We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stopover for Champagne shopping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A good stopover for Champagne shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Renard - unknown to us we arrived during a town music festival, there was a podium below our window, however the music finished at 9.00pm. The hotel is on a square in Chalons en Champagne with pavement cafés, this meant that there is a fair amount of noise until late in bedrooms at the front of the hotel. The hotel has a friendly reception and after complaining about the noise we were moved to the rear of the hotel which was peaceful. The second room was also air conditioned and this is worth requesting thought there are only a few rooms which have it. Breakfasts were good and varied. Unusually for France there is tea and coffee in the rooms. Hotel is spotlessly clean with crisp white bed linen. We ate both night in the hotel and the food was good though we decided the menu is quite limited when eating more than once. nice lounge with glass roof for relaxing and reading. Decorated in a minimalistic, bright coloured style which might err on the too simple and sparse side for some. The lift only goes to the first floor so the luggage then has to be carried up the remaining flights of stairs. Overall a good place to stay for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room at the rear as the rooms with the view of the square can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugbytravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    74
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
58
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Central location with easy parking on square outside hotel (free after 19h00, small charge during the day). Rather quirky conversion of two buildings that creates some interesting spaces. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. Wi-Fi was intermittent, as the room was at one edge of the building, but there was better connection in a sitting area downstairs. But there are better restaurants in town than the hotel's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Periplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Le Renard is a good place for economic stay for a short duration. I have been at le renard 4 times March 2010, July 2010, March 2011 and July 2011. The rooms are cozy and gives a feeling of staying at a private place. The location is good, surrounded by shops offering cuisine of different parts of the world.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Right in a central square with public parking the hotel is in a great position for exploring this open and interesting town including its old quarter and not-to-be missed modernised marketplace.
The room was in the modern French boutique mould with nice design, though the quality of the materials might not last the test of time. It overlooked the Place de la Republique which had several restaurants including a good reasonably-priced one across the way, right next to a very nice little bar.
We paid 7E extra for private parking round the back but there are only a few spaces and would have been fine in front of the hotel in the public spaces.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel has very recently been renovated and, for me, is the best hotel of it's category that I've stayed in whilst in France.
The rooms are well-equiped with a minimalist style and the location is excellent, at the centre of Chalons.
On the down side, the food is no more than average. This hurts when in the land that invented gastronomy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippocampe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed here for two nights post Eurodisney for some Champagne tasting in the region.
We were allocated a top floor (3rd) "family" room costing 120 Euros per night. When we got to the room it was clean and smartly presented and was in fact a small suite with two rooms holding double beds and our baby cot in addition, it was very modern in it's decor and look.

Biggest issue - the lift only goes to the first floor so the luggage then had to be hauled (by me) up the remaining flights of stairs; and my pregnant wife had to walk up and down as needed...

The staff however were friendly and we had a great meal in the restaurant on our first night there.

Pros: Clean, well presented, spacious, value for money, friendly staff, great restaurant, great location, very responsive via e-mail, easy paid for parking, inclusive wifi
Cons: Aircon didn't work so was hot, a little noisy, no lift

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytravels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Set in the main town square, the position of the hotel is ideal. The rooms are very different, but OK, although some aircon or even a fan, would have helped on a hot sweaty August night. The evening meal was vey average, although the setting in the street on the square was delightful. Breakfast, though, was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chalons-en-Champagne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pasteur
Hotel Pasteur
#3 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 1 in Fagnieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
#4 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Montreal
Hotel Le Montreal
#5 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
#7 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne

Property: Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne
Address: 24 Place de la Republique, 51000, Chalons-en-Champagne, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Chalons-en-Champagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Chalons-en-Champagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne Chalons-En-Champagne, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing