We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal!”
Review of Jacky Michel - CLOSED

Jacky Michel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $105
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent meal at this Michelin starred restaurant! The menu, French but modern style, is not large, which we like as it means the chef concentrates on quality. We had the 61euros 3 course choice and enjoyed every course.

I choose a bottle of white cote de Rhine from their ' bin end' at 35 euros and that was good - no need to spend a lot more. The wine list is short by Michelin restaurant standards but quite adequate.

Service could not be faulted. The restaurant is part of the Hotel d'Angleterre which is a very comfortable place to stay and provided us with a good stop over point on our drive back to the UK. We will definitely come again!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonNick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleterre, Responsable réception at Jacky Michel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Guest,

We take good notice of the feelings and we thank you very much.

We are constantly trying to improve the quality standards that our guests are entitled to and all the comments are welcome.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A super restaurant in the Hotel L'Angleterre closely supervised by Jackie Michel”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Jackie, just past retirement age but still on the job, has run this restaurant and hotel for ages. The hotel has been (and is still being) upgraded. The gourmet restaurant (there is also a cheaper one) well deserves its Michelin star (rosette actually, but never mind). The three of us spent €300 for dinner including a bottle of rosé champagne and ½ bottle of wine. The fixed-price dinner was 61€ each. The rouget (red snapper) was historic, as was Jackie's signature dessert, the chocolate soufflé. (My friend brought her baby along and the staff were solicitous and helpful.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleterre, Responsable réception at Jacky Michel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Der Madam,

We thank you very much for your trust.

We take good notice of the feelings you have kindly left.

We are constantly trying to improve the quality standards that our guests are entitled to and all the comments are welcomed.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to the task”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Having chosen the 'discover champagne' (at a price) menu inclusive of 5 glasses of different champagne to match the courses, we were not offered or asked if we wanted a drink (but water) for a good while so that we had two courses of amuse bouche with water. First course: lobster and quail did not go together; second: warm fois gras: superbe but the champagne served with it was too dry; third: smoked lard wrapped monk fish: too smoky and dry; pudding: mini chocolate souffle: divine but with no drink served with it, apricots with crumble: very good but the champagne served with it was too dry for puddings. The mignardises were very good and served from a plateau choice

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canteleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleterre, Responsable réception at Jacky Michel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking care to leave your impressions after your stay, we would like to know your feelings soon left the table rather than "it was very good thank you" courtesy.

You opted for the package to discover the champagne always been a big hit among our guests and we are sorry that our tasting menu you lagers.
We attach great importance to the comments and suggestions that help us improve our image and the quality of our services.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A well deserved star”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The dining room at Jacky Michel, insides the Hotel d'Angleterre, in Chalons en Champagne is bathed in the light of the setting sun in July. It could easily become noisy as one wall is covered by mirrors and two by windows, and the floor is tiled. The chef prefers to put the money in the food rather than in tableclothes, which is fine with us. The aura of a Michelin star has not yet increased the prices beyond reason. We had an excellent meal of salmon, lamb, cheeses, and chocolate souffle. The wine list is extensive and prices are reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fgrandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A lovely dining experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The decor was elegant in a rustic fashion with stone flagging on the floor, simple furniture, silk drapery and a lovely exposed wood ceiling. It was not busy on the night we dined as it was a snowy February evening out of season, nonetheless it had a nice atmosphere. The staff were friendly, attentive and professional. The silverware, glassware and crockery were all good quality

There were three set menus (one or two main courses, or a truffle tasting) and we went for one main course at Euro61 per person. The wine list was extensive and reasonable, though not a great selection of white wines. There was only one champagne by the glass and I thought there might have been a choice given where we were.

The hors d'oeuvre was a tasty fried cheese served with a fried spinach garnish. I would have expected something a little more sophisticated, but luckily it looked up from there. The mise en bouche was a carotte veloute served with a hard boiled quails egg. It was subtle and more in keeping with a Michelin star restaurant.

We both ordered the escargot served with artichokes, mushrooms and served in a herb and garlic soup. Accompanying it was a whole rasher of what appeared to be dehydrated bacon. The whole dish was delicious and flavourful with all the ingredients complimenting each other in a grassy, earthy way. The bacon was a bit difficult to deal with as you had to break it down to eat it and it wasn't crisp enough to snap.

For main course I had the Rose Lamb with polenta, season vegetable and orange sauce. The sauce was underwhelming and didn't flavour the dish at all. The lamb was nicely cooked and moist with a tender layer of fat on top. This was more bistro style food.

The poultry with foie gras, mushrooms and Champagne sauce was delightful. The brown meat and foie gras served in a timbale lined with thinly sliced celeriac. The meat was a little bit undercooked around the bone but the serving was large enough that we didn't eat that part.

There was the option of a cheese course at a small additional charge but we had our fill already that evening, and knowing there was dessert to come.

I had the chocolate soufflé which was delicious, though not the best I have ever had. The Rum Baba with pineapple was great though it had a toffee case around the base that did not add anything to the dish. Even though we did not order coffee we were still offered the petit four trolley which contained a selection including fruit jellies, chocolate pralines, macarons, and fruits in a chocolate tart.

I would have preferred some more adventurous or refined dishes and where they had tried something different perhaps they should have thought it out a bit more but overall it was a lovely dining experience and the food was very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacky Michel also viewed

Chalons-en-Champagne, Marne
Chalons-en-Champagne, Marne
 
Chalons-en-Champagne, Marne
Fagnieres, Chalons-en-Champagne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing