We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual Hotel”
Review of Arche Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arche Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Vierzon
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent one night on this hotel, business like reception not particurlaly friendly, the hotel is
situated i on a very nice part closed to the river. Rooms are OK with a very efficient Air cond, however in some rooms you have to pay €10 per night, Wifi is free. The parking in the hotel is free and they have a guard (very friendly chap ) during the day and it is locked at night. We didn't used the bar or restaurant as in my opinion the prices were a bit on the high side.The decor on the hotel is very unusual very " Hollywood " I particular liked the old Cadillac parked in the garage.
We had diner in a Restaurant close by " La Scala " very good food and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TITOsudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

We used Arche Hotel as an overnight stop on our way back home from Italy. Yes, the décor and 1950's and 60's Hollywood theme may not be to everyone's taste but we actually quite liked it. I was very happy to spot a poster of Pierre Brice, the French actor mainly known for his role as fictional Apache-chief Winnetou in German Karl May films that I watched as a child. Yes, the walls are a bit thin but the bed was comfortable and the room clean - just what you need after a long drive. The secure underground parking was a major bonus with the car full of wine. We did not have dinner here but rather opted for the restaurant which is currently listed as #1 on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: The view of the canal was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank German_Kerryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Used this hotel as a stop over on our Argeles to Calais drive. It's certainly a one off with 1950's decor & Hollywood throw backs and the lift has to be the slowest in the world. The whole effect reminded us of the Twilight Zone / Tower of Terror at Disney, only the music was missing. However once you get past the decor, the family room we had was ideal, very clean & with a large wet room. We gave the breakfast a miss at €8 but the hotel is only 100m from the centre ville so plenty of places to pick up breakfast close by.

A big tip: the hotel is on a pedestrian only street, vehicle access / parking, is via an underground car park, off Rue du General de Gaulle, so put that in you Sat Nav rather than the hotel address. No English spoken.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The Arche hotel is an odd beast. As I imagine most users will use it simply as a one-night stop en route to pastures elsewhere, you would think that this would be a simple hotel offering a much needed bed for the night. Instead, it is a strange, 50’s Americana styled box, situated in the heart of Vierzon. (I say box, as one look at a photo of the building will quickly inform you that the architect hat little interest in matching the aesthetics of the rest of the town, instead opting for a beacon of blandness to entice weary travelers.) For those not put off by the odd memorabilia and nostalgic movie posters of Hollywood’s golden age, you shall be happy to at the very least have found an interesting place to rest for the night. The rooms are not big, the bed is not soft, but these don’t really matter. On the plus sides, there are plenty of good restaurants around (though I have not tried the in-house one) and they have secure underground parking, but on the downside, the walls between the rooms are thin, so I spent the night listening to orchestral snoring from the occupant next door. All in all, an acceptable, but odd place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eoin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

this hotel is ok if you just want an over night stop! very clean and comfortable.
They have an American dinner themed restaurant! but only serve French food!
Which was very over rated and my meal was cold.
The reception staff were very friendly, and spoke English.
Free on site parking is a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathryn_hurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

First, the good things about the Arche Hotel. It has a secure underground car park with easy access to the hotel. It's located close to the river and has parks and walks close to hand. There's a great little Italian pizza/pasta restaurant around the corner. And its prices are reasonable for what it offers, including an acceptable buffet breakfast.

On the minus side, the film-themed decoration that harks back to America in the fifties will drive some up the wall. The bedrooms are of a standard similar to a Novotel, but perhaps one that's not been refreshed in the recent past. The beds are hard.

But overall, you're unlikely to use this hotel as the base for a touring hotel. If, like us, you use it for an overnight stop en route to somewhere else, it will probably fit the bill and satisfy your needs. Just don't expect sophistication and style because you won't get it.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a plus room. They're slightly bigger and better - but it could be the diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Good basic accommodation, great location, handy for a walk around town or along the canal. Quirky decor with a vast collection of film memorabilia.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheelaghrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vierzon hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Chalet de la Foret
Le Chalet de la Foret
#2 of 8 in Vierzon
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Vierzon
Ibis Styles Vierzon
#1 of 8 in Vierzon
506 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Vierzon
B&B Hotel Vierzon
#4 of 8 in Vierzon
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Continental
Hotel Le Continental
#3 of 8 in Vierzon
71 reviews
2.9 mi away
Campanile Vierzon
Campanile Vierzon
#5 of 8 in Vierzon
270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kyriad Design Enzo Vierzon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arche Hotel

Address: 13 rue du 11 Novembre 1918 | Forum Republique, 18100 Vierzon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Vierzon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Vierzon
Price Range: $67 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arche Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, located in downtown City, overlooking the Canal de Berry and offers its guests a panoramic view over the canal. Open all year, it is the ideal base for visits to the vineyards of Quincy and Reuilly, the Cathedral Saint-Etienne in Bourges, Beauval Zoo, the castles of the Loire, ... N addition to our location, the Arche Hotel offers air conditioned rooms equipped with: * TV with LCD flat screen, * Internet access via WIFI, * Rooms of higher standard, * 2 handicapped accessible rooms * Pets welcome * A free garage in the basement guarded * And garage closed for bicycle and motorcycle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Arche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing