We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in centre of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne
Certificate of Excellence
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good location in centre of town”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Wi-Fi worked perfectly in our bedroom. Parking was either outside or in the secure car park at the back which I would recommend as it is less hassle. Breakfast was your average French Hotel fare with good coffee. The room had poor lighting and the duvet on the bed was not large enough. The bathroom is like a Tardis in the middle of the room with a hand held shower, but you do have a separate toilet. The Hotel is in a wonderful location in the centre of Town with Shops and Restaurants close by. You must also visit the Nicolas off-licence round the corner. The english speaking receptionist was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plantsman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    75
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
59
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel and its rooms made a very clean and modern impression. The front desk staff (just 1 person) was very friendly, but spoke no English. If it had been any other time of year, we would have probably been quite happy, but we stayed in August when it was really hot, and there was no air conditioning in our rooms, which were therefore unbearably stuffy. The only rooms with airconditioning were the handicapped-rooms on the ground floor with access from the parking lot, which we were then moved to. These rooms were also modern and clean, but the location next to the parking made us feel a bit disjointed from the hotel, and there was a tiny bit of garbage smell because of the heat. On the whole not a bad experience, but not perfect, either. The hotel was well-located at the centre of town.

Room Tip: In very hot weather, you will need to ask for rooms with air conditioning, as not all of them have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchFlyingSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Adequate hotel very centrally positioned. Car parking outside front door or secure at back of hotel for 7 euros. Very pleasant receptionist, helpful and attentive. Despite her very best efforts none of the many WiFi routers could supply a usable signal. Worse than not having WiFi, every time you get online it crashes. One bar of signal at most.
After a quick recce around town we ended up back at hotel for meal. Not outstanding and not cheap but no problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Passing through Champagne after a long day's drive we decided to ask the GPS to point us to the nearest lodgings. When you are in area you don't know and you are tired, it's always a good idea to go to the area where there are multiple hotels. This turned out to be the centre of Chalons en Champagne (absolutely lovely by the way - don't be put off by the industrial approach roads).

We experienced a warm and helpful welcome from the receptionist who showed us the room before we committed to it. The room itself was comfortable enough, though it was very slightly annoying that the elevator did not go to our floor (my wife packs heavy!).

After a walk around this delightful little town centre we decided to eat in the hotel's restaurant. What a mistake. Rude staff, ludicrously old fashioned pretentiousness (silly plate shapes, no salt and pepper on the table, etc.), ingredients that had obviously been frozen and not very well revived and outrageous prices all combined to remind us why France is no longer the culinary capital f the world. Dreadful.

I feel obliged to give the hotel a high (3 star rating) mainly because of its location, the comfort of the room, the free WiFi and the friendliness of its seemingly lone employee, but we will not be revisiting this establishment again before our skiing trip in Hades.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cramsdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Was recommended by some friends as a lovely little place to stop off overnight and found it exactly that. Welcoming staff and great location right on the square.

Went to a lovely fish restaurant a stones throw away too

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jockelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Le Renard is presented as a boutique hotel, and it is clear there was a comprehensive redesign at some point. Our room was an interesting shape (polygonal), with separate bathroom and loo. Everything was in tasteful tones of taupe, grey, white and dark purple, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast offered a variety of components.

However, many things were just slightly "off": towels torn or ragged; on arrival at 2.50 we were told to come back an hour later; some of the breakfast foods were not replenished during the 35 minutes we were there; a shattered glass bowl was not noticed by staff during fifteen minutes - they seemed more interested in setting up tables for lunch (at 8.15) than in checking on the breakfast service. The staff were friendly and pleasant, but that little "edge" one might expect in a hotel of such apparent pretensions just wasn't there. Nothing serious enough to make a fuss about, just not quite caring enough.

Good wifi connection, however, and a colour-changing globe that might have been abandoned by a giant ood, though, so not all bad!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianOWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this well situated hotel. The clean and spacious room overlooked the Place de la Republique, a busy town square which was hosting a music festival during my stay. This meant that I was treated to a free concert starting at 9.00 p.m. without leaving my room. Of course, this can be either a treat or a threat depending upon the band, and the un-air-conditioned room makes closing the window in the summer out of the question; the night I was there, the band was good! There is also a considerable amount of noise from the restaurant and bar below, particularly at the end of the evening when all the chairs are dragged away for storage, so pack your earplugs. Despite this, the room was nicer than those in many hotels, with modern furnishings and comfortable beds, and the hotel’s restaurant is worth a visit, both for evening meals and breakfast. The morning buffet was plentiful, with croissants, baguettes, cereals, charcuterie, and the like but choose your table with care. Both mornings, the flip-flop wearing waitress tried to seat us in the middle of the room’s stream of traffic and one family was positioned inches away from the buffet table so that others had to reach over them to access the food, despite numerous empty tables being available elsewhere. Each time, we moved all our dishes to another table without a problem.

I’m not sure what happened with the cleaning staff, but when we arrived on Wednesday afternoon, they were making up beds on our floor. Their system involved throwing all the used towels and bedding onto the stairs, which is where they remained for the next 24 hours. The lift/elevator doesn’t stop on the second floor, so using these stairs was required, and the laundry obstacle course was an eyesore, if not a safety hazard.

The receptionists were friendly and helpful, making reservations at a nearby restaurant for us on the second day. We were able to park in the public car park just outside the hotel on both days of our visit, leaving the town to explore during the daytime and returning in the evening. Parking there is free after 7.00 p.m. until 9.00 a.m.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room at the back of the hotel if you want a cool, quiet stay in the summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeHCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chalons-en-Champagne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pasteur
Hotel Pasteur
#3 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 1 in Fagnieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
#4 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Montreal
Hotel Le Montreal
#5 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
#6 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne

Property: Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne
Address: 24 Place de la Republique, 51000, Chalons-en-Champagne, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Chalons-en-Champagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Chalons-en-Champagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne Chalons-En-Champagne, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing