We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Renard
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Chalons en Champagne(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De La Cite(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bristol(Fagnieres)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premiere Classe Chalons-En-Champagne(Saint-Martin-sur-le-Pre)
$44
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Montreal(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Pot d'Etain(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Pasteur(Chalons-en-Champagne)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel D'angleterre(Chalons-en-Champagne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne(Chalons-en-Champagne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
29
87
35
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
87
35
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentre of towninteresting townpublic parkingskiing tripdouble roomchalonsstopposition
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 162 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Passing through Champagne after a long day's drive we decided to ask the GPS to point us to the nearest lodgings. When you are in area you don't know and you are tired, it's always a good idea to go to the area where there are multiple hotels. This turned out to be the centre of Chalons en Champagne (absolutely lovely by the way - don't be put off by the industrial approach roads).

We experienced a warm and helpful welcome from the receptionist who showed us the room before we committed to it. The room itself was comfortable enough, though it was very slightly annoying that the elevator did not go to our floor (my wife packs heavy!).

After a walk around this delightful little town centre we decided to eat in the hotel's restaurant. What a mistake. Rude staff, ludicrously old fashioned pretentiousness (silly plate shapes, no salt and pepper on the table, etc.), ingredients that had obviously been frozen and not very well revived and outrageous prices all combined to remind us why France is no longer the culinary capital f the world. Dreadful.

I feel obliged to give the hotel a high (3 star rating) mainly because of its location, the comfort of the room, the free WiFi and the friendliness of its seemingly lone employee, but we will not be revisiting this establishment again before our skiing trip in Hades.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cramsdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Was recommended by some friends as a lovely little place to stop off overnight and found it exactly that. Welcoming staff and great location right on the square.

Went to a lovely fish restaurant a stones throw away too

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jockelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Le Renard is presented as a boutique hotel, and it is clear there was a comprehensive redesign at some point. Our room was an interesting shape (polygonal), with separate bathroom and loo. Everything was in tasteful tones of taupe, grey, white and dark purple, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast offered a variety of components.

However, many things were just slightly "off": towels torn or ragged; on arrival at 2.50 we were told to come back an hour later; some of the breakfast foods were not replenished during the 35 minutes we were there; a shattered glass bowl was not noticed by staff during fifteen minutes - they seemed more interested in setting up tables for lunch (at 8.15) than in checking on the breakfast service. The staff were friendly and pleasant, but that little "edge" one might expect in a hotel of such apparent pretensions just wasn't there. Nothing serious enough to make a fuss about, just not quite caring enough.

Good wifi connection, however, and a colour-changing globe that might have been abandoned by a giant ood, though, so not all bad!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillianOWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this well situated hotel. The clean and spacious room overlooked the Place de la Republique, a busy town square which was hosting a music festival during my stay. This meant that I was treated to a free concert starting at 9.00 p.m. without leaving my room. Of course, this can be either a treat or a threat depending upon the band, and the un-air-conditioned room makes closing the window in the summer out of the question; the night I was there, the band was good! There is also a considerable amount of noise from the restaurant and bar below, particularly at the end of the evening when all the chairs are dragged away for storage, so pack your earplugs. Despite this, the room was nicer than those in many hotels, with modern furnishings and comfortable beds, and the hotel’s restaurant is worth a visit, both for evening meals and breakfast. The morning buffet was plentiful, with croissants, baguettes, cereals, charcuterie, and the like but choose your table with care. Both mornings, the flip-flop wearing waitress tried to seat us in the middle of the room’s stream of traffic and one family was positioned inches away from the buffet table so that others had to reach over them to access the food, despite numerous empty tables being available elsewhere. Each time, we moved all our dishes to another table without a problem.

I’m not sure what happened with the cleaning staff, but when we arrived on Wednesday afternoon, they were making up beds on our floor. Their system involved throwing all the used towels and bedding onto the stairs, which is where they remained for the next 24 hours. The lift/elevator doesn’t stop on the second floor, so using these stairs was required, and the laundry obstacle course was an eyesore, if not a safety hazard.

The receptionists were friendly and helpful, making reservations at a nearby restaurant for us on the second day. We were able to park in the public car park just outside the hotel on both days of our visit, leaving the town to explore during the daytime and returning in the evening. Parking there is free after 7.00 p.m. until 9.00 a.m.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room at the back of the hotel if you want a cool, quiet stay in the summer.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeHCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Renard - unknown to us we arrived during a town music festival, there was a podium below our window, however the music finished at 9.00pm. The hotel is on a square in Chalons en Champagne with pavement cafés, this meant that there is a fair amount of noise until late in bedrooms at the front of the hotel. The hotel has a friendly reception and after complaining about the noise we were moved to the rear of the hotel which was peaceful. The second room was also air conditioned and this is worth requesting thought there are only a few rooms which have it. Breakfasts were good and varied. Unusually for France there is tea and coffee in the rooms. Hotel is spotlessly clean with crisp white bed linen. We ate both night in the hotel and the food was good though we decided the menu is quite limited when eating more than once. nice lounge with glass roof for relaxing and reading. Decorated in a minimalistic, bright coloured style which might err on the too simple and sparse side for some. The lift only goes to the first floor so the luggage then has to be carried up the remaining flights of stairs. Overall a good place to stay for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room at the rear as the rooms with the view of the square can be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugbytravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews