastic value for money.....Will definately get back to this place....Worth a detour.....

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Balance
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

Straight from entering reception we were made to feel very welcome.
Receptionist was multi lingual and spoke excellent English, way better than my French.
Soon shown to our rooms and what a surprise, spacious and very well presented with large ceilings giving a feeling of space even in the bathroom. My son even got a choice of rooms to choose from over several floors.
Being the holidays there was not many places open on a Sunday however our receptionist took time to point out the way to the nearest one worth a visit.
Just a short walk from the hotel in the science park had a most enjoyable meal next to the fountain.
Breakfast was in an impressive dining room and was plentiful and most enjoyable.
If you are in the town this is the place to stay, a little jam.

Room Tip: They all look good
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tankie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 1 nigth at the beginning of July;
It was my first time there but the impression was very good.
The hotel is in a old but well renovated building. there are still some things from the old building like the stairs and the parquet in the corridory that help to create an old french style atmosphere.
Room was very nice, with big bathroom, well cleaned.
The breakfast room is simply wonderful, it seems to be in the 18th century.
Price is not high for this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky_b_20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went to see the Lumières de Noël (Christmas market) and stayed in this lovely small and traditional hotel in Montbeliard. Staff was very kind and the lady at the reception spoke English - rare in our experience in this country. Hotel is located very close to downtown and nice restaurants. Our room was spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty with fresh baguette (if you never tasted original French baguette, you've missed much - there's nothing that gets even close to the consistence of this bread), eggs, ham, salami etc. Overall, this was a lovely stay and we highly recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: We had the room of Le Maréchal de Lattre de Tassigny - very spacious with original furniture - a goo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BentOutOfShape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at Hotel de la Balance for four nights while attending a conference. It is an authentic old world hotel, so don't stay here if you prefer North American style chain hotel facilities. The rooms and beds are small and are not luxurious, but they are clean and efficient. Reception is not 24 hours, but the desk staff are very courteous. Breakfast is served in a "ballroom" on the main floor. It's a continental breakfast buffet, but also with yoghurt, ham, cheese and hard boiled eggs and really excellent coffee. The hotel has parking, but it is easily within walking distance of the Montbeliard TER train station. The station and the shopping district are just on the other side of the chateau. There is also a shuttle from the station to the more distant TGV station. The only possible complaint is that the rooms can be cold, but this is simply because each room has its own heater that you need to turn on yourself. The hallways are lit with motion sensor lights, which again might seem strange for North Americans who are used to "always on" hotels. Energy is extremely expensive in France. I had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in an authentic French hotel.

Room Tip: There are three different sizes of room, so choose the right size. The small rooms have 3/4 beds tha...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way from Italy through France. We wanted to visit the Mullhouse City des Automobiles but as it was the weekend it was difficult to find anywhere nice nearby so we opted for Montbeliard. This hotel had got good reviews, had car parking facilities and was in the middle of town. We could not book direct so went through booking.com

We arrived late afternoon and checked in. The receptionist was very friendly, gave us a map of the town and recommended some restaurants to us. Our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the street and when we walked in it was freezing and felt damp, despite the windows being closed.. All the doors of the bedrooms facing the other way over the car park were open and their windows were all open. I went back to reception and complained and the receptionist came upstairs and switched on the heating. It took quite a while for us to feel comfortable and we did wonder when the room had been used last. The room was quite large but the bed was a double rather than a queen bed. All the furniture was old and we had trouble opening and closing the wardrobe. The bathroom was fine with a shower cubicle and seemed quite new.

We ate breakfast in the large and quite splendid dining room on 2 occasions and were not overly impressed. For 9 euros per person we did not expect a full choice but there were no croissants and hard boiled eggs that looked as though they had been there a while.

On the Saturday evening we went out for dinner and arrived back at the hotel about 11.30pm so not late. The side gate to the car park was locked and so was the front sliding door into the hotel. We knocked on the door and could see into reception but there was nobody there. There was a keypad on the wall so we put in our room number but the door did not open. We spotted a phone number to call so we did this and it went straight to voice mail in French, left a message but nothing happened. Eventually my husband managed to lever the sliding door and push it open, so not great security, and we were able to get in. If we had not we were not sure what we would have done as our passports etc were in our room.

The next day we told the receptionist after we paid our bill and she was upset with our experience. Apparently we should have been given a code to get into the hotel which only applies on a Saturday night when there is no reception after a certain time. Although this is a well situated hotel with great potential it was not our best experience staying here. Staff without exception were friendly and tried to be helpful but not professional enough. We have rated it average not poor because of this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trueblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our way back from Italy and it was a great end to our holiday. The hotel is like a rather grand house, and is furnished and decorated accordingly. Our room didn't have the best view, but was a good size, very pretty and comfortable, and the bathroom likewise (even had a frilly shower curtain!) the breakfasts were good, with plenty of variation on a cold theme. The staff were really helpful and nice, especially the young lady who was on duty at night and who spoke very good English. Only downside was the number of mosquitoes (and subsequent bites) in our room, but can't blame that on the hotel - just that time of year. We plugged in our bug-killer on the second night which did the trick. Oh and we arrived on a Sunday evening and there was not a single restaurant open for dinner in Montbeliard! (The hotel doesn't do evening meals, which is a shame as they would probably do a good job). We had to resort to a burger and chips at a rather seedy looking kebab place, but the owner was lovely, very friendly and his food hit the spot, fortunately.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montbeliard
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 9 in Montbeliard
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Montbeliard
Ibis Styles Montbeliard
#2 of 9 in Montbeliard
197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arianis
Arianis
#1 of 4 in Sochaux
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kyriad Montbeliard - Sochaux
Kyriad Montbeliard - Sochaux
#4 of 9 in Montbeliard
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Relais Vert
Relais Vert
#7 of 9 in Montbeliard
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Montbeliard
Ibis Budget Montbeliard
#5 of 9 in Montbeliard
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Balance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Balance

Address: 40 rue de Belfort, 25200 Montbeliard, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Doubs > Montbeliard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Montbeliard
Price Range: $80 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Balance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing