We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel. Best in Chalons en Champagne”
Review of Hotel D'angleterre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel D'angleterre
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Best in Chalons en Champagne”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 1994 - 2007. Once a week I worked in Chalons en Champagne. Excellent service and very comfortable rooms. I especially like the dining which I found to be excellent. Very qualified personnel and very professional. It's a must stay if you are visiting Champagne are and want to stay in Chalons.

And don't forget the dining!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivierarocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleterre, Responsable réception at Hotel D'angleterre, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your note and your message.
We are delighted that you always enjoy your stay in our hotel.
Pending welcome you again
best regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    87
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
103
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a 1 night stopover and was chosen at the last minute. Hotel from the outside is ordinary.

Did not see much of the rest of the hotel apart from our room and the breakfast room which was a buffett and a good variety. Our room was enormous, probably you would call it a suite. Bathroom also was big. We do like a large room but this room was extra large with a dining table and chairs etc. Bed was excellent. Parking, is a little squeezed and probably only accommodates 4-5 cars at the most. You also need to be a good at parking. I think this is the place that we got the scratch on our rental.

Room Tip: Arrive early for free parking or book ahead. Our very large room also faced the front street which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleterre, Responsable réception at Hotel D'angleterre, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your note and your message.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and breakfast.
Our parking is restricted (but it is possible to park more than 5 car), but it is unfortunately not possible to expand ... We are in the city center.
Maybe that at a future visite, you will be able to find our table.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We selected this hotel due to the restaurant that has a one star in Guide rouge. It was a disappointment, even if we had a welcome drink. The room was rather small and the bathroom was so small due to that they had put in both a bath tube and a shower in a very small bathroom, no places to put your things. I will write a separate review of the 2 restaurants that the hotel have but they will not be better...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NilsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleterre, Responsable réception at Hotel D'angleterre, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your impressions.
We are attentive to our customers' expectations and inclined at a constant challenge to meet them. That is why we appreciate any feedback, they help us to improve the quality of our services.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pevensey Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here on a overnight stop and had a really good time, the room was big and clean with everything we needed. I had visited the restaurant about 15 years ago,and remembered it was good. The restaurant was really nice inside but, the food was really great I had the langoustines wrapped in cabbage then the Lamb which I would say that it was the best I had ever eaten served on a bed of fresh peas and broad beans. The staff were really good and friendly, no cheap bot well worth it. We will make point of going again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleterre, Responsable réception at Hotel D'angleterre, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your trust.
We take good notice of the feelings and the very good note you have kindly left.

We are constantly trying to improve the quality standards that our guests are entitled to and all the comments are welcome.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
159 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Opinions are divided on the hotel Angleterre and we, too, are schizophrenic.
On the positive side, we were given a warm and friendly welcome (accompanied by a welcome cocktail) and a space in the small but secure hotel car park (be sure to reserve a space in advance as there are only three slots).
Less positve is the dated style and decor of the facilities - reception area, rooms and gourmet restaurant alike. Disappointing was also our junior suite - more a large room eclectically furnished than a suite, including a bathroom so small that all bodily functions could be performed simultaneuosly.
The hotel's Jacky Michel Michelin-starred restaurant (which had prompted our hotel choice) was also a disappointment - lacking the creativity usually associated with star restaurants (the amuse gueule, for example, was simply a snail stuffed in half a boiled potato). In addition, the food was served luke warm rather than hot and the whole suffered from a lack of atmosphere - exacerbated by the fact that we were the only diners. By contrast, Jacky Michel's Les Temps changent bistro next door was doing roaring business (offering simpler regional dishes). Next time........... Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 63 on the 3rd floor. The room was large with a very large bathroom which had a jacuzzi bath and a separate shower. The WiFi is free and very fast and the mini bar is reasonably priced for once! The staff are very welcoming, they asked if they could help with my luggage from my car, showed me to my room. This hotel also has it's own private parking round the back. The food was ok, both at the brasserie and breakfast. I will be coming back to this hotel when I am next in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Seb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleterre, Responsable réception at Hotel D'angleterre, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Google Translation
Monsieur, Cher Client,

Merci d'avoir partagé vos impressions.
Nous nous efforçons chaque jour d'apporter toutes satisfactions à nos hôtes.

Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de votre visite prochainement.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel. Insider knowledge of opening times necessary as they close on Sunday and Monday morning, so don't arrive too early and check. Having had an awful drive up country, the receptionist welcomed us with a warming drink, which I thought was exceptionally kind. Rooms are very swish with an amazing bathroom, hot water and fluffy towels. Pillows though were a little lumpy. The room was very hot. We ate in the brasserie as the weather was foul; the food was good, (esp the amazing lemon souflee), but it was expensive for a brasserie with restricted choices, and evening staff were less friendly than I would have liked. Breakfast lovely with home-made vanilla cream and yoghurt, lovely bread, smoked salmon and cook it yourself boiled eggs. Very substantial. Again, lovely receptionist. We would stay again but would probably eat out. Always busy.

Room Tip: We chose a standard room which was more than adequate. Double glazed for peaceful sleep though cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalindLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleterre, Responsable réception at Hotel D'angleterre, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your loyalty and for sharing your impressions.
We are sensitive to the feelings and expectations of our guests.
We look forward to your visit next time.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chalons-en-Champagne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pasteur
Hotel Pasteur
#3 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 1 in Fagnieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champ...
#7 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
#4 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Montreal
Hotel Le Montreal
#5 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
#6 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'angleterre

Property: Hotel D'angleterre
Address: 19 Place Monseigneur Tissier | 19, Place Monseigneur Tissier, 51000, Chalons-en-Champagne, France (Formerly Romantik Hotel d'Angleterre)
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Chalons-en-Champagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chalons-en-Champagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel D'angleterre 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel D'angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel D'Angleterre Chalons-En-Champagne, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing