We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor value - and worse customer relations.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Campanile Vierzon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Vierzon
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Vierzon
Villepot
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Poor value - and worse customer relations.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

In common with some other reviewers, I feel that Campanile as a brand has lost the edge that it once had as a hotel chain.

At 75 euros for a room - breakfast extra - it could hardly be described as cheap and for that you are buying a bog-standard boxy little room. It does have free wifi - but so do most of the really cheap chain hotels.

It also offers tea/coffee making however I'm sure a biscuit or two used to be provided - but no more! Having arrived after five hours on the road the first thing we wanted on arrival in our room was a cup of tea. Lo! Just one tea bag of normal tea. Madame trotted off to secure another tea bag and preferably two more for an early morning cuppa. A few moments later she was back sans tea bags having been told with no concession to her limited French that another one was not possible.

Thirsty driver (me) decides this is not on, so off I went to reception, with my slightly better French, requesting at least one tea bag only to be told somewhat rudely that I could not have another. The chap then proceeded to tell me that two tea bags are placed in the rooms by the cleaning staff every day. I pointed out that this was not the case when we arrived ten minutes ago. After a further discussion during which the chap implied that I was trying to secure more than my allotted supply, he grudging gave me one tea bag! An attitude that does absolutely nothing for good customer relations.

The restaurant was also rather poorer than Campanile used to be. The buffet of entrees was very limited although the dessert selection was reasonable. Our white wine came to the table on the warm side of cool, although an ice bag was forthcoming when requested. Breakfast was adequate but so it should be at a few cents under 10 euros.

Until this visit we usually sought out a Campanile when needing a stop-over - I don't think we'll bother in future and save ourselves 30 euros or so by staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le-pecheur-Villepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marten0901, Directeur général at Campanile Vierzon, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for this comment very usefull for me as a manager to explain my staff that i totaly agree to acceed demands such yours in the aim of a good customer service .

Obiviously you are allowed to ask for an extra tea bag or two if you doesn't like coffe at your disposal in the bedroom, even if 1 or 2 tea bags is not enough for you.

Customer satisfaction is our priority, that's why since septembre i change a part of my desk staff to reach a better welcome quality and to set a friendly, warm and welcoming environement for all our guests.

I also planned english lessons for all my desk and restaurant staff that is really needed.

I hope all this new measures will help to improve our value and give you entire satisfaction for your next stay in our hotel.


Best regards.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    88
    73
    42
    15
See reviews for
37
117
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east anglia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our modernised room was comfortable and ok, but the restaurant...! On check in we were told they were full serving dinner to residents and they suggested we walked to the nearby Buffalo Grill (here food and service were good). In the morning breakfast was poor. The food had not been replenished and there were no croissants. There were no bowls for cereal and I asked for one I was told "there aren't any left"! so my husband put his cereal in a coffee cup! We were very disappointed and hoped we had just been unlucky with this poorly run hotel. Little did we know - see Campanile Senlis!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldroydonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Where have all the Campaniles gone that we used to know ? Some time ago, the chain Campanile was bought by an american firm which has revamped the hotel rooms and their restaurants into an "american style"... The decor is now so synthetic - Gone are the countryside straw chairs and checked pattern tablecloths giving the restaurants a homely atmosphere - eveything is in melamine and jazzy. The rooms are clean with bright green cushions and bright green open wardrobes - the bathrooms have been somewhat updated but our shower bath was uninviting...Despite the make over Campanile remain a 2-star hotel with small rooms and a passage way right outside your front door. Difficult to open your window if you want some privacy.The sound proofing is not good. The rooms on the ground floor are dark. Those in the upper floor are accessible via a narrow winding outside staircase which is awkward to use if you are carrying a big suitcase. On the day we stayed, the food in the restaurant was very disappointing and they has run out of basic food such as bread and cheese. It is not cheap either! This can only be a stop over late in the day if you cannot find anything else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marten0901, Directeur général at Campanile Vierzon, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for your very complete opinion on our hotel.

I regret that our refurbishment with a brand new concept didn't seduce you.
A large range of our customer really prefer this kind of modern furnitures and decoration.

I read that we run short on bread and cheese during your stay. I appologize about that, we now thake a special care on our ordering to avoid any shortage of food.

About our restaurant i just would like to let you know that we improved strongly the quality of our menu with four "today special dishes" cooked at home. I hope you'll have the pleasure to discover our new tasty cook at your next stay in our hotel.

Best regards.

General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vierzon hotels

Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is one of the newer type of this chain and so the rooms are clean, relatively comfortable etc.

However I could not get a table in the restaurant until 9.15pm and then the staff were so laid back they nearly fell over. The problem seems to be that, this being a Saturday, about a third of the tables were occupied by non-residents. I find it unacceptable that paying guests do not take priority. In any case the meal was not worth waiting for. I had the menu de jour which was Toulouse sausage and frites. 'Fine I thought... except it was just that - one dry sausage and some frites, a complete and utter joke.
I use Campaniles a lot en route to my property in SW France, and this is by far the worst food and restaurant service ever encountered in 10 years.

In summary the the hotel is fine but just avoid dinner.

In future I will stick with the Campanile Chartes which is similarly modern but actually has a functioning restaurant...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViatorM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
472 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in this motel en route going south to our house in The Languedoc, so being just off the peage it is very convenient for this purpose. Many of the rooms were being updated which judging by the room we stayed in was long overdue. The bathroom had mould in it and we have noted that less towels are provided than in previous years. The airconditioning was also not working. There was free wifi but we could not find BBC World service on the TV as provided in other Campanile Motels. We did find the staff very pleasant however and we enjoyed the Starter Buffet in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ground floors are more convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueBrit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marten0901, Directeur général at Campanile Vierzon, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,

Je tiens à vous remercier pour cet avis qui reflète bien notre nouveau concept:
effectivement nous avons été entièrement rénové il y a un an.

- Concernant la climatisation des maintenances trimestrielles sont effectuées et notre prestataire intervient sous 24h en cas de pannes éveventuelles comme vous avez pu rencontrer.

- Concernant le linge de toilette nous prévoyons 2 grandes serviettes et un tapis de bain dans chaque chambre. Nous avons retiré les petites serviettes essuie main qui ne sont plus un standard requis dans l'hôtellerie trois étoiles. Ceci fut le fruit d'une reflexion pour le respect de l'environnement. De la même manière pour nous demandons à nos clients de suspendre les serviettes qu'ils souhaitent réutiliser et de mettre au fond de la baignoire celle qu'ils souhaitent que nous changions.
Néanmoins n'hésitez pas à nous demander des serviettes supplémentaires lors de votre arrivée ou de votre réservation,

Dans l'attente de votre prochain séjour recevez mes meilleures salutations.

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beziers
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

After a bad experience in the Campanile Riom about two years ago, we have stopped using this chain. We travel up and down from UK to our house in the Languedoc about five times per year and need to stop in mid-France. This year we decided to try Campanile again and in Vierzon.

Sadly, again we were disappointed. With no warning on the booking website, we discovered that this Campanile is undergoing renovation (see photo). The room seemed just-finished but there was no hairdryer and no tea/coffee making equipment. Parking was severely restricted. In the room, air conditioning ran continuously, even though the temperature was quite cold.

But the restaurant and service was the most disappointing. The menu seemed quite limited, so we asked for two omelettes. The manager, who was serving, said that there were no omelettes. We asked (in French) for a little longer to choose something else, so he huffed, walked off and ignored us for the next 15 mins. (even though we had ordered two drinks). Eventually, the waitress decided to serve us. We found her French hard to understand and asked her to repeat something. She then proceeded to shout at us in 'infant' English. This clearly surprised all the surrounding diners. She realised what she had done and modified her tone, but by now the damage was done. We ended up with the plat du jour and left as soon as we could. Next morning, we skipped the hotel breakfast and got a good one at the first service station on the autoroute!

Where are the old Campaniles that we remember from the 1990's on our voyages through France? They seem to be lost in a marketing blitz determined to change everything that was once good about them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDavidT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marten0901, Directeur général at Campanile Vierzon, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,

Je vous remercie pour cet avis et j'espère que vous prendrez en compte ma réponse ainsi que les profonds changement que nous avons réalisé depuis votre venue.

Notre rénovation est treminée, les chambres sont désormais accueillante, confortable et bien insonorisées.
Concernant le restauration nous avons gardé notre principe de buffets à volonté pour les entrées et dessert par contre nous avons fait grandement évoluer nos plats. Nous proposons dersomais 4 plats du jours cuisinés maison majoritairement à base de produits frais.

Dans l'attente de votre prochaine venue, recevez mes meilleures salutations.

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Smallish rooms, decent food, pretty good value and very easy to stop at - near the A20/A71 junction. Auchan nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vierzon hotels
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Design Enzo Vierzon
2.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Vierzon
Ibis Styles Vierzon
#1 of 8 in Vierzon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Vierzon
B&B Hotel Vierzon
#7 of 8 in Vierzon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Le Chalet de la Foret
Le Chalet de la Foret
#2 of 8 in Vierzon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arche Hotel
Arche Hotel
#4 of 8 in Vierzon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Le Continental
Hotel Le Continental
#3 of 8 in Vierzon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Vierzon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Vierzon

Property: Campanile Vierzon
Address: Zac Du Pole D'Echanges Route De Bourges, 18100 Vierzon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Vierzon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Vierzon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Vierzon 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Louvre hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Vierzon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing